We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay and dive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center to your Saves list
Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center
Dicanituan Island | Barangay 5, Busuanga Island, Palawan Island 5316, Philippines   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Coron
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay and dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great place to stay in Coron. Had a wonderful time at the Discovery Island Resort. 3 Main reasons for us to go back in a few month:
1) Great food. Every single dish of their sole restaurant is tasty and nicely prepared. Little Mama's restaurant (thats the name of the restaurant) is a mix of dishes from all over. From chicken tikka masala, over pork adobo to thai curry. A fine selection of yummy dishes will always let you find one.
2) Very attentive and friendly staff.
3) Extremely professional and well run dive base, run by swiss people. Perfectly organised, experienced divers who know the region since many many years and most importantly relaxing dive tours made our stay just perfect. We spend 9 hours a day on the boat with 3 dives a day and all the dives where really good. Small groups, well put together groups by experience and most importantly, no reasons to rush.

Room Tip: L8 is a standard room with fan, but as a corner room, it has a large balcony and sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    48
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
9
53
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had a really lovely time here and all the staff and family were without exception very friendly and welcoming. We were regularly asked what our plans were for the day , and tips and suggestions given to help ( and not for any profit to the resort ) just a genuine wish for us to get the best out of our stay.
The resort is a 10 minute boat ride from the port and it is lovely to return to the peacefulness of the island after the hectic pace of the town. There is a small charge for the boat of 50p each return trip , but you can come and go whenever you want and if there is only one person on the boat they don't mind. If you think of the cost of taking a tricycle( which we didn't need to do ) then this seems very fair. The best place to catch the boat is from la sirenetta ( blue mermaid ) restaurant. Just get the restaurant staff to call for the boat, they are very happy to do this . So if you arrive by boat to the island just make for here to get taken to the resort . If you arrive by plane, you can arrange to be collected from the airport.
Our accommodation was very spacious and we had a/c and a fan. Being of solid construction, The room kept lovely and cool throughout the day, and was well sealed so no Mosquitos . Cold showers , but really not bad at all - the water is warmed by the sun a bit.
The food was lovely and the restaurant service really well organised , and a lovely evening was put on for New Year's Eve- buffet, fire dancing show, drumming band and then we were taken on boats to watch the firework display over Coran town from the sea. The most fabulous fireworks.
I would definitely recommend this resort and would stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greatyarmouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We still have 2 nights of our stay left. A well run and great place to stay, would we stay again?., yes definitely.
On arrival, if you need collecting, ignore the phone number in " lonely planet' and make your way to the Sirenetta restaurant , also known as The Mermaid, they will then contact the resort while you have a beer, and your stay at the resort begins. It is only a 10 minute boat ride to the resort.
You will be guaranteed a good welcome by Riz. Our room was one of eight in a solid building, not a hut, we had a fan and a/c. Electric is on most of the time, and therefore is the wifi, available in the bar/restaurant area. The food , drinks and service are all excellent.
We had a great " New Year's Eve" after a BBQ, and fire dancers we then boarded one of the resorts 3 boats and sailed into the bay to see the great firework display. The organising of the evening must have been very difficult, when you understand the logistics of trying to organise an event in this part of the world. We had a great evening. Thank you to all involved.
It will be a shame to leave, but our transport to the airport is already organised, and only for 150 pesos, £2.50.
Overall, a great destination, not only for divers, and excellent value for money, especially over the festive period.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Before you book at this hotel, it will be helpful for you to know what to expect. The resort is on a tiny island (5m on boat from the main island), there is nothing else there. Unfortunately the owner has understood that guests are trapped. That is why, you will be overcharged for everything, a few examples:
+ No free drinking water (normally available for free in the 15 beach hotels we visited). You need to pay for each bottle. So do the maths...
+ Shuttle boat is not free. Pay for each ride
+ Diving is around twice as expensive as on the main land dive center
+ Tours around are 30 to 40% more expensive
+ coffee or tea not free neither at breakfast nor duting the day, usually free at dive centers

On the other side, it is quiet. Some hotels downtown are quite noisy. My suggestion, if you book this hotel, take everyday the shuttle boat to town at around 8am and go to Dive Sea resort for everything (tours, island hopping, diving, meals, breakfast...), then go back to the hotel after dinner.

Room Tip: Get the rooms on the second storey
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We gave this resort a 'terrible' rating because we experienced racism there. However, there are a number of other things that we were not happy with either.

The place is very basic and over priced for what it offers:

1. No drinking water and no facilities to make coffee or tea in the room. Drinking water at the bar is three times the price in the market. Some accommodations in town provide free unlimited coffee and tea and hot water all day long.

2. Housekeeping is not regular. We had to remind the front desk twice. Over our 10 days' stay there, they only changed sheets once (that was when we were in the room and made our request). They also charge for extra towels - which is hard to avoid given the water-based activities in the region.

3. The main light in the room was not working. The resort claimed that they had to get the right bulb from Manila, but that didn't happen for all the 10 days while we were there.

4. While brown outs are not uncommon in Coron, the resort did not always turn on the generator during the daytime; which also meant that there was no Internet during that period.

5. Water ran out twice while we were in the shower. Since there is no intercom in the room, my boyfriend had to wipe off soap with towel and go down to inform the reception and then wait for them to fix the problem.

6. No lunch or water included in the diving package. Other diving shops in town provide lunches and drinks (including beers at the end of the diving day). Also, the equipment is quite old and basic - I was given a totally torn wetsuit. All this was for more than the average prices around Coron.

But all this might have been tolerable if not for the underlying racism that we experienced there. To give one example, the resort organized a New Year's Eve party where they took guests out to watch the Coron town fireworks on their boats. They took three boats full of people; only one of these had music, lights and a nicely decorated bar. This boat only had white people on it. As opposed, the non-white people were assigned to the worst conditioned boat that had no lights or music. The differences in the arrangement were insultingly obvious. We pointed this out as we were boarding, but our comments were brushed aside. Later, this boat was parked behind the two bright boats where its view of the town was limited. Behind the fully lightened 'white people's boats', we made our celebrations (thanks to the fabulous people on the boat with us). Nevertheless, the difference in treatment did leave a bad aftertaste - specially given that this was supposed to be New Year celebrations!

We wanted to talk to the owners about this before we left the resort, but they were all mysteriously unavailable. Therefore we decided to express our voices here. We love Coron and would even have discarded the strong smell of money-making at Discovery Resort, had we not experienced the racism. Given this experience, we really cannot recommend this place - unless one is ok with people being treated differently based on their color of skin.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caloocan city
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed 13 days in this resort 0ct 14 to oct 27,2012.....i can say iv seen d best....all the staff,owners and everybody in this resort are all polite......i really mis d place so much......im sure il b back again in d near future.......thanks from the bottom of my heart to all the people in this resort.....Mis u guys.......

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

the resort was very nice, the staff are very accommodating and friendly they always make sure that they would communicate with you if you need any assistance. Stayed here for a total of 5 days and the experience was really great except that there's no room service and TV. We will surely go back here next year one reason is because of their Staff...KUDOS TO YOU GUYS!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center

Address: Dicanituan Island | Barangay 5, Busuanga Island, Palawan Island 5316, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Coron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back to 100% after Typhoon Haiyan. An Island resort and dive center on its own island just 5 minutes from Coron Town. Tranquil location with individual rustic cottages and modern lodge rooms. All rooms en-suite. Warm hospitality and good food. Ideal for island hoppers and divers. Private Coron Island Tours operated from the resort to show you the best and most beautiful spots that Coron has to offer at your own pace. With one of the most experienced dive centers in Coron, come dive Corons wrecks, lakes or coral reefs with Discovery Divers from our resort. Kayaking, seafaris around Calamianes Islands are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Divers Resort Coron Hotel Coron
Discovery Divers Hotel
Discovery Island Resort And Dive Center Coron, Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Island Resort and Dive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.