We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Venue - First Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lion Quays

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lion Quays to your Saves list
Lion Quays
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weston Rhyn SY11 3EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weston Rhyn
Wrexham
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wedding Venue - First Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Having arranged to hold daughters wedding at the venue, we really appreciated the standard of service and the effort made for our family and guests special day. The organisaion was first class, setting is superb and we all had a wonderful time.
Many of the guests stayed at the hotel. Excellent well furbished rooms - we had a balcony overlooking the canel. I was particulary impressed by the service delivered by the reception staff - which was excellent when you consider the turnaround of guests at the venue.
Thank you for making our day so special .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    247
    147
    57
    32
See reviews for
92
372
22
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1night at the Lion Quay Hotel on 3rd May as I was attending a wedding at the venue the next day.  On checking in, the reception staff were very helpful and informative and they gave me a courtesy call soon after I had settled in to check if I was happy with my room, which was excellent customer service.  My room was large, spotlessly clean with a huge TV, coffee/tea, iron & ironing board and a fab hairdryer, I also had a balcony overlooking the canal and countryside views.  The bed was huge and extremely comfortable.  I dined at the Waterside Restaurant on Friday evening with relatives, the restaurant was busy therefore I would recommend pre-booking on a weekend. The food was excellent, well presented large portions and good value for money.  There was a great atmosphere in the restaurant and bar and the staff were very attentive, pleasant and extremely helpful.  For breakfast there was a huge choice to suit all tastes from the cold and hot buffet and the waiting on staff were very attentive.  

The wedding was wonderful from the ceremony held in the huge Waterside Conservatory to the reception that followed for 80 guests.  All the staff worked extremely hard and fast to ensure the food was served piping hot - it was faultless. There is also a Spa, Gym, Hairdressers and Swimming Pool on site which guests are able to use.  I would highly recommend this hotel and restaurant.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Didn't stay, just ate at a family gathering.

Nice setting but slow service even though they had our choices weeks in advance. Starter soup was just warm, main course, veg risotto lovely but not enough of it, fish and chips good, but not worth £12! Staff offered bread for those in our party who didn't have starters and were hungry during the wait for mains, it never arrived. Puds disappointing, Eaton Mess, don't bother, a load of cream in a brandy snap bowl, no fruit or meringue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

After 'living' at the hotel twice a week for 10 months while working on a contract a few years ago stopped on way through to Ruthin in Wales for lunch. Down side was hubby found out I wasn't exactly slumming it as it is a lovely hotel with great spa and walks around the area are stunning.

Lunch was nice, bit slow but not many staff on the bar area and the waiter/barman that was on was very friendly and helpful. Average price but didn't go hungry thats for sure.

Nice to see Eugene the resident peacock still strutting around and letting himself be heard as well.

Would defninitely stop there again for business or leisure.

Room Tip: If you do stop ask for one of the top corner rooms at the back as views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend organised a trip here as a surprise for my birthday, it was amazing. We had full use of the spa, the staff were excellent giving us a tour if the spa and made us feel at ease. It was so relaxing, the spa is a definite recommendation, the jacuzzi was brilliant!! We had lunch in the waterside restaurant, the food was delicious. I had a cheese sandwich which came with thin fries....yummy!!! My boyfriend had toasted ciabatta and he polished his off nicely. On the evening we had dinner in the waterside restaurant and service was brill, it was too overpowering but there were always staff around, best part was the dessert; we had a chocolate fondue which had chopped strawberries and bananas with homemade chocolate fudge, it was too due for! Overall brilliant experience and you definitely recommend and go again!!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanbedr, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Arrived early and allocated a room. Everything good up till then, after a brilliant day with the wedding, it was bed then shower and bath time. No hot water the following morning, both of us ran the hot tap for 10 mins, water tepid. Down for breakfast and complain to reception. Said they would check while we had breakfast. The set up for breakfast was good, but had to find a waitress to ask for tea, then to ask for tea spoons!. Plenty of variety of food, but the black pudding was only barely warm also the scrambled egg. Back to reception, told that they had checked the water and seems ok with the boiler working, back to the room, still the same, No Hot Water.
Time to leave! Go home for a shower.

Room Tip: Check you have hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed two nights for a wedding. The rooms are very nice, beds are comfy. Breakfast is great with such a huge selection. Most of all staff are very helpful and polite. You get use of Country Club when you stay so kids thoroughly enjoyed going swimming and they provide towels too. Can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lion Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Quays

Address: Weston Rhyn SY11 3EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Weston Rhyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weston Rhyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lion Quays 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lion Quays is situated just north of Oswestry, between Wrexham and Shrewsbury, on the picturesque banks of the Llangollen Canal, just a short walk from the UNESCO World Heritage Site that runs along the canal from the Chirk Aquaduct to the Horseshoe Falls in Llangollen. With 82 rooms including a bridal suite and family rooms. Lion Quays has something for everyone. We offer all the comfort and convenience you would expect from a 4 star hotel as well as full access to our Country Club - 25 m swimming pool and poolside jacuzzi, steam room and sauna for all hotel guests. You will also discover our award winning 5 bubble Spa with thermal suite and snow cave. Spa facilities and treatments can be booked on their own or with a stay in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lion Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Quays Oswestry

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lion Quays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.