We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Unforgettable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coron Castaway & Gran Vista

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coron Castaway & Gran Vista
Uson Island, Palawan Island 5316, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 41 Coron B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Simply Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed in this resort on Feb, 2011 (super late review) but still cant forget the simple way of life there. When we arrived from exhausting trip, we checked in to our room, explored the place... we fell asleep on the cottage. We didnt have a single mosquito bite!

The owner arranged almost everything for us... The trips and the unforgettable foooods! Until now my friends and I are still bragging about it to other friends!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights at the beginning of February. The owner and the couple that worked at the resort were all so kind and helpful. They also keep the grounds in pristine condition. It is so relaxing and quiet out there!

As others have mentioned, it's about a 7-8 minute drive on a trike and costs you about a dollar. It was nice to get away from the hustle & bustle of the town.

There is no wi-fi, a weak shower, no towels, and they didn't clean the rooms (although that was mentioned in an email we got before we arrived) - but all of that really didn't bother us at all. We were so happy to have chosen Grand Vista! I absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you are looking for the value of your money and at the same time staying in a resort like this reasonably confortable, then Gran Vista is for you. Me and my family stayed here for a week in May 2012. The place is quite and the rooms are clean. The staff are friendly and helpful, and they will give you a guide what to see in Coron. We met the co-owner of the property since She speak English very well and made recommendation what to see in Coron Islands. If you decided to book in this place, make sure you reserve Gran Vista instead of Castaway. Castaway is located in an island. Grand Vista is only few minutes away from Coron town. If you want easy access to Coron Town, then Grand Vista is ideal for you. But if you want isolation, then you go to Castaway. Electricity here is only running from 6 PM to around 2 AM. There are is no internet in the Resort but there is one in Coron town. Some folks in town or some tricycle drivers does not know Castaway but they know Grand Vista, just to let you know. If I decided to visit Coron again, I don't mind staying in this place. It's good for your money.

Room Tip: They have many diferent types of room for single, family and geoup.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

The " resort" is situated about 10 min from the village centre.( 40 pesos per tuktuk) the owner gigi is very kind and wants everybody's best. When we came thee wasn't any personal. Gigis niece met us and called gigi for us. There was a lot of things that wasn't working some examples: couldn't flush the toilet, couldn't lock the door, no toilet ring, sometimes no water. I wouldn't stay again. Don't go on island hopping with gigis boatman pong, he doesn't speak english and is not very friendly.

Castaway was amazing. We loved it. Best food in the Philippines!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Booked 2 rooms for 5 pax. One is a family room where we can all fit in but we wanted to maximize the space so we opted to get another double room instead. The place is very welcoming as the staff greets you and gives you a tour around the vicinity once you arrive at the location. The rooms are nipa hut made and you can feel the province in here.
They also let us hire a tricycle during the duration of our stay so transportation is no problem. It was February so there are just a few tourists booked here. Rates are affordable and you can get discouts on your next booking.

There is also a service kitchen available for use. The only negative part is that there is No hot shower though. Electricity gets cut in the morning which, for me, is good considering people are normally out in this time.

We also stayed overnight in Castaway. This is an optional accomodation and you must also have a boat ready to pick you up after.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have been in Coron several times and stayed in different resort but our experience at Grand Vista and Castaway was unremarkable. This place is a great retreat from the city noise and pollution, in fact the cooler shades of the trees makes the afternoon relaxing and the breeze alleviate my inner soul and makes me one in nature. The cottages are well maintained, it is clean and roomy. It is so quiet at night the only thing you can hear are the sounds of nature. Even though there's limited source of electricity (solar and generator) our stay was uneventful and comfortable. The host and staff are very accommodating and helpful, our tour are well organized stress free service excellent.
THIS IS THE PLACE TO BE - VERY AFFORDABLE, STAFF ARE FRIENDLY, AND MAKES YOU FEEL SPECIAL!!!!

Room Tip: Every cottages are very comfortable to stay with clean bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed at the Gran Vista Inn which (as the other reviewer had mentioned) is about a few minutes drive to town. I love th location since it's not so close to Coron Town and you still have that feeling of seclusion. The trike ride is not bad at all.

Customer Service experience here is pretty much spot on. We stayed and purchased the island hopping tour through the onwer and along with it breakfast and dinner when we got back from our day activities.

I must say that the people who work here are so welcoming, friendly and would go out of their way to make sure your experience is great. I wouldn't consider this whole back to basics a downside since I really have no problem with having no A/C in the room as long as there's a fan but traveling with 2 other guys (husband and brother-in-law) they felt that an A/C was a necessity so here's a few warning from me if or before you book Gran Vista:

1) No A/C
2) Electricity shuts off at around 2am/3am and is pretty much out throughout the day. Not a big deal if you plan on being out all day anyway which is exactly what we did.
3) The water gets shut off so some might find it annoying not being able to walk into your room, needing a shower and you have to tell someone to turn it on.

BUT.....

Don't let the warnings above ruin your trip here. I truly enjoyed my stay at Gran Vista plus they had an amazing view of a few islands in the very back of the property. Would I stay here again knowing what I know now? ABSOLUTELY.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coron Castaway & Gran Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coron Castaway & Gran Vista

Address: Uson Island, Palawan Island 5316, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Coron
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Coron
Also Known As:
Coron Castaway & Gran Vista Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coron Castaway & Gran Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Coron Castaway & Gran Vista to your Saves list