We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eals Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Eals Lodge Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarset
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eals Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Eals Lodge Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Tarset, Northumberland National Park NE48 1LF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Tarset B&B and Inns
Solihull
1 review
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I stopped of at Eals Lodge B&B for a couple of days on our way to Scotland. The welcome from Bill and Pauline was fabulous with a lovely cup of tea when we arrived. Our room was very comfortable with amazing views over the countryside and the river Tyne through the trees. The breakfasts were magnificent, cooked fresh to order and more than enough to fuel the day. We also had the company of a variety of birds just outside the window , who were also having breakfast. Our stay was made very special by Bill and Pauline and we were even introduced to the family sheep and the chickens who had laid our breakfast eggs!
We were very sorry we had to leave so soon and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My sister and partner stayed at Eals Lodge for a one night stay while visiting us, their accommodation was excellent, the breakfast was fantastic, all local produce and well presented. Their hosts, Bill and Paulene made them very welcome and made them feel at ease and were very knowledgeable regarding the area.
My sister and her partner would definatly stay with them again.
Well done Bill and Paulene a credit to the B& B business

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have just returned from a stay at Eals lodge B&B and what a wonderful time we have had! This trip was a surprise gift for my dads 60th birthday with a trip to the kielder observatory and an overnight stay. Bill and Pauline who own the B&B are excellent hosts and very welcoming! The B&B is exceptionally comfortable, spotless and has some lovely personal touches. Bill welcomed us with coffee and biscuits and sat and chatted to us giving advice on the area and places to eat and visit to make the most of the trip. He was aware we were visiting the observatory and left some milk in a small fridge in the hallway ready for our late return so we could make a hot drink, little things like this go a long way nowadays as a lot of places have lost this homely feel. The breakfast in the morning was again first class! Definitely somewhere we will be visiting again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Bill and Pauline are great people and staying in their home is a privilege. We have never felt so well looked after and relish the chance of staying again. The breakfast is sublime and the sheep are a one off !!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have stayed here a few times now and it is areal gem of a b & b. Bill s breakfast will keep you going all day and nothing is too much trouble for him! The room was extremely comfortable and we slept like tops! All conveniences in rooms which were scrupulously clean. A beautiful location and so restful. Well worth the long drive to get there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a very warm home from home B&B that does a very hearty breakfast and includes a fine selection of locally produced foods and preserves etc. The B&B has some stunning views from its rooms and the owners go that extra mile for guests with some nice little touches (tea and cake on arrival, small guest fridge for milk, DVD and small selection of films in room, glasses for wine if take your own! some, binoculars for birdwatching, ample tea and coffee in the room etc). The hosts are very friendly and engaging and are happy to provide local info about places to see and things to do. It is clear that they actually care about the guests staying in their B&B and thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking for a welcoming and friendly B&B in a idyllic location.

Room Tip: Keilder room has amazing views of the hills in the backdrop and the North Tyne in the foreground val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Eals Lodge. The room was lovely and breakfast was very tasty with generous portions and a good choice. Bill and Pauline were wonderful hosts who provided local advice and coffee, tea and cakes on arrival. We had our bikes with us and there was space for us to store these. We especially enjoyed watching the birds on the bird table as we ate our breakfast. We would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eals Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eals Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: Tarset, Northumberland National Park NE48 1LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Tarset
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tarset
Hotel Class:4 star — Eals Lodge Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eals Lodge Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.