We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad for its Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coron Gateway Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coron Gateway Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Coron Gateway Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Brgy. Poblacion 3 Coron, Busuanga, Palawan Island 5316, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 47 Coron B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not Bad for its Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We paid about Php 3.5k per night for a room and we found this very affordable compared to other hotels in Coron which were just quite far from the docks. The location of Coron Gateway is very convenient as its just a hop and skip away from the dock.

The room is really big with a huge bathroom which is perfect specially for waiting for clothes to dry. The shower had some problems, but the staff was able to fix it (it took a while though). Since we were out we never really experienced the power outage. The pickup from the airport was efficient and they were able to adjust to our requests.

It's definitely a good place to have if you would like to have a place to sleep after a day's journey around the island. I would definitely go to this hotel again.

Room Tip: No need to get the more expensive rooms, the entry level room is huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    41
    22
    16
    3
See reviews for
19
32
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Coron, Palawan is a rural province expecting five star service anywhere in this place is overshooting expectations. People in the town are very friendly and quite relaxed and so is their service. So asking for quick fast service anywhere in this town is close to impossible. If you want to experience anything close to fast, with good quality service. I definitely recommend Gateway Hotel, remember you're here in Palawan to relax, you also need to relax your city expectations. I hope this review helps Gateway is the BESTSESSSS!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seoul
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Yes, first impression was great location (close to the bancas for the islands), and bang in centre of town. The outside appearance is somewhat like a bunker but our rooms were very comfortable, roomy, tastefully decorated, great bathrooms. However ... the balconies overlook the fish market so are unusable because of the smell. At around five-thirty the first morning we thought a live band was sharing our bed as Jingle Bells filled the room. The market was blaring its sound system. Not only do the rooms not have double glazing, but the windows have been so badly finished that they don't actually fit the frames. We basically didn't sleep much for the five night stay. We had to change rooms once when the toilet just packed up and couldn't be repaired. Our kids moved once when their aircon folded. There is also no common area; to access the very poor restaurant one has to go outside. All of this would have been understandable had it been a cheapie but this place is very expensive for Coron. They just haven't got it together and it's been open for a couple of years now.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We paid something like $140/night for "presidential" rooms. They are large rooms with a separate bedroom area, large bathroom, kitchenette, living room and balcony. My comments are as follows:
1. Know that the power in Coron is unreliable. This hotel does have a generator, which sits outside room 203 and is apparently loud. It sounds like the power goes off frequently, but not necessarily every day.
2. We ended up having two rooms, because we asked for a change. In our first room, the hot water in shower did not work and, after arguing about my ability to use the hot function on the faucet, they changed us to a different room, where the water did work. My parents' room had intermittent (mostly cold) water in its shower for the whole stay.
3. The kitchenettes have nothing in them - no pots, knives, plates, etc. So basically they are useless unless you bring your own. I called the front desk to ask about it and they offered to bing me a pan from the restaurant.
4. The air conditioners worked well, except in our second room there was no remote.
5. In our first room, there was no TV in the living room (only in the bedroom). In our second room, there were two TVs (but only one remote), except the TV in the living room only got one channel while the one in the bedroom received the whole selection.
6. This is a tropical location, so some insects are reasonable. However, our rooms (all three of them) were fully infested with ants, plus we saw multiple cockroaches in multiple rooms.
7. Be aware that the hotel has two sides - the market side and the bay side. The market side of the hotel has music from the market and is probably better than the bay side (unless you get the generator room). The bay side has a road and effectively a bus station parking lot that becomes busy with motorcycles, people, buses and squealing pigs at about 6:00 AM. 8. Be aware that the couches are so small a family of 4 cannot comfortably sit in the living room.
The reviews we read were mostly positive, and the place was moderately expensive, so we had higher expectations. Upon arrival, we were all clearly disappointed and did not know what to say. I asked the front desk about a refund (we booked through Agoda), but I was told to call Agoda. I did and Agoda never followed up and since we pre-paid, we were stuck. In the end, we opted to leave Coron on a motorcycle tour where we slept out in a village, but that was fine because we did not like the hotel and we had already paid. Finally, know that you go to Coron for the diving and beach activity, not for a nice little town. It is fairly simple and poor with minimal options in the town for dining, entertainment, etc.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

We chose the Gateway because it looked like the best option. The location is next to the water, the public market and the bus loading area--a very noisy location. The power is not consistent in the town and the Gateway generator was not working. No emergency lights are present--so take a flashlight. Many things in the rooms did not work or were missing--kitchen had no dishes--and they had none to provide, TV and AC remotes were missing, the sliders to the deck did not lock, and some flooring and one shower door was missing, faucets and towel racks were loose. Hot water was intermittent--with calls for service, the property is new but in poor condition. The air conditioning did work with the remote. Ants were prevalent and we had roaches in both rooms--somewhat expected in the tropics--but for about $140/night US--the package was not what we expected. The lodging was prepaid and at checkout they wanted us to sign a bill for a higher amount--we refused.

Room Tip: Market side has potential generator noise if it works and water side is next to bus yard and pig hol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Me and 3 other friends stayed at this hotel for 3d2n for a discounted price. Got the 50% off voucher from Ensogo inclusive of dinner.

RESERVATION - pretty okay. Ms. Michelle sent me an email w/ the attached file of their tour package and rates (so expensive - which made me avail somewhere else).

CHECKin and CHECKout - We arrived at 12pm. Unfortunately, the reserved Executive Suite for us is still being cleaned by housekeeping. Front desk allowed us to use a Jr. Suite room so we can leave our baggage and change for our 1pm tour that day. Had no problems upon check-out. We handed the keys, I took some pictures and we left.

ROOMS - Amazing. Super. Cool. Perfect. Hotel quality rooms, really. The Jr. Suite is awesome. It has a queen size bed, love seat, flat screen TV, tub, toilet w/ bidet, split-type aircon. We couldn't stop taking pictures :D The Executive suite has 2 queen size beds and pretty much the same as the Jr. Suite except for the love seat. Hot shower is really hot. Ow, I remember we had some problems with the Air conditioning unit at Room210. I thought there was power loss because the room feels really hot, like the ac is in Fan mode or something. No WiFi connection in the rooms.

FOOD - didn't like it. Bland. The restaurant looks great, formal table setting with complete silver wares. WiFi is available there but it's very weak to not working at all.

OTHERS - The hotel provides beach towels that you can bring during tours even if you will not avail of theirs. You may also request for extra pillows. Amenities in the room includes 8 bottles of water, organic soap, toothpaste, shampoo (Head & Shoulders) :D If you want to have towels replaced the next day, put it on the floor. If you are a gadget person, you'll definitely like the rooms because there's outlet everywhere. I think I saw at least 8 if I'm not exaggerating :)

STAFF - great housekeeping and front desk staff. Always smiling. The staff at the restaurant are also welcoming and accommodating. Thanks y'all!

I never experienced the "NOISE" other reviewers are talking about. I think because our room is on the other side of the hotel facing the port. Had a great veranda to watch the sunrise.

I'll be coming back to Coron next year for sure. If given the same affordable rate, I'll definitely stay here again because of their rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Even with booking reservations, these people are huge snobs. I had to email three times and call 4 times and be persistent just to get a straight answer from them regarding the bookings. This was irritating but nowhere near as irritating as our experience with them.

It all started October 27th, our 3:15 flight to Busuanga got delayed a few hours which led to it being CANCELLED. We rebooked a flight the next morning, and while we were a little pacified with Cebu Pac's provided accommodation, we tried to negotiate an extension with Coron Gateway's reservation officer through our mobile. This Connie Lugo, she was EXTREMELY RUDE to us, complaining why we called at 7pm when she was already out of the office when we weren't even talking to her that way even though we were pissed. She passed us back and forth to the hotel's supervisor, and on her final call, she was YELLING at us over this misunderstanding regarding the refund on our first night.

So fine, hotel policy had no refunds so we negotiated a discount nalang on our one-day extension. They said they'll be giving a 30% discount. And we agreed since we were tired already.

Just so you know, the original rate we paid for was P3,950 per night for 3 nights. Come checkout, the person at the front desk charged P4,400, and I asked, "I thought you were giving a 30% discount??" This made her uncomfortable and then charged us P3,950 again. And I asked again, "Why P3,950? I thought you were giving us a 30% discount??" And she said that that was the 30% off from the super peak rates. We were there from October 28-31 and that's not even super peak yet! So how come they computed the 30% off from the ****ing super peak rates??? My guess would be so naive customers wouldn't make much of a fuss since they'll think they're given a discount, when it's just the REGULAR RATE. So there. I did wish I argued about that but I didn't since we were so so exhausted from the whole trip and just wanted to go home back in Manila.

It is such a shame though because they have great rooms. We were really comfy in our beds, the bathroom was really clean, and the room service people were not bad. And contrary to the other reviewers who said the Town View Jr. Suite stank of market in the morning and is really noisy - well we didn't have much of a problem with that. Oh, and also go buy your food somewhere else, Coron Gateway's are overpriced and not that good for our taste. There are way better food choices outside town.

It's just really disappointing their service is bull.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coron Gateway Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coron Gateway Hotel & Suites

Address: Brgy. Poblacion 3 Coron, Busuanga, Palawan Island 5316, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Coron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coron Gateway Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and taste your dream Palawan holiday at Coron Gateway Hotel and Suites. Offering 31 luxurious guestrooms, a restaurant serving a diverse menu of culinary delights, and an enviable location in the captivating Calamianes Islands, our resort in Coron is anyone's ideal getaway. Wanting to fully embrace the beauty of nature? You can experience this with us as we take you to attractions such as Mount Tapyas, Siete Picados, and the Skeleton Wreck. At the end of the day, the well-fitted, and elegantly designed rooms and suites at Coron Gateway Hotel and Suites will take you in and fill you with utmost comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Coron Gateway Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coron Gateway Hotel & Suites Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coron Gateway Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.