We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Chateau Wood!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Woods

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chateau Woods to your Saves list
Chateau Woods
Sentinal Rock Estates | Kalpetta, Chooralmala 673 121, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chooralmala
Kuwait
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Chateau Wood!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I and my wife stayed 2 wonderful nights, in Chateau Wood Wayanad, staying at this lovely hotel. It is absolutely perfect, so close to everything, but quiet and tranquil inside. The staff members are charming and helpful. The room was lovely, not massive but perfectly adequate. The bathroom was sparklingly clean, excellent food and the bed was the comfiest we have ever slept in (even comfier than our one at home!). We are planning to have another occasion to visit once again. A gem of a place!
Overall a great experience I strongly recommend this resort for those who planning trip to Wayanad.
All the Best!!

Room Tip: The presidential family Suite comes with a private terrace facing the Tea plantations along with a P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau Woods W, Manager at Chateau Woods, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your fantastic review on Tripadvisor, followed by your recent visit at Chateau Woods Wayanad. We are so happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share your words with my entire team.
I am looking forward to your next visit at your private address in Wayanad.
Warm regards,
Muhammedali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    26
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
38
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We started off from Bangalore at 5am on a breezy Monday morning and after couple of stops at Mysore & Gundlupet we entered a world of infinite Tea plantations. Even more magical was the arrival at Chateau Woods, in Chooralmala - a quaint town near Meppadi, Kalpetta.

Luckily for us we drifted along an incorrect road which has an amazing view of the property standing majestically among the plantations. The surrounding view of awe-inspiring mountains was even more breathtaking.

After a few photo opportunities we met Mr. Ali who guided us back to this beautiful Villa – Resort that left us speechless all over again.

At the Resort we received a warm welcome and prompt room transfer by Mr. Ali & his supporter Mr. Aseeb. We chose the luxury room as we are a small family of 3 (including a boisterous 3 years old who thoroughly enjoyed every moment of her stay here).

The entire 3 nights stay there, was as comfortable as we experience at our own home.
The food served was from a fixed menu but exceptionally tasty and we did not ask for a change as we enjoyed the Kerala cuisine. It included delicious preparations from both veg & non-veg options.

The property is well equipped with basics such as warm water for your bath, power back-up & entertainment such as cable TV, Pool Table, Indoor Games & PS3 games (important especially if you travel during off season).

We had occasional rain showers but the location of the property with breathtaking views did not deter our holiday mood. During these times we enjoyed ourselves munching on endless snacks with coffee & indoor activities.

For the adventure side of ours, Mr. Ali took us on a guided tour (at a nominal rate on hired Jeep) to the unexplored surroundings of Chooralmala which included waterfalls, valleys & spectacular mountain views from various scenic points. On request he even arranged a Tea factory trip which provided us amazing facts on how tea is made.

Our little one especially, enjoyed visiting the in house animal farm which had many rabbits, Hens, Roosters, Ducks, Turkeys, Goats & various other birds, but was happy the most after catching a fish in their pond.

I would definitely recommend this place to all those who enjoy travelling on an offbeat road but still want their luxury around.

Thank you Mr. Safaraz, for coordinating our journey!
And a big THANK You to Mr. Ali, Mr. Aseeb & the supporting staff of Chateau Woods to make this trip of ours a memorable one.

It’s because of your warm & humble attitude we will definitely be back for more.

Room Tip: Every Room is aesthetically made as per your requirement. The Cliff Villa is too Romantic with brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau Woods W, Manager at Chateau Woods, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Ms. Saviona,

Thank you very much for your exceptional review.
I was extremely pleased to read you enjoyed your stay to such extent, as our main aim is to always provide our guests with the utmost level of service.
I am very happy to know that little Amanya enjoyed our animal farm and the activities very much.
I will make sure to personally thank Aseeb and entire Chateau Woods team for the excellent service they have provided you with during your stay.
I am very happy to read you will be back soon to Chateau Woods.

Best Regards,
Muhammedali
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calicut, Kerala, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Had been there with bunch of my friends, honestly this is one of the best place i have ever been. first and foremost the drive to the particular destination..... you will feel like floating through the tea plantation. secondly the hospitality, Manager Mohammed ali and Azeem were never felt like a strangers since the moment we step in. though there were other guests around they never even forgot to welcome us with a pleasant smile on their face, I thank both of them. looking at the interior it is completely a contemporary. contemporary close to nature. it has lot of activities like cycling, fishing, BBQ, pool board, caroms board, playstation for kids, soccer, badminton, in short you don't get time to get out of the property..... there is nice water falls if you drive a bit from the property....... rooms were extremely satisfying..... view from the rooms will make you forget your hectic urban life......... one thing i can say that "PEACE OF MIND IS GUARANTEED"......... I would congratulate the team who made this happen. wish to be there again n again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau Woods W, Manager at Chateau Woods, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review and fantastic recommendation to fellow Tripadvisor travelers.

I was extremely pleased to read you enjoyed your stay to such extent especially the service and facilities we offer, as well as our activities and our private waterfalls.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Chateau Woods Wayanad

Warm regards,
Muhammedali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I had gone to this place with my parents, wife and 2 kids. We had a great experince, from the time we came in till we left. Mr. Mohammed Ali and his staff especially Aseem took great care of us. All our needs were catered to...food, acco, extra needs of my parents. they even took us to a waterfall which cannot be accessed by anyone as it is through a private estate. they had nice all terrain cycles which we used to go around the tea estates right up till the edge of the forest. Once you reach there there is no need to go out. just the right place to go for anyone. Special thanks to Mohmmed and Aseem

Room Tip: All rooms are having great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau Woods W, Manager at Chateau Woods, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with Chateau woods, and for your very precise post on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that we made your stay pleasant and memorable. Our staffs were thrilled to hear you say that.. Thank you so much for that .And it was great pleasure serving you and your parents. Please do recommend and visit chateau woods again.

Warm Regards,
Muhammedali
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Surprisingly comfortable, this place set in the midst of tea estates pampers you with its amneties - ideal for a joint family outing or friends getting together for a weekend.

The staff are courteous and ever ready to help in treks or campfire nights or a refreshing dip in the private waterfall (don't miss this).

The chef Aziz produces the best home cooked local and chinese dishes. I vote for the local nadan beef. Even the Sambar was amazing.

Had to leave on monday - sadly. But its only a 7 hour drive from Blore - so we'll probably be back. All 16 of us.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau Woods W, Manager at Chateau Woods, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Mr. Sujith,

Thank you for staying with us at Chateau Woods Wayanad and for recommending us. We are glad that you liked the food and the service. Chef Aziz was more than happy to hear your valuable comments. We are going to have more activities at private waterfalls for coming season. We hope you will be able to come once again and spend more time with us. We look forward to seeing you again. Meantime take care.

Warm regards,
Muhammedali
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

An excellent place in an unhabitated place. Memorable place and the location was awesome. Picturestic views all around the place. spending time there was just like a home away from home.
Service was excellent under the management of Mr.Ali.
Planning to have another occasion to visit once again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau Woods W, Manager at Chateau Woods, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Mr. Murali,
Thank you for staying with Chateau woods wayanad. Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Chateau Woods.We would glad to inform you that we are opening our spa for coming season.We are delighted to know that you and your family had enjoyed your overall experience at the resort and truly hope to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.Thank you once again for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor which is greatly appreciated.
Warm regards,
Muhammedali
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calicut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We where making some memorable Days out here.....!!!!
Excellent service of staffs....
Perfect climate....
We really dint know how the days passed ....
The only sad thing was the power failure... chilling climate Outside was Quite helpful...
The natural pool , Farm house , And especially the View from the villa under construction is awesome.... we prefer a stay at the newly constructed villa.....
An awesome place to visit .....!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Woods

Address: Sentinal Rock Estates | Kalpetta, Chooralmala 673 121, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Chooralmala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chooralmala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau Woods is the winner of the Travellers Choice award 2014, Rated No.1 Resort/Hotel in Wayanad and #8 small/boutique hotel in India. We invite you to savour the unique plantation estate experience with homely food and service, with a fine touch of Luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Woods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.