We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth stopping for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shot Tower

Shot Tower
Channel Highway, Taroona, Kingborough, Tasmania, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Taroona
Type: Lookouts, Landmarks
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Worth stopping for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Its probably needs no more than a half hour stop, but if you are passing its worth calling in. The stairs up the inside were a bit rickety for my liking, but the view from the top is spectacular, especially on a fine day. The history of the building and its purpose was interesting.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    54
    9
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bromley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“shot tower hobart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Situated a few kilometres form Hobart is the shot tower fun for children and adults to climb to the top up very narrow wooden staircase. The views from the top are spectacular.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“History from a dizzy height”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

In a word.'wow! Built in 1870 to produce lead musket ball shot this sandstone round tower is a wonderful structure full of significant history and a marvel of construction.
Not for the faint hearted either in 'scared of heights or 'unfit, the assent up an internal wooden spiral staircase is worth the wonderful view and feeling of accomplishment.
Watch the DVD before starting the climb. A must for history buffs.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We took the climb to the top after watching the informative video and reading about the history of the site. The view from the top was fantastic !! We rewarded ourselves with a cup of Devonshire tea and some scones in the lovely little cafe below and found this to be the best tea i'v had in Tassie!! The scones were the best I have ever had and were so beautifully light and fluffy!! Absolutely superb!! Well done and we will definitely come back for more tea and scones another time!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great view, awesome devonshire tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The view from the top of the tower is great. Can see for miles.

However if you do visit then throughly recommend that you also go down the stairs to the cafe and have the devonshire tea. The scones where excellent and we also managaed to have some great home made blackberry jam.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shot Tower also viewed

 

Been to Shot Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shot Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.