We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location - warm stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Mahindra Ashtamudi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Club Mahindra Ashtamudi to your Saves list
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
Chavara South, Thekkumbhagam 691584, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thekkumbhagam
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Awesome location - warm stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was a family holiday for us [4 adults and 1 infant]. For the benefit of future travelers, here is my review in point format -

Location & Rooms - Out of the world. The lake is beautiful and every room faces the lake. We stayed in the floating cottages for 2 nights and 1 night in the hotel unit. The view from the floating cottages is breathtaking.

Food - Spicy, at times oily. The buffet is good with multiple options. But I must mention that as we had an infant the chef made sure we get the right baby food. They prepared mashed vegetables, soups, khichdi & rice - specially for my son.

Don't miss Coconut water and special evening snacks that you will find at the boat ride point.

Activities - There is an activity center, the older kids will enjoy it. Apart from that there are multiple boat ride options. Cycles are available on rent. If the water is calm then you could also do canoeing. The resort is stretched length-wise so you could walk and walk and walk. The pool is decent enough to relax and enjoy the nature. The Ayurveda Spa is also good and the masseurs are well trained.

Overall Service - Very helpful & friendly staff and always with a smile on their face. It was our anniversary and the F&B manager surprised us with a Cake. That was indeed a wonderful gesture and we really appreciate that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Ashtamudi, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Hi Mrunal,

We wish you a Happy Anniversary !

We are glad you liked the view from the rooms & enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Our staff at the resort will be delighted to receive your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Club Mahindra, Asthamudi. Hope to see you at a Club Mahindra resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    127
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
177
63
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur , India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

It was a very relaxing trip- 7 days/6 nights,5 cities,20 sightseeings, Phew. The ambience of Kerela took over us and as is said, the “land of Gods” was full of lush greenery and surrounding waters were loved by us.

We landed at the Kochi airport and Cab picked us up. This hotel was recommended to us by the travel agent ( Antilog Vacations – #1 for Kerala packages) and we felt good with them during the entire trip.

This hotel has all the services a guest may demand. The spa, Ayurvedic massages, pool, food, cottages, services… Everything was nice. It was not something extra ordinary but still, it was satisfactory.

We took a floating cottage. It was huge. I never thought of having a house on water and thoroughly enjoyed my experience. Everything is wooden on the boat. The balcony is huge and can accommodate a number of people. Loved sitting on the balcony front.

The backwaters were lovely to watch and they are spread around 3 sides of the property and the lake was also lovely. It was all very soothing for mind and did not expect anything such. So it came as a surprise and blew us up.

The food was tasty. The buffet was very reasonably ‘bigger’ and had a large variety to choose from. The restaurant is located on waters and it feels amazing to dine having the view of backwaters. One can see sea activities like fishing nets and motor boats on the go and it feels pristine. The environment feels fresh and calming.

One may book for the sunset cruise and have a trip around the sea and they also offer a motor boat ride across the inland villages located nearby.

All in all, a nice place with reasonable prices. Recommended to all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Ashtamudi, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Hi Sonia,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra, Kollam. We are glad you liked our rooms & various activities at the resort. We would love to welcome you again at any of the 40 picturesque resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Afrer our horrid stay at Tusker Trails Thekkady, we headed towards Ashtamudi in Kollam, with apprehensions about what room would await us here. At first I was allotted a room without any view & when I was told that I will not get floating cottages, I was furious & complained to the General Manager who promptly looked into the mater & shifted us to another room which offered a breathtaking view of the lake. The hotel units were very small for comfort but still worth staying. The swimming pool was superb. Since the resort was far away from main town we were forced to eat within the resort. Next morning we went for boat ride which was pretty relaxing but nowhere as good as the backwater rides of poovar which we realized later on during our trip.

The floating cottages are the proprietory of 1BR members & STU members like me can only be envious of them since the upgrade will cost me a bomb. I fail to understand as to why Club Mahindra keeps on adding more members when the existing members are denied facilities that were promised during the sales talk. No wonder this company is so profitable even in these recessionary times since they collect the entire membership in advance & keeps their treasury team busy!!!! Also why do they sell STU rooms when the best rooms are of 1BR category??? Every six months the upgrade fees will become more costly & so I fear that 5 years down the line I will be stuck with a STU membership when all rooms are only allotted to 1BR members.

Apart from this harsh reality I had a thoroughly enjoyable stay & wished that I stayed here for one extra nite to enrich my experience further.

Room Tip: If you are a 1BR member you wil surely enjoy the floating cottages others will only be jealous &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The resort is a 'poem' in itself and do not be surprised if the 'dreamer' in you continues to hover with a reverie. The breath-taking view of the lake, the tranquility of the backwaters were all in harmony with the lush-green nature. This is one of the best locales that Club Mahindra has taken up and continues to maintain. Undoubtedly, the place is calm, far from the cacophonous noise of the cities, offers an excellent spa, and makes you linger in your holiday even after you have left the place. The staff: reception, restaurant, or the housekeeping were really efficient and quick. Food was tasty, that we could see emptied containers in a jiffy. Fun Dining used to be fun (not any more). In short, it was a widespread buffet (breakfast+lunch+dinner) for a couple, which costed around 1350/-. Not anymore!! and that's sad and NO FUN!! Bring back FUN DINING!
A few things, which I noticed and provided feedback to the resort admins (on our visit in October 2010). I hope they have been taken care of. If someone here, who reads my review has a chance of going to the BackWater Retreat at Ashtamudi, please do take a look at the following aspects and let me know if the feedback has been implemented! - Thanks in advance.. :)
1. The restaurant needs to be expanded, it gets too crowded for lunch, especially.
2. The dishes at the restaurant were not clean. I mentioned this to the restaurant manager and at the reception also. The dishes have to be cleaned well and kept dry, so that the guests are not put off. We observed particles of food in the washed dishes when we went to pick up food.
3. Activities at the activity center are fewer when compared to the Munnar and Goa club Mahindra properties.
4. The food (desserts especially) can be of a wider spread. We missed the pastries and sweets that we got at the Poovar Resort. We moved to the Ashtamudi resort from the Poovar Island resort.
5. There was a slightly obnoxious smell in the bathroom in the floating cottage. This was seen from day one.
6. Finally, the staff (except for one or 2, such as the chef Rateesh. Rateesh was very receptive of our suggestions and always had a smiling face) can have a bright smile to welcome and serve the guests. :)
I think if these concerns are fixed, the Ashtamudi resort can soon be a number 1 resort. We would definitely want to go back to this resort again and soon!
Three-cheers to Club Mahindra!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here with children on one of the floating cottages. The view was great and the food was excellent. My husband had a kayak which he used several times on the lake. The children just loved the pool. Best resort we have been to so far!!!!!!!!!!

Do try the Ayurvedic massages!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

the place is very serene and away from the hustle bustle of the city. the lake in front of the resort if very calm and beautiful at night times. and as any other club mahindra resorts, this one too is maintained well. service was good too.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

One of the most beautiful and peaceful resorts from the Club Mahindra list of resorts. The water floating cottages are absolutely breathtaking - they have a balcony, which is practically on the water. The water itself is very peaceful; you can hear the sound of silence! Lovely view. Overall resort is also very nicely done and the restaurant serves very good food - with a Jain option which worked well for me.
Only caution - the non water facing rooms have NO view.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Mahindra Ashtamudi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Ashtamudi

Address: Chavara South, Thekkumbhagam 691584, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thekkumbhagam
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thekkumbhagam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Club Mahindra Ashtamudi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Backwater Retreat Ashtamudi Hotel Kollam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Mahindra Ashtamudi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.