We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful trip to Staffa!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Cruises

Scenic Cruises
Tigh an Tobair, Flodabay HS3 3HA, Scotland
01859 530310
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Flodabay
Chatham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful trip to Staffa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We took a boat ride to Staffa which was delightful. Some of our group visited Fingal's Cave while others walked via a stairway up to the meadows on top of the island where we could get remarkably close to the puffins nesting on the cliffs. Time on the island was probably too short to really do both hikes unless you hurried, but, no matter which one people chose, the hike was extremely enjoyable. Staffa is close to Iona, and, although we only saw Iona from a distance, I imagine there's a boat ride that might include both islands, but I'm not sure about that.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    0
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“An excellent way to spend an afternoon in a beautiful area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have had several trips along this wonderful coastline with Hamish in the past few years. Whatever the weather, we have had a great time. Hamish is a lovely, friendly and very knowledgeable local man, never short of stories about the people and history of South Harris. With the price of fuel nowadays, and things like insurance, we think it is jolly good value to be in this very special part of this world where you can forget about the troubles of the world. Your previous reviewer should come down to Cumbria, where prices for everything are completely over the top. £4 minimum car parking for 2 hours!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Bit pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A bit steep at a tenner each for a one hour trip down the Loch and back. Overpriced drinks (£4 for a bottle of beer) and packed out seats. Didn't help that it was freezing cold that day, might be more fun when it's warmer :-)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudersberg, Deutschland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An experience for a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We joined a boat trip with Scenic Cruises at the beginning of July 2011. The weather was brilliant and our hosts highly recommended a boat trip with Mr. Hamish Taylor, who is an excellent captain. The jetty, where the tours start, is quite next to the main road in Flodabay. We spent more than 4 hours on the boat and explored the south coast of Harris. It was very interesting to learn about the geology and the history of that area. The captain even steered the boat into caves, showed us nesting birds and explained a lot about the use of sea weed. Later on, the men were fishing and caught a lot of mackerel and pollack. We also saw common seals and dolphins. It was the most beautiful day of our entire holiday on the Outer Hebrides. I really loved it and I will remember this fantastic trip for a long time.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scenic Cruises also viewed

Leverburgh, Isle of Harris

Been to Scenic Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scenic Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.