We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful weekend away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oak House Bed and Breakfast

Oak House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gislingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oak House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Oak House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Mill Street, Gislingham, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Gislingham B&B and Inns
Cobham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We had a wonderful few days in this charming 15th century farm house, lovingly restored by its owners, Kathy and Tom, who were exceptionally welcoming. We stayed in the large master guestroom which had an opulent ensuite bathroom and a personal lounge area. Delightful stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

I spent 3 wonderful days working on my MSc dissertation. I was lent a bright attic study room, complete with a desk with a view, internet access and endless refreshments which enabled me to finish my work on time and yet feel relaxed. My bedroom was the perfect size and position and I slept like a log!. Kathy provided me with a cooked breakfast, sandwiches and an evening meal so I did not need to worry about anything other than my work. I would thoroughly recommend this to any writer, artist or student, looking for a peaceful yet comfy hideaway, with fantastic hospitality and an inspirational environment.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

This B and B was a great find. Its a wonderfully restored old house full of stylish and quirky features. At the same time it has a very comfortable and homely feel, and the owners were very welcoming and obviously enjoy having guests in their home. Yummy and generous breakfast. Weather good so really enjoyed relaxing in the garden and exploring the depths of rural Suffolk with its pretty lanes, great walks, fantastic old churches, and market towns to explore. Tom and Cathy directed us to a great local river swimming spot and supplied towels (for the hardy in our party!)

Room Tip: We were a party of 4 and both doubles were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Arrived in the dark to this wonderfully atmospheric old house and were warmly welcomed by Cathy and Tom. The rooms are very comfortable and have been imaginatively decorated by Cathy who clearly has a keen eye for design. In the morning we were able to fully appreciate the grounds and of course the chickens who kindly provided us with our breakfast! The house is situated in a rural area that has the feel of the traditional 'olde' England of pretty countryside and historic buildings, such as little village churches. A pub lunch followed with a walk by the sea (a short drive away) completed a really relaxing and enjoyable weekend break.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed at Oak House after a particularly tiring week at work - we arrived to the warm welcome of Kathy and Tom along with the chickens! It's a very peaceful place, the rooms are great and we spent hours looking up at the ceiling and the beams imagining all the lives that had run their course in this amazing old house. The house is fascinating, it's a bit like a living museum of the building's history, with an incredible collection of vintage furniture that gives a really unusual feel to the house. If you like a bit of shabby chic and a warm welcome along with luxurious but simple facilities, then this is for you. Also if you like a free range egg, Kathy will cook you breakfast with eggs fresh from the chickens! A real find. The local walks were lovely too, gentle countryside with peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for the Big Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

We spent a delightful weekend here. The house has a lot of character and the room we stayed in was very well appointed. Very comfortable bed and an enormous private bathroom. The breakfast room was light an cheerful in the morning, and the eggs came from the owners' chickens. We were made to feel very welcome by the owners. The house itself is a real period piece, well restored but in character, and with a large garden.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oak House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Mill Street, Gislingham, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Gislingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gislingham
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak House Bed and Breakfast offers a unique b&b experience in a 15th-century timber frame house in rural Suffolk. Luxurious bed, Egyptian cotton bedding, flatscreen TV, home-cooked food and a warm welcome. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.