We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maquinit Hot Spring

Maquinit Hot Spring
Maquinit, Palawan Island, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 activities in Coron
Type: Hot Springs/ Geysers
Attraction Details
Cebu City, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hot!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I was told that the water temperature could reach up to 42 degrees C. We went there when it was already dark but it was still evident that the water is really clear. It is a nice place to relax after a very tedious climb of 724 steps in Mt. Tapyas. It would have been better if they put more restrooms or places that the visitors can change their clothes. A few more improvements on the place and it will surely be excellent.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    55
    30
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Soothing waters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Entrance fee to Maquinit Hot Spring is P150. There is a store, I think, there and you could leave your belongings with them. No extra charge. We actually left some valuables there trusting the Palawenos. They boast of zero crime rate. Actually, people are really nice and honest in Palawan. The hot spring is REALLY HOT. You cannot just jump right in. You have to let your body adjust to the temperature.

You can read the rest of my trip here:

http://whimsandcapricesinlife.blogspot.com/2012/07/coron-day-1-conquering-mt-tapyas-and.html

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Ahhh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Most people go to Maquinit Hot Springs late afternoon or early evening after a hard day of work, or in the case of tourists, a long day island hopping, diving, or shopping. The springs are only a short drive from Coron Town, and easily accessible. Best to take a tricycle after dark. After having climbed and descended Mt Tapyas, my legs were aching, and the next stop for me on my day of touring the town was the springs.
A trip to the hot spring was exactly what i needed.
The water was around the 38c Mark, and reinvigorated every part of me.
It's is extremely inexpensive, as i thoroughly recommend a visit there.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dasmarinas City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Healing waters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Natural hot tub for those aching and tired body. This is a salt water hot spring along the beach. It is already developed and a pool is already constructed. Entrance fee of 150 is acceptable. Much better to go here after hiking Mt. Tapyas. Be prepared to pay 300 pesos/hr for the tricycle going here as regular trips going here are slim/ non-existent.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baguio City, Philippines
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“hot! hot! hot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went there at night. We had to get two tricycles because we were 6 in our group. (Each tricycle is worth 300, two-way.) The driver will take you there, then wait for you while you take a dip. There are a lot of rough roads on the way, and it was extremely dark, except for the light coming from our ride. From the town proper, it takes 20 minutes to get to the hot spring.
The entrance fee is 150 pesos for adults and 120 for students.
There wasn't much to see at night. The water was absolutely hot! Didn't expect the moss though. lol

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maquinit Hot Spring also viewed

Coron, Palawan Island
Coron, Palawan Island
 
Coron, Palawan Island
Coron, Palawan Island
 

Been to Maquinit Hot Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maquinit Hot Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Maquinit Hot Spring to your Saves list