We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maltkiln House

Maltkiln House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Urra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maltkiln House
Save
You added Maltkiln House to your Saves list
Urra, North York Moors National Park TS9 7HZ , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Urra B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We had another very warm welcome at Maltkiln House. This is the third time I have walked the Coast to Coast, and Maltkiln House is the only place we have stopped on all three trips. It is very peaceful, lots of space to relax in the lounge area, and a great three course meal. The house is steeped in history. A route back onto the Coast to Coast path straight from the front door. Hope to see you both again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay with Wendy and Gerry, engaging, warm and friendly hosts from the moment of our arrival when they served us tea and biscuits to the tasty full breakfast we ate before leaving the next morning. Many interesting stories from Gerry about the local area and its geology and history as well as anecdotes about some of the local people. Wendy gave us a lovely three course meal with sherry and plenty of wine and beer, and it was a pleasure to eat in their dining room with the four other guests, a delightful family from Australia. We'd gladly stay again anytime.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Despite friendly owners, service and cleanliness left a lot to be desired. Given the fact that it was by no means the cheapest stop on our stay we weren't expecting the nightmare that awaited us. The rooms and bathrooms were not only tired and dated but filthy, with dead insects and insect casings on the carpet and even in the sink. The bathroom hasn't been cleaned in a while- the toilet and shower were disgusting. This was by far the worst place on C2C that we stayed in; strongly recommend avoiding the place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were walking the coast to coast and decided to stay at Maltkiln House. The path from Clay Bank Top was somewhat overgrown on the way, so we arrived a little footsore. Wendy was just on her way out to pick up another guest who was on her own and in need of a lift so Gerry welcomed us with a cup of tea and biscuits. We sat in the garden and shatted for some time, before getting showered and ready for dinner, during which Gerry did his party piece with interesting information on local history and geology. Dinner with sherry, wine and cheescake was lovely. Breakfast was substantial and we set of up the path which Gerry had strimmed the day before and waved back to them from the top of the hill as we cut back up to the path.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

After walking in 31c from osmotherly this was welcome sight coffee and biscuits under shade in garden and lots of stories from gerry. Have read other comments about cleanliness on here and i must say im amazed at what people expect from these remote farm houses they are basic and old fashioned far cry from todays bleach and flash wipe society but not unclean not filthy not dirty lived in yes not hoovered dusted and polished every day like most of today's minimalist homes , i loved it felt natural and with nature a proper farm property authentic. After peeing on moors treading through sheep dung and sitting on dirt this was like a palace. if you want 5 * shiny surfaces dont do coast to coast go to london. Hot shower clean sheets hot food . only thing i have to mark down is the evening meal £16 a head , we try to book places along way with self catering but this was only one available and no place nearby to get food so had to pay the £16 think is far to expensive for a home cooked meal of lentil soup chilli and rice and fruits and bottle of wine. Breakfast included was huge and bacon lush best bacon ever tasted huge slices with no fat . Gerry has lots of stories name a subject and he has a story, his stories about the local farmers marrying internet Thailand brides the best . Id lost my sun glasses on the way to them and gerry was very kind in giving me a replacement pair . the house is up for sale and they moving on even though bookings for next year lets hope whoever buys continues they B&B as not much in this area doing coast to coast

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

You could not fault Wendy and Gerry's welcome. We arrived dripping wet and were ushered in. We were soon given a hot drink and our clothes were washed and dried for us . Fires were put on and later we were provided with a sherry, bottle of wine and three course meal. Our hosts treated us as family chatting about the area, its history and their family. On the downside the place is isolated, shabby,a little dated and not too clean. The property is incredibly old and when we were there rather damp. It is also a fair hike from the trail especially in a storm with hail and torrential rain.

Room Tip: Upstairs twin room is good as it has its own sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Best stay on the C2C! Wendy and Gerry are awesome. Although it's a little far from the trail - it's totally worth the walk to this charming secluded farm house. We spent the afternoon having tea and biscuits in the garden and listening to all of Gerry's stories. For dinner, we had a delicious meal prepared by Wendy - she did the same for breakfast. The room had a cozy sitting area as well. It was a very memorable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maltkiln House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maltkiln House

Address: Urra, North York Moors National Park TS9 7HZ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Urra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Urra
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maltkiln House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.