We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best holiday we've had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rio y Mar Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Rio y Mar Resort to your Saves list
El Rio y Mar Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Palawan, Palawan Island 5316, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Coron
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of the best holiday we've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have just come back from a truly amazing honeymoon. We stayed at El Rio y Mar for 5 nights, in a Cedar Cabana cottage, which is spacious, clean and have an amazing view both during sunrise and sunset. Air-con in the room is great, hot water shower works well. This resort is very well organised, from airport transfer to islands excursions to spa treatments, very friendly staff and professional. They understand how to make their guest feel relaxed during their stay at the resort and on excursions.

We opted for the full board option, meals are good, especially the seafood and their angus steak. When we first arrived, the resort was almost at its max capacity, the resort had put on shows during evening meals. Bar tender Emil's fire dance was the most impressive of all. He was friendly and he also remembered my favourite drink - Mango milkshake whenever I visited the Port Caltom's Reef Bar! Darren who was our guide for the Coron Island tour as well as our day trip to the sister resort Club Paradise, he is very tentative and friendly... he led us to find the Sea Turtles and the giant clam at Club Paradise. We have also went for a hike up to the submit of the hill, it has a great view of the resort and you are able to see Club Paradise from there.

I know alot of people prefer Club Paradise than El Rio y Mar. Personally, we prefer this resort. Yes, it's a smaller resort, and yes, it has not much of a beach. But the rooms/cottages are bigger than Club Paradise, because it's a smaller resort, it brings people closer among the guests and the staff, and its just a bonus that they have the best floating spa ever! If you want to go to the beach, you can always make a day trip to the Club Paradise with their scheduled ferry.

If you are looking for relaxing romantic getaway, this is the perfect resort for you.

Room Tip: Cedar Cabanas are great as they are the nearest to the pool and other amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    69
    22
    8
    7
See reviews for
57
114
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Transfer from Busuanga airport was flawless and quick. 20 mins by minibus and 20 mins by boat to the resort. We chose a native cabana cottage which is very beautiful and very clean, made out of bamboo and rattan. Super comfortable mattresses and beds. Staff is very friendly and helpful, meals and drinks are good but pricey. Since the owner is German, there is Geman weissbier, German coffee and tea etc :-) There is an infinity pool, watersports/dive center, massage tent, library etc... There is one hiking trail up a hill behind the resort which gives you a stunning view of the island landscape of Busuangan. The one thing that is truly missing is THE BEACH! The resort is located between mangroves, the 'swimming area' is a 3 meter wide strip of water that is not covered in waterplants and there is more mud than sand. You can take a swim from the jetty/bar out into the bay but snorkeling is pointless, the water is murky. We booked our stay for 7 days and then transferred to the sister resort 'club paradise' after 4 days.
Summary: This resort is is very beautiful but if you look for swimming in the sea or snorkeling, this is not for you. However, the cottages are stunningly beautiful, private, have very good view out in the bay, the resort has all the luxury amenities you could wish for which makes it a nice place for a romantic holiday... without a beach :-)

Room Tip: Native Cabana is very beautiful, 50 meters of the restaurant, fully a/c, spacious bathrooms and nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calamba, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We went to El Rio y Mar Resort for my sister's OJT. She is currently in her fourth year now taking up BSHRM in San Sebastian College Recoletos - Canlubang. Our main purpose is to accompany her to the resort and to inspect also its conditions.

We were fetched by their mini shuttle bus upon Busuanga Airport. Both guests of Club Paradise (their sister resort) and El Rio y Mar share the same transfers. The mini bus is air-conditioned and bulky. There is enough space for the guests and for the baggages. It is a bumpy 30-minute road trip. Afterwards, you will be transferred to a mini boat which will take you to the resort itself. The travel is another 30-minute by sea. You will cross through a long mangrove forest by the sea.

When we arrived at the resort, staffs were already prepared. They sang their greeting song for us combined with the welcome drinks and towels. Afterwards, a Guest Service Officer will brief you about the resort’s amenities. Then, he/she will guide you to your room.

Our room is located on the right side of the island. It is a Native Cabana which is really big and spacious for 2 persons. It has a queen sized bunk bed in case of extra person. A small rectangular container is available in front of the stairs for feet washing when dirt with sand. A mini veranda is also available in our room. Since it is purely made of wood and light materials, it is a good thing that they also provide a Fire Alarm and an extinguisher too. Inside the cabana, you will be welcomed with their pre-arranged setup of the room. A mirror is placed beside the bedroom which is big enough to see your whole body. They also have a Comment Sheet for your feedbacks. A block of “Please do not disturb” and “Please make up room” is also available which you can hanger on the door knob depending on your preference. Above the bed, are two well-lit lamp shades to illuminate the whole room; alongside is a lamp for your reading together with a Bible. The room was already cooled before we reach it so as to give their guests comfort from the sun’s heat. In addition, a mini refrigerator having cans of colas and soda is available together with its price above. Besides it is an emergency lamp in case power fluctuates in the island. On top of the refrigerator lie two cups with coffee sachets on it and a thermal pot for it. Across the comfort room, you will find a mini cabinet containing two bathrobes, extra pillows and hangers on it. Below it lays the safety deposit box. Towards the comfort room, you will notice the prepared toiletries already which are: shaving kit, soap, toothbrush and toothpaste, sewing kit and laundry bag. They also provide laminated posters “Please wash this” something like that if you want your clothes be laundried. They also provide containers for soap, lotion and shampoo. Roll of tissues were more than enough for our stay. Aside from the body towels, they also provide two hand towels. The bed is not that soft but will enable you to have a good slumber all throughout. I forgot to mention that they also have ceilings fan apart from the air conditioner. Overall, the cabana is very fabulous and extravagant. It really speaks for its price. Not to mention, that it is really overlooking by the sea. Beach benches are also available outside of your room.

However, what I hate most of our area is that Globe Signal and WIFI Strength is really poor! Their WIFI is only available at the front desk or reception area.

For the food, they really have delicious, scrumptious and mouth-watering delicacies may it be lunch buffet, set breakfast or a la carte dinner. You will really be full after having them.
Their infinity pool is also good. The deepest part is beyond 6ft depth. They also provide one for kids. At night, the water is lukewarm while during mornings, it is really cold.

They have their own souvenir shop at the island. They also provide an audio visual room for guests which do not have television on their rooms but on a first come first serve basis. Amenities such as billiards, ping pong and snorkeling are free of charge even the snorkel masks, flippers and life vest.

Our stay was great. If you really want to escape from all your problems and stress in life, you should go here. Definitely, it is an escape indeed.

I forgot to mention they also have tour packages, we just don’t avail of it since we stayed for a night only.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We visited El Rio this past week for a wedding and holiday.... what an amazing experience. The staff were super friendly and accommodating (even assisting the elderly grandparents as needed !!) The accommodation was simple..perfect for what was needed, king bed, air-con etc (cedar cabana). Food was a plenty and wonderful, I was never hungry in fact I probably ate way to much. Drinks were not included in the package but everything on the island was really cheap and the bar was open 24hours.
The island itself is set on a beautiful beach with a great snorkeling spot at the end of the pier, a pool is also onsite. The spa services were also cheap and really relaxing especially having a massage on the floating spa over the reef - great experience !! Day trips were also available and great experience going to the barracuda lakes, beautiful clear blue lakes with no on in sight.
I have never considered the Philippines as a travel destination but after this holiday, I would love to return yearly!

Room Tip: Cedar cabanas are larger and there are only 4 available on the island - would recommend if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I went on a day tour to visit family who was staying here. Place is really nice and clean. They have a lot of activities to keep you busy also available boat tours. The rooms were really nice, spacious and clean. Only reason I wouldn't stay here is if you want to be close to a town. I'm the kind of person that likes to get out and experience the culture and get a feel for the locals. You won't get that here unless you travel an hour and a half by van and boat. A great place to be alone on an island with no one else around except the employees.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Myself and my Husband stayed at El Rio Y Mar in the end of October for 3nights at one of the beach side native cottages. The staff at the Resort made us feel so welcome from the moment they met us at the Airport to been greeted at the resort after a wonderful scenic boat trip with drinks and even a snack to enjoy the ride.

The Resort itself is beautiful, very rustic…they have a small but very relaxing pool. There is a beach but not really what you might expect from an Island resort. They have a lot of sea grass which makes it impossible to swim…But you can walk down to the pier bar and jump in from there and the Hotel offer snorkeling masks and fins.

Food at the resort is very reasonable in price, however it’s not really that special, very average if I’m been honest, and this is the only place you can eat!

We booked a tour of Coron Island with the Hotel, which was amazing and well worth the visit, the Hotel took us to the boat in Coron town where we meet another boat and then it was at 20min journey to Coron Island… Lunch was included and was a feast, of fresh BBQ fish, pork, salad , fruit! This was well worth the 3500PHP. What was also nice about this trip was that there was only 4 on the trip, not sure if we just got lucky.

All in all the resort was a great place to get away from the hussle and bussle, of your everyday life, with no TV, limited wifi. They Staff at El Rio Y Mar are so helpful and friendly, they all seem to be like a big family…We stayed there over Halloween and they had put on a show each night with local flame dancing and singing.

There is plenty to do at the resort, from snorkeling, day trips, hiking on the Island and they will also take to you to there sister resort Club Paradise, which has a beautiful beach! Or you can just relax and enjoy the peace at El Rio Y Mar.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antipolo City, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at room #1 (Cedar Cabana). The wooden cabin-like room is spacious for two. It’s like a cabin but air-conditioned, so nothing to worry about bug bites ☺ We didn’t like the (dim) yellow lights inside the room that’s why we requested for additional lamps. We were provided with reading lamps instead as those are the only available.

The place is beautiful, quiet, and the ambiance is very relaxing. The area is secluded so you have no choice but just to stay there and enjoy its facilities (library, tv room, bar, swimming pool, spa, souvenir/convenience store). We spent out for an island tour that’s why we didn’t make use much of the facilities, except for the Port Caltom’s Reef Bar where we hang out at night. Besides, the swimming area is not the beach type that we truly like. Though they recommend snorkeling near the bar area.

Good points:
- great service
- friendly and really accommodating staff. highly commendable: Darren (our tour guide), Gem & Deanne (frontdesk/PR), Emil & Jonjon (the bar tenders) and Ton (the musician)
- nice room, clean facilities
- good food

Not so good points:
- swimming area is not the beach type
- dim/yellow lights inside the room

Suggestion: change the inside room painting to a brighter color, this will add more light inside the room especially at night.

Room Tip: get the room at the side of the pool (example Cedar Cabana room #1 or 2). the other side is a docki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rio y Mar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rio y Mar Resort

Address: Palawan, Palawan Island 5316, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Coron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Coron
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coron
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Rio y Mar Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Rio Y Mar Resort is the perfect haven for those seeking an escape from the urban jungle. Nestled in a beautiful tranquil bay with a breathtaking view of calm waters and rolling hills, the resort offers the perfect ambiance for romantic getaways and retreats. Guests are guaranteed of personalized service with the trademark warmth and charm of native Palawe'os. The resort also offers scuba diving, hiking, water sports and tours around Coron. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your El Rio y Mar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rio y Mar Hotel Coron
El Rio y Mar Resort Coron, Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rio y Mar Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.