We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Likesdecentfood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Star Inn

The Star Inn
Llanfihangel-Tor-Y-Mynydd, Llansoy NP15 1DT, Wales
(+44) 01291 650256
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Llansoy
Cuisines: International, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are a family friendly free house pub serving traditional pub food with a twist. All our food is home-made daily using locally sourced produce. Fantastic range of good quality real ales, play area for children, beer garden with amazing views, relaxed coffee lounge, late license for functions and Music
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Likesdecentfood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Overall good experience but...

Restaurant freezing, turn heat up.

Arrived but no-one acknowledged you. Waitress walked past and ignored us. Had to go to bar to get attention.

Once meal order placed, difficult to get further service unless we made the effort to do so.

Waitress seemed to ignore us unless we made a big effort to get her attention.

Ordering drinks seemed to take an eternity, one of orders was forgotten.

When we left, we said goodbye to the waitress...should this not have been the other way around?

Please get your act together, you are a good place but need improving in your delivery and heating!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    13
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Simply The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We love to eat in this countryside pub & often meet friends & family, everyone loves it there! Once you eat here, you won't want to go any where else...

It has a beautiful, safe garden for children to play outside. On bank holidays, there is usually a free bouncy castle, free face painting & ice-creams for the children as well as first class play park equipment they can use.

It has a large free, safe car park & lovely gardens at the front & back - it is a true find & the food is absolutely faultless.

I love to eat in their large airy conservatory, where the tables are usually beautifully set up & it is well heated in the Winter.

It has a fantastic bar, usually with many real ales on offer & there's an open fire to sit around & order your food before taking your seat at your table. It is no wonder that The Star has won so many awards for its real ales as they are always fresh & tasty.

There's always plenty of fresh fish & game on the specials board. The chef truly is a genius as menu always has exciting new options & you can be confident in trying out the dishes as they are always cooked to perfection.

The new Summer menu has a beautiful seafood salad on it as well as a chicken caesar & amazing ploughmans with a home-made bread & chutney.

If you're really hungry, opt for a freshly made burger (I should mention that all the ingredients are locally sourced!), which costs around £8.50 & is so vast that I have never managed to finish it all!

Just before Xmas, I had the gammon dish; I was shocked when it arrived because there were 4 yolks on the plate, the Waitress explained that the local farm that supplied the eggs had chickens that often laid double-yolk eggs!

The desserts are like a work of art, decorated with physalis fruits & there are always plenty of lovely local cheeses on offer.

The staff are always very pleasant & attentive.

The Star gets 5 STARS from me - thank you!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff Wales
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just as good second time around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our first visit in March was really good, even more so because we were taking advantage of a Groupon offer. We returned today as we were in the neighbourhood and because of the awful weather we felt that we deserved a good meal. When we arrived at the Star we were the only customers however, no worries on that account the food was just as good as on our first visit.
I had the special dish that had been prepared for the Newport Food Festival: fillets of sea bass with mussels and jasmine rice. Beautifully prepared and good size portions. My wife had the slow roasted belly of pork, also excellent. For dessert I had a truly great rhubab, apple and ginger pie with home made custard while my wife had profiteroles and ice cream - also excellent.
We'll be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent but........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My Mother and I have had lunch here about 4 times this year including Motheer's Day; my last visit prior to this must have been at least 40 years ago!

We have had a lot of Pub Lunches recently and find that the Star is by far the best. The food is always piping hot and beautifully presented. They serve the best salads and stunning desserts.

I would have rated you a 5 but, each time we have been, it has been cold in restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Super Food, Super Service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We held a long plannned joint 40th and 90th birthday party for family members last month. We had eaten at The Star a few times before and the food had been excellent ( The roast beef Sunday lunch has got to be one of the best we have ever had ) and as well as being the closest pub to us the facilities and the setting were too good to ignore. We booked with John, the landlord for a number somewhere in between twenty and thirty and had extensive discussions with Matt the Chef. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble and all the odd dietary requests were met without problem. Approaching the weekend the weather turned awful and it was doubtful whether our guests from all over the country would make it through the snow. We discussed the situation with Matt and he agreed to be as flexible as possible with numbers. As it happened all our guests made it, the room, the presentation and the food were excellent and all our requests for flower vases, disabled access, childrens access to the garden, time to decorate the room etc. etc. were met with calm cooperation. Many, many thanks to all the staff for all their patience and hard work. We will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Star Inn also viewed

 
Llandenny, Monmouthshire
Raglan, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Star Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.