We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont expect too much!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coron Village Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Coron Village Lodge to your Saves list
Coron Village Lodge
Brgy 1, Palawan Island, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Coron
san francisco
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Dont expect too much!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed in their triple room, luckily we were given a room which is not near the main entrance as it gets noisy from the tricycle noise.

The room is very basic, much more like a hostel. 2 to 3 inches bed cushion, polyester cotton bed sheets and some local kind of blanket.

Bathroom is so so, not much pressure, better use the tabo (bucket type) system, its faster!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    56
    25
    7
    5
See reviews for
21
32
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

i would rate it as average at best, we had a small room right down the bottom of the complex right next to a power generator which started up first thing in the morning, so maybe we were unlucky. the staff were not to helpful and the food in the restaurant was nothing special. stayed 1 night before moving on to somewhere out of town which we found much more accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed in Coron Village Lodge for 2 days to avail of their packaged tours. It was really value for money. Included in the package are accommodations, full board meals, and guide. First off, the place is simple but very clean. Room is comfortable, with A/C, tv and hot&cold shower. The meals included have generous servings, complete with a dessert. All staff are courteous too.

The tour provided was hassle-free. Everything was taken care of, including our snacks and drinks in the boat. Kudos to our tour guide from Coron Village Lodge -- Kuya Jon (I hope I remembered it right). I cannot commend him enough for his service and for taking care of us very well.

We haven't done all the tours yet as there is so much to see in Coron. When I go back, I'll stay in CVL again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I booked my tour in coron with my fiancee thru Calamianes Island Travel. And, I chose Coron Village Lodge fr0m their list. The location is very accessible along the national road. The room is quite small but clean. Housekeeping is done everyday.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Our group decided to stay at Coron Village Lodge during the long weekend last Aug. 2011. Communication with Ms. Ann Daet from their Manila office was easy. She was very helpful with infos and requests made for our 3-day stay at the lodge. Check-in was smooth. We were ushered to one of our rooms right away. We have to wait for the other room though since the previous occupant just checked out. While waiting, we had our early lunch served at their restaurant. At the back, one can see display cabinets filled with collectibles acquired by the owners from their tours abroad. Their fun chandelier (made up of shells, wood, old decors) was easily noticeable. We love the other decors at the restaurant as well…mostly were acquired/done locally. You can also see pictures of Bob Marley at one of the walls. They have a free internet connection at the resto/bar so you can readily check your mails. They also provide unlimited coffee and tea. Okey, so our food arrived and was surprised by the huge servings! We were not able to finish it all. Shame! We only ate at their resto as part of the package. But all the food was served delectably even the dessert was good.

Location / Transportation:
Coron Village Lodge is located at the town proper. Walking distance to spa, ATM machines, other hotels/inns, town plaza, stores, restos, bars and one of the tourist spots in the area, Mt. Tapyas. Lucky for us, when we were in Coron it was their Kasadyaan Festival. So a lot of stalls were put up near the town plaza. One can find locally-made bags, Carcar’s Espadrilles, slippers/sandals, home decors, bracelets/anklets and a whole lot of bric-a-brats. Another pasalubong you can’t miss is their danggit (dried/half-dried fish) and cashew nuts offered roasted or honey-coated. CVL also have a souvenir shop in-front of the main building/lot. You can order danggit from the store keeper and she will have it ready before you leave Coron. Transportation is not a problem. There are plenty of tricycles in-front of their hotel.

Rooms:
The rooms given to us was on the ground floor of the main building near the function hall. It was like a duplex-type room so it’s like having one big room. It was spacious, A/C unit working to its expectation, have a wall mounted full length mirror, clothes cabinet, dresser w/ chair, cable tv, towel rack with hangers. The toilet and bath are clean. Shower working all right although the water pressure is weak. One problem we’ve encountered in their rooms are the beds. They are so UNCOMFORTABLE that you have to wake up every now and then to position yourself so that you will not lay on the springs poking you on the back. I guess you have to be drunk enough or tired enough not to notice this. Hopefully, the management will do something about this. Fresh towels are provided and they clean the room daily.

Staff:
All the staff are efficient and friendly. They always smile and greet you whatever time of day it is. They have a security guard patrolling the grounds.

For this trip, we chose a hassle-free package. The tour guide assigned to us (“Butchoy”) was knowledgeable about the different tourist spots. He always smiles and answers our questions readily. The food they served while on tour was delicious, cooked and handled properly. The places shown to us were all met with amazement. Hopefully, they (guides, keepers and tourists as well) will be able to preserve the beauty of Coron. On the whole, the tour was fun-filled, exhilarating, and informative. Sure glad that we chose CVL!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

There is nothing really extra-ordinary about the place. We did not have a super pleasant experience nor a really bad one.

Abel was at the front desk when we got in and he was courteous and helpful. He assisted my gf and lady friends with their luggage... this means leaving his station and bringing us to our respective rooms. We didnt interact much with the other staff aside from the occasional front desk visits.

The ambience of the room was positive. The room was spacious and walls were newly painted. The AC was powerful enough to keep the room cold. The bed was comfortable but made the occassional squeaking sound, this can be an issue especially if you move a lot in your sleep.

Housekeeping ensures that you have a fresh set of towels and your room is clean everyday. NOTE: Make sure you hang your do not disturb sign specially if you "really" do not want to be disturbed.

If you really need to post your fabulous pics and/or chech your work mail, internet access is available in their resto/bar.

NOTE: if you are a guest of the hotel, you are entitiled to unlimited coffee... (i found out only during my last day of stay)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011



 
Enjoying this with a tight budget is better than experiencing the life of a socialite staying in a 5 star resort. The Coron Village Lodge might not have any stars but they have great hospitality and excellent food. Well, the rooms are clean with air con and cable television. Clean toilet and bath is also standard. The best part…almost everything is negotiable.
 
Kudos

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coron Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coron Village Lodge

Address: Brgy 1, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Coron
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Coron Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coron Village Hotel Coron
Coron Village Lodge Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coron Village Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.