We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK place - weird business approach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Balcony Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kratie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balcony Guesthouse
Save
You added Balcony Guesthouse to your Saves list
cnr Preach Soramrit St & Street 5, Kratie, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Kratie B&B and Inns
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“OK place - weird business approach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. Room was large and clean enough, a bit grubby but for 8 dollars a night who cares. Bed was comfy and shower worked well (hot water, although its so hot we only took cold showers).
There is a nice outdoor balcony area (obviously) overlooking the river. There is restaurant and the food was good. I agree with other reviewers that the main area is dirty as is the entrance and stairway.
We were allowed to leave the bikes we rented inside the downstairs area overnight for safe keeping and the owner/manager was very friendly.
I was a bit disappointed with how they handled our inquiry about extending our stay. The manager kept saying "I'll let you know.". They had a room free but wouldn't guarantee it because the people in it MIGHT stay longer? Weird. We tried to explain we were a for sure thing, but that didn't help so we moved. Never did find out if a room opened up. It was like trying to convince them to take our business.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    42
    25
    11
    22
See reviews for
8
61
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed with my wife one night, I had quick and polite responses to my e-mails to book a double room with air-con upstairs and private bathroom. We arrived early in the morning, there was nobody at the reception so we had to wander around for a while to find someone for check-in. The room was available but not ready yet (but we expected that), but we could quickly change for our long day tour, leaving our bags locked in it. The room was spacious and comfortable, though spartan in furniture, the air-con working properly, good shower as well, the bathroom needed some more cleaning but it was ok.
The staff did not speak great English, but it was enough for us.
Overall a reasonable experience for the price we paid for, 13$/night, the only unpleasant event being check-out when we handed over a 20$ note and got back a 5$ ... I had to show my e-mail where the price was clearly written (13$) and we quickly had those 2 more bucks.

Room Tip: Go upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Positives - it's in a good position and easy walking distance from where the bus stops (but so are most places to stay in Kratie), I got quick and polite responses to my emails booking a room and enquiring about directions, and it's quite cheap.
Negatives - the whole place is really dirty particularly the shared bathroom and upstairs eating/bar area, the staff spoke pretty poor English and there was something wrong with the electrical wiring in our room so we had an extension cord that powered the fan and dim light in the corner.
We had booked for 2 nights but only stayed 1 night and moved down the road where we were very happy to pay a bit more but stay in a clean, secure and comfortable room. There is a real air of complacency about the place - it felt as if the people running it don't give a damn. Definitely wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kratie, Cambodia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I booked a single fan room here for three nights. All was confirmed by email with a very polite and quick response. They even said they would meet me at the bus stop. On arrival no one at the bus stop, no big deal. Walked to the hotel and was told there was no room, even though he had my name written in the reservation book. So, I can't comment on the rooms. But obviously the service leaves something to be desire. They did send me next door, which cost the same price, but is pretty dirty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

When reviewing this guesthouse I needed to place things in context. We paid $12 per night for a room with Aircon, and a private bathroom. We stayed there for 2 nights. The room was clean, and the bed comfortable. The shower is warm and the water pressure ok. The only annoying factor was that they had no soap and we had none left. Had to do a quick walk to the town to buy a bar.

The food is pleasant – the kitchen is clean and you should not get sick from eating there.

Breakfast id excellent and the bread great. We had breakfast and 2 dinners there. Portions on the large side. They will do your laundry for around a $1 if you need. They have a resident Tuk-Tuk which we used to go to the Dolphins. They charge $15 – which is on the steep side. If you want a cheaper rate then go into the town and one of the drivers will take you to the dolphins. It cost around $10 per person to be taken to see the dolphins – a great ride. We booked a private tour with Pride of Cambodia – excellent treat yourself!
I would stay here again – the room is clean, the food pleasant , the position fabulous and close to the town if you want to walk around. Remember to bring your own soap. Free WiFi is provided.

Room Tip: Stay in an pstairs room. pay the extra for your own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

First appearances ok if a bit dirty around the edges. Room on ground floor. Ate at their restaurant that evening, food good but our friends waited 1 1/2 hrs for theirs. Now the bad part - I woke up at 4.30 am to see one of our bags in the air on the end of a stick making its way to the window. I grabbed it before it got close enough to the window for anything to be taken. I understand from subsequent conversations thefts from this room have happened before. The theives know how to unlock the window from the outside, and how to fix the bamboo screen up out of their way. There are bars on the windows so they just take any cash or small items from the bags. Glad I'm a light sleeper! The manager simply said that things like this happen in Cambodia all the time and we would now learn to be more careful in future.... I disagree that this is common as this was our first problem in over 3 wks in the country. We moved to a different guesthouse as soon as we could!

Room Tip: Do NOT stay on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our room was big and clean, which is a lot for the $6 the room cost! The shared bathroom was unfortunately not clean, but it didn't really matter for one night. Then again, what can you ask for when you pay that kind of prices?! Food was good, staff nice and helpful, and we spent a great evening on the balcony facing the Mekong River, chatting with other guests. A nice experience

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balcony Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony Guesthouse

Address: cnr Preach Soramrit St & Street 5, Kratie, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kratie Province > Kratie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kratie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Balcony Guesthouse Hotel Kratie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balcony Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.