We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay, very nostalgic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maltkiln House

Maltkiln House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Urra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maltkiln House
Save
You added Maltkiln House to your Saves list
Urra, North York Moors National Park TS9 7HZ , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Urra B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay, very nostalgic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We walked the Cleveland Way from Osmotherley and had a lovely welcome when we finally landed in Urra. Wendy and Gerry made us feel very welcome with tea and biscuits on arrival which were well received. It was a warm and comfortable stay. Gerrys input on the local area was fascinating. Wendy made a lovely Lentil soup followed by mince, dumplings and mash potatoes. Yummy - all very good hearty and tasty food which we loved. We had a fantastic sleep that set us up for a good days walking onto Kildale. the breakfast was lovely as well. Some may say that the home is dated but we really enjoyed staying here. the place and its people have bundles of character and it felt like home from home for us. Wendy and Gerry treated us like family. This venue should be a must for walkers. Thank you to Wendy and Gerry - we will be back to see you again soon. Ian and Luke BOND

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We walked the Coast to Coast from Osmotherly over the Wain stones to Clay bank and on to Urra, a farm out in the middle of moors. We were met by a lovely friendly lady Wendy. She should to our room and brought tea and biscuits and welcomed us into her home. It was warm and comfortable, her husband Gerry came and gave us a history lesson on Malt Kiln House and the Jet mines of the area, he showed us the many sample he had collected over the years. All this helped to make our stay very easy indeed. Wendy made a lovely Lentil soup followed by cheese toasties - all very good and tasty and went down well, before we settle into our beds before a good shower. A fantastic sleep that set us up for a good breakfast - plenty of wild life wondering by.
Some may say that the home is dated I think it was lovely to step back in time and feel the history that has been built into every stone of this home. Every traveller should call and sample the pure historical benefits of Urra.
Thank you Wendy and Gerry - we will be back to see you.

Brian and Joan Finlayson

Room Tip: The room we had looked across the fells and fields of Urra - very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddock Wood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Friendly proprietors have been hosting coast to coasters for years but facilities need a thorough clean and updating. It's convenient and just off the route and you can get back on route easily the next day without extra mileage.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

I stayed a night with 3 fellow walkers on our coast2coast journey. The hostess was very friendly and helpful. She gave us a nice cup of tea and biscuits on our arrival, and was very obliging in heating our own dinner ingredients for us.
Unfortunately, I was not impressed with 2 roosters heralding in the very early dawn at 1.45 in the morning and again at around 5am, just outside my bedroom window. Also found the place not very clean, particularly the bathroom and shower. I have to be honest and say I would not go there again.

Room Tip: probably best to ask for the 1st single room downstairs, as the roosters were not heard from the sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

A bizarre experience!

Quite a trek from the Coast to Coast path, but there is a path that enables you to get back on track without much of a detour (but it is a steep start to the day). There's not much choice in the area for alternatives.

We turned up and were greeted with a warm welcome and a pot of tea and biscuits!

We effectively got our own suite - with a twin room connecting to a lounge area and bathroom.

They had a folder containing a history of the house and details about the Coast to Coast which was interesting. We were able to get a three course evening meal which was excellent, preceded by sherry and a history of Jet mining in the area! We had to indicate we were ready for the next course by ringing a bell!

Probably not everyone's cup of tea but provided us with entertainment!

The room and bathroom weren't very clean, which spoiled things a little.

Likes:
+ Good hospitality
+ Quiet location

Dislikes
- Expensive
- Not very clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Comfy room, delicious dinner with wine and great hosts. They make you feel very welcome from the moment you arrive. I booked the single room and basically got a whole floor to myself which included a very cosy private living room. The living room had a few comfy armchairs, tv and an extensive collection of interesting books, ensuring that you dont get bored. Although it is slightly off the coast to coast route, there is a path that is easy to follow right next to the house which shortcuts directly back to the route so you end up walking the same distance. I couldnt recommend this place more. The couple that run the place were really friendly and I had a great nights sleep

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

It's just as well that Maltkiln House is so good, as there are no other accommodation options in Urra! But it is an amazing old building beautifully converted into B&B duties. Our host and hostess put on a beautiful dinner (for a reasonable price) and breakfast, as well as supply facts and figures about the history of the area. Although the location is off the C2C route, there is a direct path back onto the moors right across the road form the B&B.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maltkiln House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maltkiln House

Address: Urra, North York Moors National Park TS9 7HZ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Urra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Urra
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maltkiln House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.