We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique floating experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Mahindra Ashtamudi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Club Mahindra Ashtamudi to your Saves list
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
Chavara South, Thekkumbhagam 691584, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thekkumbhagam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“unique floating experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Staying in a floating cottage with a breathtaking view of the lake is just great. it makes your day every time you come out to the balcony and sit out for a cup of coffee. The sound of the water splashing against the wooden cottage is extremely soothing. The cottage is spacious enough and is entirely made of wood. Yes, at times there is some wierd smell of the standing water, but its well contained. You also have the unique chance of fishing right from the balcony!

The resort itself had a lovely property. The swimming pool is nice. The activity centre organises for magic shows, tambola and other fun events. There is carrom and badminton to keep you busy.

The resort, because its on the shore of the lake, its away from any other establishment. You have to rely on the resort for all your need for food/drinks etc. Its best if you want to carry some cold drinks, chips etc for the room.

The food is nice, though vegetarian can do with some more variety. We loved our stay.

Room Tip: Floating cottages provide a unique experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Ashtamudi, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi Pratik,

We are really glad to have received your feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the various activities at the resort and we certain that our staff at Ashtamudi will be delighted to receive your compliments. Additionally, the points you have raised have been duly noted and will be shared with the resort management. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at Club Mahindra Resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    149
    24
    8
    7
See reviews for
216
73
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed for a week holiday & our stay was great in floating cottage . Good food & peaceful stay with great ambience . u can also take houseboat day out & enjoy ferry at backwater from outside agency. The cabs are expensive in hotel , but there is a public boat ferry which comes out side the hotel & takes you to kollam which is very cheap . Hotel is in interior & just one general store outside hotel for small grocery as inside hotel it would be very expensive avoid normal water & stick to bislery bottled water only.
Few feedback was they do not have Do Not Disturb sign. which i feel hotel should incorporate for guest privacy . And another amazing part was the day eve before our check out two housekeeping staff came in & requested us if we can shift to another 5star hotel in kollam as they are short in rooms & some issue as other guests are refusing to stay else where so they were asking guests if they could accomodate other guest .we were suprised at this attitude first time in my life we ever saw anywhere

Room Tip: try floating cottage 7723 the last corner one .. great experience to get full view and feel at bliss
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Ashtamudi, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi Malik,

Thank you for your appreciation and the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. We work hard to ensure that all our members have a pleasant experience and glad that our staff were able to ensure the same. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I visited the Club Mahindra Ashtamudi resort in November 2012. I am one of the earliest Club Mahindra members and visited the resort with my wife, son and parents. Despite booking a few months in advance, I could not get the Floating Rooms despite owning time share in the most premium colour.

However, what shocked me and my family, was the incredible difference in quality between the Floating rooms and the Hotel Rooms of which we had booked two. The Hotel rooms were dark, dingy, badly in need of renovation and we were greeted with the kind of musty smell that characterises the poor quality lodgings. Everything about the room was less than 3 star and I was left wondering at the audacity of Club Mahindra to offer these to their members.

Definitely, the hotel rooms of this resort are not patch on what is on offer at Goa, Coorg and other destinations. I was left fuming because this was my annual vacation with my parents and I did not plan to provide them with poor quality accommodation. Many of the resort crew, who had earlier worked in other Club Mahindra resorts, agreed with my view (in private). My family and I beat a quick retreat to Citrus Retreats Alleppy, where the quality of accommodation was more in tune with the 5 star quality that we expected.

The hotel rooms have been inherited from a resort that Club Mahindra bought but they are not renovated. Yet they have the audacity to offer them to their members. My recommendation would be to AVOID this resort unless one is lucky to get reservations for the floating rooms.

Room Tip: Choose the Floating Rooms, else give the resort a skip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Ashtamudi, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our resort. We are disappointed that your stay was not to your liking. Your feedback is valuable to us and we will start work on your concerns with immediate effect. It would be great if we could get in touch with you and clarify some of the nuances of the membership. Please fill in your details here http://is.gd/CMListening and we will get back to you soon. Hope to see you at a Club Mahindra resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This gorgeous backwater retreat is what attracted me to the Club Mahindra membership. The serene pictures of this property is displayed everywhere, including the Club Mahindra Envelopes. A visit there between 17th to 20th August 2012 reassured me that I am in good company.

An early morning flight from Kolkata to Trivandrum, ensured that we were at Kovallum before noon. Tripadvisor recommendations took us to Greenshore Apartment, which is near the Lighthouse. This area is quite secluded and frequented by foreigners. There are some good food joints, just beside the beach. We made a day trip to Kanyakumari, and was ready for our visit to Asthamudi.

Club Mahindra Asthamudi welcomed us to our floating cottage - beautifully set, jutting into the lake. It's about 2 hours drive from Kovallum. A Comrat posed for a shot, as we opened the door to our balcony. A sumptuous lunch at the floating restaurant added to the "feel-good" factor - part of the fun dining experience. Battery-operated cars in the campus ensured a pollution-free environment.

A leisure trip on the lake, with Chinese fishing nets dotting the shore, took us to a nearby village for a nature walk. Our guide displayed his skills with an impromptu parrot made from palm leaf.

There was a Kathakali recital in the evening on the occasion of Onam, and we got to interact with the dancer after the performance, which was great.

The staff was very efficient. Room service was prompt. Our toilet had an overflow problem in the night, and a sump pump was brought to suck out the choking objects, and get the thing in order by 10 pm! Thanks.

There are a few places to go around, and people make day trips to Kovallam and Kanyakumari.

But it's really a place to destress, watching the birds, the occasional boat and float your blues away! God's own country indeed.

Room Tip: 1BR Floating Cottages are the pick of the lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Ashtamudi, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hi Ashita,

We are really glad to have received your feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We are certain the staff at Ashtamudi will be delighted to receive your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at Club Mahindra Resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The resort is really clean and well maintained with beautiful gardens
The view from the floating cottage was amazing and I had a great time feeding bread crumbs to tiny fish from my balcony
We stayed there for my mother's b'day in a floating cottage and the staff made her feel really special by decorating the room and providing us with a free cake.
I was keeping unwell during my stay and they took care to make special food for me.
They have nice back water cruises

The negatives:
We went in October and it was terribly hot
Limited amount of activities and places to visit in Ashtamudi
Too many insects and lizards (we had to change rooms cos of that)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Ashtamudi, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hi Priyanka,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Ashtamudi. We are glad you liked the view from your cottages. We are certain that our resort staff will be delighted to receive your compliments. Your feedback is valuable to us and we will start work on your concerns with immediate effect. Hope to see you at a Club Mahindra resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Club Mahindra Ashtamudi resort is must visit if you really want to detox your body. The place is so peaceful and calm you feel like out of the world. The beauty of floating cottages added spice to the happiness. First time ever did the breakfast on the floating hotel which will be life long memory. Kids can really enjoy the swimming pool and top of that fishing in the vast pond.
By paying few hundred bucks you can go to visit the Chinese net and do fishing by yourself!!!!!!
Must visit if you want to enjoy back waters.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Ashtamudi, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi,

We are really glad to have received your feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We are certain the staff at Ashtamudi will be delighted to receive your compliment. We are really glad you enjoyed the tranquility, the Ashtamudi resort offered. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at Club Mahindra Resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The resort is located right on the banks of Ashtamudi lake with spectacular view. Though a bit expensive, you need to try the floating cottages. We stayed in the Studio for a night and floating cottage for a night. The experience was really good. The early morning and evening views of the lake from the floating cottage was very soothing. I definitely recommend it for Couples and honey mooners. We haven't tried the restaurant much, just had a breakfast there, was good. only problem with the resort is it is 6 KM away from the main road and into the interior, very difficult to find the resort as the signage is not very good. The boat ride on the lake is very good. If you go with the resort activity center, it is very expensive. There is a government run boat jetty right next to the resort from where the passenger boats run periodically with connectivity to nearby village and Kollam town. For a two hour ride it will cost less than ten rupees per person.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Ashtamudi, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hi,

We are really glad to have received your feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We are certain the staff at Ashtamudi will be delighted to receive your compliment. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at Club Mahindra Resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Mahindra Ashtamudi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Ashtamudi

Address: Chavara South, Thekkumbhagam 691584, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thekkumbhagam
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thekkumbhagam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Club Mahindra Ashtamudi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Backwater Retreat Ashtamudi Hotel Kollam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Mahindra Ashtamudi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.