We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coron Hilltop View Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Coron Hilltop View Resort to your Saves list
Coron Hilltop View Resort
Brgy. Poblacion 6 | Sitio Dipulao, Palawan Island 5316 , Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Coron
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very nice and clean with basic facilities. But the staff were very pleasant and accommodating. They made our stay in this resort very good. It's also the 2nd nearest hotel to the airport, around 20 minutes. It would take 10-15 minutes trike ride to go to the city.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
11
19
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Malabon, Caloocan, Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I visited the resort for ocular inspection and stayed there for 1 night. I found the rooms very pleasing. The white wall is accented with themed colored curtains and sheets. It was such an eye candy. The bathrooms are cute and clean. Rooms were shaped like an octagon making it a bit hard to move-around but overall, the design is likeable. The plunge pool is small and needs to be maintained. The food is ok but one thing that I didn't enjoy while dining was the pesky fly! The resort has an ongoing construction for a bigger restaurant on the other side which is something to look out for. The front desk officer Ms. My, is very accommodating unlike the other snobbish staff that we've encountered upon checking-out. Travel time from resort to the busy town proper is around 5-8 mins by tricycle (costs 20php/pax).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

our travel agent really knows where to book us. another hotel for those who are looking for peace and quiet. my dad and i stayed for three days and two nights. the staff was friendly and kind. it still has the small town atmosphere that always made me feel at home. the rooms are spacious and clean. the food is quite expensive but you have to understand they have to ship goods from other places. i especially loved their chocolate pudding... mmmm... tasty. our trips have been arranged for us by the hotel with delicious packed lunches and was well worth every penny. and we even made friends with a trike driver named Ronel and our bankero and his crew. very nice people. i love coron, i love the hotel and i would surely love to come back!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed in a Deluxe room just a few days agao, I was with my sis in law & her friend, thanks to them for their generosity. We enjoyed every minute of pur Coron adventure made special by our accomodation at Coron hilltop. The room was clean, food was okay most of all the staff were very helpful & friendly. Location perfect. Would definitely love to visit Coron again & again & stay at Coron hilltop.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed in Room 1 and room 3, just in front of their small swimming pool

Room 1- My mother enjoyed the room as she is somehow claustrophobic and she wants more open windows. Room 1 is perfect for her although there are sign that we need to close the window due to insect that might enter our room. There is cable TV in the room but if there is no power in Coron town then there is also no cable connection. Dont worry they have power generator.

Room 3- Same as room 1 but the smell is something different. (Smell of Kulob) tried to spray perfume but still got the smell of old room not being used for quite some time. But the room is really okay.

Amenities inside the room they dont have kettle for hot water so you need to bring your own. They have cute sheet folding where they can create elephant out of towels. Very clean.

Price for the food are expensive around 150 to 250 per meal. We just decided to eat in this hotel since I am with my parents and its not convenient to go in Coron Town for dinner. Coron Hilltop is around 15 to 20 minutes away from Coron town you need to ride Tricycle.

All in all we enjoyed our stay in Coron Hilltop Hotel.

Room Tip: The location of Coron Hilltop is far from Coron town although its easy to take tricyle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

ACCOMODATIONS:
Deluxe room was spacious, clean and smelled fresh despite the local materials used. Bathroom okay. Toilet had a bidet/spray washer which is a nice detail.

No instant hot water but they ask you to conserve water. Hot water doesn't come around in 3-8 mins which means you have to run the water and this is very contradicting to what they are asking - "conserve water". And we didn't have any on our first and last night. It was unstable all throughout: from warm water, it turns cold in 5 seconds. When you set it again, you get scalding water next so you end up turning the knobs every few seconds and never get it right.

For P4,000./nite, your room does not include a mini bar nor did they provide a simple kettle for coffee/tea making facility and neither are there free bottles of water daily. A bucket of ice costs P25 when they could simply give this for free.

On our first night, we ordered for chili prawns (P299) and chili crabs (P199). The prawns were fine but the crabs had very little meat in them (and I mean they almost had none) plus the crabs were male hence they had a distinct, pungent smell and taste to it. We also ordered for the budget meal of fish, mixed vegetables and steamed rice (P199). The serving was way too small (just a thin slice) which would cost P50 in Manila. I felt for my poor husband who ordered for both the crabs and budget fish meal that I had to order another dish to make up for the lousy ones previously ordered. Since he enjoys anything with coconut milk and chili, I ordered a 4th dish - Bicol Express (P179). Unfortunately, they used too much chili and very little coconut milk so the end result was, the chili over-powered the dish and killed the whole experience of enjoying what should be a delicious dish made with right balance of spice and cream.

After trying out a couple more things, we gave up and decided to get our lunch and dinner in town.

Perhaps they have their own definition of flambè because the fresh fruit slices were served on a platter, that's it. They were not cooked with alcohol and syrup and definitely no burst of flames there. To be honest, the cook has no business in the kitchen. He/She needs serious training at least in Manila. They have to realize the town relies on tourism and they need to be competitive in this area.

Set breakfast was mostly tapa (thin slices of sirloin, fried) or tocino (cured sweet pork slices, fried) with garlic rice, choice of egg, coffee or tea. They use powdered juice drinks which is high in sugar and has artificial flavoring. Canned juices are available for a fee.

One morning, we had pancakes and french toast. The syrup was served on a small dish for sauce dips. They should have used a syrup dispenser.

They also should include a knife as most foreigners do not use spoons.

Service is good (especially from Rod from the restaurant) but food quality is substandard. I may suggest that since the hotel has reached the service to a good level, they could simply keep this and work on other areas where they fail immeasurably like the food and hot water issues.

BROADBAND CONNECTION:
Internet was only available at the reception and restaurant areas but speed even at these areas was too slow, it was such a waste of time.

OTHER SERVICES:
Massage in the room from therapist Vilma was one of the best! With over 9 years of experience, she must be one. She's not employed by the resort but on call when a guest needs one. I give them a five here.

FACILITIES:
The pool is really just a plunge pool. Too small.

TOURS:
For the same package (visiting 6 destinations, a boat, tour guide, entrance fees, bbq lunch & drinks), you can get the island tours from town at P650/pax as compared to the hotel's price of P2,400/pax. However, the inexpensive rate from town means you have to join 4 or more people. I believe the hotel rate is personalized so it's your call.

If you want to see the town, forget about booking a tour (P550). Simply take a tricycle to town (from Coron Hilltop View Hotel it was P15 or P20/pax one way). The town is small. The Baywalk is a hop and skip away from the Public Market. You can visit the Cashew Nut Producers by again taking a tricycle from town at P9/pax one way. If you fancy dried fish or squid, it's just around the corner. Just ask the driver to take you there. Most drivers would happily wait for you. So, you pay them a roundtrip fare after. The Coron Town Tour includes a visit to the Maquinuit Hot Springs. Again, take the tricycle. From town, it's only P20/pax one way. If you want to visit the Tapyas Hill View Deck (700+ steps), the trail begins from town.

Overall, I would say given the daily rate they charge, it is best to get something from town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasig
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Very nice hotel.

If you can get it at 50% off from those vouchers, it is really worth it.

The hotel is clean, the rooms are spacious enough with good a/c.

The hotel is around 8 km. to 10 km. away from the city proper. Peaceful surroundings. Even though the hotel is a bit far from the city, you can take a tricycle going to the town proper for only 20 pesos per head. Just tell the front desk ahead of time so they can call a tricycle for you.

The staff are very helpful and friendly.

The pool is really small.

No hot water in the bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coron Hilltop View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coron Hilltop View Resort

Address: Brgy. Poblacion 6 | Sitio Dipulao, Palawan Island 5316 , Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Coron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The island of Coron is part of the Calamian Group of Islands in northern tip of the country's last frontier, Palawan. It is the home of the Philippines' natural treasures and magnificent lagoons.Coron features an array of splendid seascapes and sceneries, breathtaking limestone cliffs, rock formations and spectacular Japanese World War II ship wreck diving locations.Coron Hilltop View Resort (CHVR) is a 5,500 sq. mtr. resort is strategically located between Busuanga Airport and Port of Coron. Its location is perfectly situated between the airstrip and jetty port to accommodate the comfort of our customers. This area harnesses the natural beauty of Coron and the laid-back rural culture of the vicinity. The resort exudes Asian beauty that captures the heart of travellers idyllically situated amidst tranquil paradise with lush forest, a perfect spot to start your day having a deep breath of fresh air to revitalize your mind and body.Coron Hilltop View Resort has 19 villas, a combination of uniquely formed standard, deluxe and superior villas. All amenities are accented with Asian interiors with a touch of local culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Coron Hilltop View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coron Hilltop View Hotel Coron
Coron Hilltop View Resort Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coron Hilltop View Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.