We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives to its name 'Backwater Retreat'...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Mahindra Ashtamudi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Club Mahindra Ashtamudi to your Saves list
Club Mahindra Ashtamudi
Chavara South, Thekkumbhagam 691584, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thekkumbhagam
Coimbatore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lives to its name 'Backwater Retreat'...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

was a bit skeptical after reading the reviews posted by few members about the food issue & was looking for an alternative, but as i reached the resort i found there was no alternatives and believe me i needn't wanted an alternative as the food was simply amazing, the spread may not be as elaborate to probably their coorg or munnar resort but it certainly tasted V.Good. wonder why people were complaining so much about the food. this property very much stands to C.M standards as all the rooms are facing the Backwater, which is not in the case of their associate property, Poovar.
though there were few negatives, like the reception area was sad, a small pool & the activity center had hardly anything. went with a group of 8, so took the Floating cottage as well as Land cottages. the F Cottage was simply amazing as one can experience a mild floating feel, the land cottages are average, with decent room amenities. overall a nice experience & looking forward to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    127
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
177
63
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Nice quaint resort in the middle of nowhere.... The floating cottages were unique and nice.. I was initially worried about the food after seeing the reviews.... But to our surprise the food turned out to be very good. The buffet selection was good and there was always something which was kid friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

The resort is made at a very beautiful place right in front of Ashtamudi Lake. All the rooms face towards the lake. The rooms are very good with all the facilities in them. Room service is very quick. Food whether its breakfast, lunch or dinner is sumptuous. There are lots of varieties in the food. One can enjoy food by sitting right in front of the lake. There are boats that take for a ride in the lake which is really very enjoyable. The hotel staff is very cooperative in making arrangements and making the stay very comfortable. There is a small park in the resort very good for spending the evenings. There is a recreation room with many indoor games, magazines and movie CDs which you can bring to your room and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

The potential of the place has not been fully utilized. The resort is small in terms of area. And there is not much to do in the resort other than look at the lake and be lost in your thoughts. The food is monotonous and repetitive. Ala carte menu is not given much importance. Good things are the floating cottages. They a wonderful but it would help if took care about their up keeping. My rooms sink leaked. The glass top table had the glass broken when I checked in. Not replaced as promised. The slinding doors were precariously hanging. They might have fallen off if one was not careful. Stay for only a day or two. After that it gets bugging

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

This is our 2nd Club Mahindra (CM)vacation. The first one was Goa. CM's Goa property is excellent. Ashtamudi fades in comparison. Regardless the stay at Ashtamudi was pleasant.

The property is right on the backwaters. The property is nice. There is a children's play area, outdoor badminton court, table tennis, foosball table, etc. Every evening there is an event. When we went there was a magic show (which was excellent), housie(it rained that evening) and hoops.

We also took a boat ride to watch the sunset. We stopped at a convenient location and sipped fresh tender coconuts.

But the service needs an overhaul. The food is pricey and the spread is not much. The food is also bland and they take a long time to refill.

There is no coordination between the staff. I wanted towels for swimming and was told that they were available at the pool. At the pool the staff said that they had run out of towels. Swimming pool was closed one day because of excess chlorine. The swimming pool is also very small.

I wanted to go canoeing but the staff in charge discouraged me as he was the one in charge of the swimming pool, fishing, canoeing, pedal boat. Looked like he could mot manage everything.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

The location of the resort bang on Ashtamudi Lake is what enchants and exhilarates as soon as you reach. The accommodation consists of charming chalets and floating cottages. Most units are ideal for 2 people,although there are 2 units suitable for families of 4. Presently the units do not have kitchen facilities but they are in the process of building larger units with these facilities.

The resort provides boats and speedboats for cruising. Local boats are also available. A public ferry service to Kollam can be conveniently accessed from the jetty next to the hotel. The swimming pool is small but clean.

The local bazaar is about a 20 minutes walk , but it does not amount to much.
All in all there is not much to do around the resort. The best is to enjoy the lake and relax.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

To start with the good thing about the resort, the location on the banks of Ashtamudi backwaters is one thing which immediately attracts you and gives you a good feel. And trust me there is nothing good after this.

For someone like me one of the major things i look forward to during my holidays is good food which I completely missed here. On the day we reached our train from Bangalore was late and we reached around 4 PM. The only thing available were some Sandwich and french fries. Next thing the room service is very expensive (they charge some 22.5% extra for room service). The buffet dinner/lunch has very few choices. Even deserts which are a major attraction in buffet especially when you are paying Rs.500+taxes is almost negligible. So we decided to settle for A-la-carte, but even the options there was very limited. After waiting for a long time when the order came the taste was also not so good. The last thing was the waiters didnt have a smiling face, they looked irritated.

Next thing is the holiday activities. There are no activities in this resort other then cruises. I tried there Munroe Island cruise and it was again dissapointing. There is literally no attraction in Munroe island. Its a dirty place within nothing to see or do (please dont take this ride). The staff at holiday activity desk were however warm and nice. Good thing is they have a DVD player in all rooms. The rooms however are small, and my room was smelly when i first entered but after some room spary and all it was ok. Again they dont have a bar in this resort. There are no shops outside the resort for 1.5-2 kms. You dont even get water bottles outside, so once in you are completely dependent on these people.

The cab provided for pick and drop was good and prompt. The drivers were also nice.

Net net this place is highly avoidable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Mahindra Ashtamudi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Ashtamudi

Address: Chavara South, Thekkumbhagam 691584, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thekkumbhagam
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thekkumbhagam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Club Mahindra Ashtamudi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Backwater Retreat Ashtamudi Hotel Kollam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Mahindra Ashtamudi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.