We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Masarap!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kawayanan Grill Station

Kawayanan Grill Station
Along Don Pedro St. | beside Coron Sports Complex, Palawan Island, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 34 restaurants in Coron
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Kawayanan Grill is a Filipino-owned resto within Coron Town. It serves the best exotic local seafood dishes such as Grilled Kibao (local clams), Pitik Lobster, Bicol Express Octopus and Kinunot na Pague (Sting Ray). It also has a wide selection of delicious Filipino dishes such as Adobo, Kare-Kare and barbeques.
Puerto Princesa, Philippines
1 review
“Masarap!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

This is one of the best experience in coron! highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

45% Recommend
    17
    38
    38
    24
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
MANILA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Pricey and the tasts is very average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We ate our lunch here upon arrival at Coron. Mind you, restaurant choices in Coron are quite limited and the prices can be quite high. We came here since it is just a stone's throw away from our hotel (Islands View Inn). We ordered seafood, noodles, and several other dishes as well. Some were quite salty for our taste and the service can really take sometime. We noticed that there only seems to be 1 or 2 servers and there were several occupied tables (tourists) since it was lunch time. Let's just put it this way, we did not come back to the resto for the rest of our stay.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Food is ok, loooong wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We waited super long for one of our orders to arrive, which really annoyed us. The food was ok though and the bartender was nice.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not too expensive, not cheap either”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

They serve local Filipino food and while it was good, it wasn't great either. During the daytime, it's not much to look at although at night, with subdued lighting and lamps, the place can be quite nice.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coron
1 review
“Tiny portions, big prices, leaves you hungry.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I ate here 2 days ago with 2 fellow travelers and had a very bad experience,overpriced and way too small portions.
I ordered a beef dish mentioned on the menu as serving 2,ordered a side dish of garlic rice (none served standard with the dish at 250PP!).
The dish existed of practically only bones and some vegetables and the portion served about half a person in stead of 2.
The other guys ordered a pork and chicken bbq which were also incredibly small portions.

So in the end we went to the canteen style place (sorry don't know the name of the place) on the main square (next to the market) where we finally filled our stomachs.
If there's any restaurant in Coron I can really recommend it would have to be that one, low prices,good food (especially liked the beef mami, 40PP) and decent portions.
Don't get me wrong there are probably more decent restaurants in Coron but Kawayanan Grill I definitely don't recommend.

Perhaps the seafood pancit is good indeed but we were told only one seafood dish was available, can't remember which one it was.
Other reviews:

http://ph.openrice.com/other/restaurant/commentdetail.htm?commentid=2061&replycommentid=132&mode=viewreply

http://screencast.com/t/OH7GlfwJf

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kawayanan Grill Station also viewed

 
Coron, Palawan Island
 

Been to Kawayanan Grill Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kawayanan Grill Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.