We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kayangan Lake

Kayangan Lake
Palawan Island, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 Attractions in Coron
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Laguna
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

You're Coron Trip is not complete without visiting this lake! Come in the afternoon because there are less people.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    85
    10
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Beautiful views on the walk and wonderful lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The walk to this is about 300 steps (or so the boatman said - we didn't count) - but it's really not difficult at all. Wear beach shoes not flip-flops as with all the people walking and dripping it can be a little slippy - but nothing too worrying. And wow - the view back to the bay you will have come in on are amazing. And then you see the lake.... So blue and so wonderful. Little 'pike' like fish which are wonderful. The water is so great to swim in and the beach shoes and snorkel meant that you float easily. There are caves to swim into if you have a boatman than knows where. Fantastic - definitely one to add to your list of things to do (out of the many!) in Coron.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Adventure and serenity in one lake.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We visited Kayangan Lake as part of a Coron Tour package from our hotel. If you're not a strong swimmer, take a life vest and you'll be fine to move about with your snorkel. You won't want to miss the beautiful, cool, turquoise water and the limestone jetting beneath the water. It's a once in a lifetime experience. Don't miss it if you're in Coron.

Note: There is very little space on the deck built around the lake. You'll want to spend most of your time in the water and not on the sidelines.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“It was worth the climb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

The climb looked daunting especially for somebody like me who does not engage in regular exercise. But, I persisted on and I'm glad I did. The views were spectacular and the dive/swim in the lake was something that any visitor to Coron should not miss. One can almost lose track of time admiring the serenity (despite the many people) of the surrounding. My family will definitely visit again every time we're in Coron.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“picture perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

A very nice worthwhile uphill little hike to a great view. I didn't much like the crowds though. We were able to go snorkelling - the lake is large enough to hold all, but the decks may not be.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayangan Lake also viewed

Coron, Palawan Island
Coron, Palawan Island
 
El Nido, Palawan Island
Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island
 

Been to Kayangan Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kayangan Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.