We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, but with atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Darayonan Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Darayonan Lodge to your Saves list
Darayonan Lodge
132 National Highway, Palawan Island, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Coron
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Simple, but with atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We checked into a standard room after only have seen the deluxe rooms. We thought the deluxe where quite damp and dark, and our standard room was very cozy and light to our surprise. Breakfast was ok, nescafe coffee free, and the pool very refreshing. In total we liked the place!

We got a lot for 1250 pesos. Wifi, breakfast, pool, tv, private bathroom, hot shower. To compare, we paid 700 PHP for a shared bathroom without breakfast in Tameta guesthouse.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    45
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
26
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

this is my second time in coron, since there are only two of us, we opted for darayonan standard room (feb 23-26 2013) to stay on our budget.
1. the standard room #2 was located in their old building. it was very basic. 2 beds. thin sheets. aircon, fan and private bath (P1400 per website but we took a package tour) (plus coz cheap:>)
2. aircon is not cold, so we had to turn on the fan at night (neg)
3. thin sheets are ok since it was neither hot nor cold in the room (neutral)
4. free breakfast throughout our stay (plus)
5. room2 has bad drain on their bath room so pool of water stays while your bathing.use slippers. area is quite cramped but acceptable (neg)
6. since the room is near the highway, we can hear the motorcycles passing by at night. if you are a light sleeper, this may be a bother. (neg)
overall rating 3.5 since we were there to sleep only and we were out the whole day. there are more updated rooms and a pool by the way
7. breakfast was readily served upon ordering. usually, meat, egg and rice with garnishing of tomato,pipino. there is free flowing coffee at their restaurant (plus)
8. staff are very friendly and helpful (plus)
9. central location so you can walk from darayona, to mount tapyas, to their poblacion,public plaza, public market and other eating places along the highway(like central coron, lolo nonoy, bstro coron, seadive, la sirenetta) (plus)
i will recommend this place as they are old timers of coron so they can give tips on attractions. just ask for more modern/updated rooms and pay for more of course:>

Room Tip: avoid the rooms near the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This lodge is the only lodge in the city center that has a swimming pool. It is also very near in sari-sari stores. We stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights. Our accommodation comes with free breakfast and free coffee and water for the whole stay (anytime)..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antipolo City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This has a nice location being at the center or at the heart of Coron, Palawan, from here you can go to the hot springs or go the pier (500 meters away) to take a launch to go to the islands, or you can go to the dive sites. I’ll be back here perhaps next year or two depending on my schedule.

The rooms are nice, spic and span and we got a spacious room. Its my client who answered for my 3 day and 3 night stay but I checked the price it wasn’t so pricey plus you can ask the staff to give you fresh towels and toiletries each day with no charge on the towels.

Below our room is a lovely swimming pool and a small saloon where you can order a drink. I think foreigners go here because of the cheaper price. I’ve seen Coron Lodge which is next door but although it has a better looking façade- the price is a lot steeper too.

The lodge has a 24 hour Wi-Fi- which suits me but since I swore to myself “no blogging or posting or internet” save in my HTC phone I’m only posting this now. The lodge is a few meters from Coron Bay and on the second floor it gives you a partial view since a part of it is hidden by trees.

My only complaints are that the lodge is under staffed so don’t expect they’ll pick up every mess you shove out your room. Our neighbor had an ice cream orgy and it took a whole day till the scrap was cleaned off, and another is the lack of meat dishes well they’re in the menu but all you get is tapa and lastly the staff is sometimes in a quandary on what to do considering that the owner who is an old lady or one of the managing owners is usually in Manila.

The Wi-Fi by the way has a strong signal. They have rooms with flat and semi-flat television. Another problem is the seemingly lack of fresh water but I think its no longer the problem of the hotel- since water is precious in Coron and Busuanga. .

Grade- 2.25- Its not Linden Suites but to me the price is acceptable. You got a pool, you get warm hot meals, you have a swimming pool and nice babes are around so what else do you expect. As for the nice babes- I respected their privacy and didn’t take any pictures. Moreover I was there more for work rather than for leisure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We booked the 4D3N EXPLORE CORON (with 2 days tour) directly from the Darayonan website. The entire reservation and booking process was very efficient. Miss Marilyn of Darayonan was very prompt in answering our emails. When we arrived at the hotel, however, check-in was a bit disorganized, with everything going on at once and nobody telling us where and how to proceed. Our prebooked rooms were also not yet available when we arrived. But everything went smoothly after that. The rooms were very basic yet clean and comfortable, and the tours exceeded our expectations. The lunches and dinners provided were ample and delicious, but the breakfasts were so-so.
There are lots of mosquitoes in the area, too, so bring some insect repellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

One of the nicest places we stayed in Coron. It was on the most expensive side, but in our mind, it was completely worth it.

Pros:
- Extremely friendly staff
- Beautiful grounds, great outdoor areas
- Swimming Pool!
- Western comfort and cleanliness -- one of the cleanest rooms (definitely the cleanest bathroom!!) we had on our entire vacation

Cons:
- Air conditioning is not on generator, so when the town loses power (often) you'll lose AC too
- Bed comfort was on the European side

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The lodge had very hospitable staff, a trait Filipinos are known for. You are welcomed in the small lobby, free wi-fi available, then given a quick tour of the Lodge.We immediately asked for any staff member who could inform us of the packages we availed and the schedule at hand. This proved helpful since it was the first time for most of us.

The room we got was a Superior Room, since we wanted more room space. Superior had 1 Queen, 2 singles, and an additional folding bed was provided. Structure seems fairly new, but uses old wood as flooring and ceilings. Note that this is a Lodge and not a Hotel. The bathroom was typical of a Lodge, no bathtub, but was clean.

The Lodge has a swimming pool with a kiddie section, perfect for those with young children. The Pool sold it all for us. The water was clean and not too deep. Perfect for a morning or night swim.

They served food anywhere: room, balcony, pool, or resto. The Lodge has its own bar, for those who just plan to unwind in the lodge. There were blackouts in Coron, but the lodge had a generator, just enough to power lights and fans, sorry, not the air conditioners.

Everything is walking distance: the Plaza (Town Hall), Market, and Port (for when you visit the Coron attractions). We took the packages offered since we computed it to be more expensive when we don't. The meals they provided were quite impressive (for the packed lunch tour, we had crabs. Don't forget to discuss this with your guide upon check-in).

You're supposed to be out visiting the Coron Attractions, so the Lodge is just perfect for rest. :-)

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in the Back, since the Front Rooms face the Main Road. Drawback is that the wi-fi i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Darayonan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darayonan Lodge

Address: 132 National Highway, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Coron
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Darayonan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darayonan Hotel Coron
Darayonan Lodge Coron, Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darayonan Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.