We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place to Stay in Coron” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Darayonan Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Darayonan Lodge to your Saves list
Darayonan Lodge
132 National Highway, Palawan Island, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Coron
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A Nice Place to Stay in Coron”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Friendly Staff.. great food.. perfect for the the trip.. ^___^

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    45
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
26
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We had a pleasant stay at Darayonan. The room and bathroom was sufficient and the bed, comfortable.

Although our room was near the entrance, and near the national highway, we were not bothered by the road noise because we could barely hear them in our room.

The Lodge has its own restaurant. The taste however, is just average.

The Staff on the other had were great. They assisted us we well and even made sure we got to our flight back home on time. (since our transfers from our tour agent did not arrive).


Some notable information..
1) Coron town is just a small place.. you could get anywhere using a tricycle (local tuk tuk) for only 8 pesos per person. Darayonan is located a bit far from the center so it has less noise and commotion.

2) you can book tours on the spot at the hotel ! Ask for their agent, Ms. Mae Linsangan and she does wonders and of course, cheap tours.


3) They offer room massages for only 300 pesos, and only need 20 minutes to get you one. Its great to have one after an exhausting island tour/hike to mount tapyas

4) Power supply in the island is dependent on oil tanker deliveries, so it is possible to have black-outs during your stay. The lodge has its own generator but it cannot provide for air conditioning. Fans and lights can be used though.

5) Darayonan's contact numbers are [--] or [--]

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaue, Philippines
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

the standard room was creepy and in a bad style..very old and the floor is rocky..Furthermore, the CR is very small,the cabinets are torn.There is no proper drainage..So , if you take a bath and you don't place the shower curtain in proper place surely, the water stagnate...The ceiling needs to be taken out and replaced because if you have asthma surely you get allergic to the bugs dropping up the ceiling..They actually just covered it with plastic.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

very cozy and quiet place with. friendly people, affordable rates, our tour guide(Jerry) is the best very accommodating as well as the people at the front desk...

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We had a great time staying here, (Nov 24-26,2011)

Love the pool
Clean Surrounding
Nice and clean rooms
Very affordable
Accommodating Staff especially Ms. Marlyn of Manila Office
Mr. Don Don their tour guide is very friendly, he alway answers with a smile :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Coron is a small town, for me its a noisy town from the sound of trycycle and the town has cock crowing anytime they want, can't blame them its their nature. We stayed at the Coron Village lodge on the first day we arrived, not satisfied with it we moved on the third night to Darayonan as it seems nice from the outside and they have a pool, I dont have the opportunity to check the room first as it was full.

When we check in they gave us a room near the highway( their National Highway) and near the stairs, frustrating as it is as it is terribly noisy with the trycycle sound and the people going up and down the stairs.

Once in the room, we have a triple room, the room is crowded, u hardly any space to move, not enough place to put your things too, bed are old, u can feel the spring on your back, and there's a certain part of the bed that has some protruding metals which can scratch your legs easily if ur not careful, aircon is not that cold too. Well, i dont expect to have a good shower pressure in this kind of hotel, and it really is. U are better off in a bucket and tabo way of showering here.

I complained, the front desk and management is quite accomodating they upgrade us to their deluxe triple room, they have a better bed n room space there. but i dont think all people are willing to pay the price for it.

For me, Coron has expensive rooms as you are not getting what u paid for, u get a room that is so unfriendly, bed sheets and blanket is not to standard. I use my big scarf as a blanket as i dont want to use their synthetic blanket that is piling (nag mumulmul na) its not comfortable to sleep with it, if its a hostel, i wont complain as you get what u paid for.

Breakfast is so so, they get your breakfast order in the evening, then cook it in the morning, breakfast is normally waiting for u in the kitchen, so u normally end up eating a cold breakfast unless u wake up earlier. we sat for breakfast and then when we were almost finish their staff told us that they have to clear our table as they have a conference in that restaurant, could have told us earlier then we cound sit by the pool and have our breakfast. Incompetent restaurant staff.

It's good thing they have a pool to cool u down as I never been so frustrated. I expect it to be better as they have nice garden, pool, hahaha but looks can be deceiving.

I hope that Coron would have a hotel that could give comfort to its guest soon, a standard hotel, it doesn't have to be a 5 star hotel but a hotel room that is more accomodating, There is nothing to do in Coron at night and the hotel room would be your only comfort. I stayed in Huahin for 550 thai baht ( a beach town in thailand) and the room is 3X better than the room here and the room rate here is 2200 pesos for that stupid room.

It is not all about the profit but the decency to provide a decent room to your hotel guest.

Room Tip: Look at the room first, before deciding
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

The reception is nice, prices seem fair (have not checked out yet). The rooms are fairly clean thou the toilet flush is bucket operated.

The restaurant service is terrible they will do a great job at ignoring you, when that becomes impossible they will drop your food and go back to congregate chatting and and exchanging while you sign hopelessy for salt, water, more drinks or an ashtray.

If you are on a budget and specially if you like us have not reserved in advance is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Darayonan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darayonan Lodge

Address: 132 National Highway, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Coron
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Darayonan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darayonan Hotel Coron
Darayonan Lodge Coron, Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darayonan Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.