We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lazyday Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fishwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lazyday Cottages
Save
You added Lazyday Cottages to your Saves list
West Fishwick, Fishwick TD15 1XQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Cockburnspath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Flawless!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Thank you very much Debra and Richard for a wonderful stay at Lazyday Cottages! The whole experience was absolutely flawless and extremely enjoyable. The cabins are first class in every respect with lovely interiors and are situated in a quiet part of the world. Attention to detail is also a clear aspect which has been addressed with a welcoming card, lovely flowers, tea,coffee, milk,biscuits, sweets, fruit and general quality of the accessories and utensils in the cabin. Even having the lights on and table set for dinner on arrival all adds to the welcoming nature of the experience as whole and doesn't go unnoticed!
Now I must say that the hot tub was pretty epic! I understand that some people may be disappointed that it is not undercover due to Scotland's unpredictable weather. However by no means does this compromise the experience- a mad dash out in horizontal rain at 2am is worth the laugh and excitement, and the feeling of getting into a toasty hot tub and gazing at the starry night sky is to die for! Once we finally managed to prise ourselves from the cabin we both came away feeling relaxed and at ease.
Thank you again Debra and Richard for such a warm welcome and a fantastic experience which has created some fond memories for us to look back on. We hope to be back again!

Katie

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Lazyday Cottages, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Hi there
just to firstly apologies for not responding sooner!

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, it really is appreciated.

Your comments mean so much to us and we are pleased that you left relaxed and refreshed. We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my wife booked a week at lazyday cottages for our honeymoon and we couldn't have made a better choice.
We stayed in the strathisla cottage, which was perfect for our needs. It has a sauna a very roomy hot tub as well as top end fixtures and fittings throughout.
Richard and Debra, the owners, made us feel very welcome and managed to strike the perfect balance between making sure you're not on your own if you need help but leaving you alone enough so as you can enjoy your holiday.
One night that will live with us forever occurred when we were sat in the hot tub, on a very clear night, watching a meteor shower. A truly fantastic and worthwhile place to visit and stay.
We can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Lazyday Cottages, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hi there
just to say thank you very much for taking the time to post a review, it is much appreciated. I have to agree that the stars are just stunning!
Take care and we look forward to seeing you again in the future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Thank you Debra and Richard for yet again another wonderful stay.

Beautiful and relaxing location with first class amenities and perfect housekeeping in the lodge. Flowers, tea and coffee, chocolates much appreciated.

Future guests will not be disappointed with the quality and standard of accommodation. You can be guaranteed to arrive at Lazydays and immediately feel your worries and stresses disappear as you relax in either the hot tub, sun lounger or the comfortable large sofa. The large expanse of lawn and distance between your lodge and that of the two neighbouring lodges ensures complete privacy.

Already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Lazyday Cottages, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi there
just to say, thank you very much for taking the time to review Lazyday Cottages, it really is much appreciated.

Hope to see you again in the future

Regards
Richard & Debra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east yorkshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

A week in one of these log cabins to attend the excellent Paxton House chamber music festival, it's just 5 minutes away from Paxton. Good hot tub, but the weather was so hot we didn't use the sauna. Everything you might want is provided along with a warm welcome. The only things I would like to add are black-out blinds and summer weight bedding.
There are well regarded pubs nearby at Allanton and Swinton and basic shopping in Chirnside if you don't want to go to Berwick. Paxton House and its grounds are lovely. The salmon netting on the Tweed at Paxton shouldn't be missed - times dependent on the tides.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Lazyday Cottages, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi there
sorry for the delay in responding to your review.
Thank you for taking the time to comment, it really is appreciated.
The comments made have been noted and are very useful to us to continuously improve our guests experience at Lazyday Cottages.

Kind Regards

Richard & Debra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loanhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous weekend away with 3 of my best friends. We had the most fantastic time in the most amazing, luxurious log cabin. Deborah and Richard were wonderful hosts and the little extra personal touches they added made our weekend even more special. Can't thank them enough. We will definitely be returning in the near future for more relaxing

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Lazyday Cottages, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hi there

It was a pleasure to meet you all! thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to seeing you all again in the future

Kind Regards

Richard & Debra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just had a week's stay at lazy day's. Absolutely fantastic ! Richard and Debra were perfect hosts and made us feel like part of the family. My 12 year old son loved it! The lodge was spotlessly clean, there were lots of extra touches that you dont get anywhere else, fresh milk, fresh flowers, dvds, sweets.

The lodge was bright, spacious with top class fixtures and fittings, lovely thick white towels, bathrobes and gorgeous toiletries. The hot tub was so relaxing and well used ! The sauna was easy to set so my husband tells me, I was too busy relaxing ! We enjoyed using the sauna - so relaxing.


We have been on a number of lodge holidays over the year's but lazydays is by far the best we have experienced.

The outside decking area is huge, the sun loungers a welcome bonus, we even had sunshine !
We wish we'd booked 2 weeks. We can't wait to go back and just want to say a big thank you to Richard and Debra for making our stay so memorable, and an extra thank you from jake for making him feel so welcome.Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Lazyday Cottages, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hi there Lesley

thank you so much for the brilliant review.
It was a pleasure to meet you all, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
All the best for the new school!!

Kind Regards

Richard & Debra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Spent two at lazy days, the lodges are time die for, the lodges are very spacious and luxurious, hot tub and sauna were great, didn't want to leave. The surroundings are so peaceful, you would have to visit here to understand every details, just total perfection. I will bring back before the year I out..... Wee note to Debra and Richard go advertising on more sites I.e cottages for you, lodges with hot tubs. No one can understand how amazing these lodges are, all other lodges I've Been in are gyproc throughout, lazy days are totally log cabins throughout with amazing attention to details!!!!! 10********** Debra and Richard are great people too at hand when you need them xxx. Katie Glasgow

Room Tip: Just book it, you will not fault in anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Owner at Lazyday Cottages, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Good afternoon Katie

thank you so much for your lovely comments. Richard & I are looking forward to seeing you all again in September.
keep the ideas coming, your feed back is really appreciated

Richard & Debra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lazyday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazyday Cottages

Address: West Fishwick, Fishwick TD15 1XQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Fishwick
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Fishwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lazyday Cottages offers three luxury log cabins for self-catering accommodation in the Scottish Borders, between Berwick-upon-Tweed and Kelso. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazyday Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.