We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bird of prey experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birds of Prey Centre

Birds of Prey Centre
Cotton End Road | Herrings Green Farm, Wilstead, Bedford MK45 3DT, England
01767 627527
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Wilstead
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“bird of prey experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Wew had the most wonderful afternoon at the new centre with Kyle a very knowledgeble young man the birds all looked well kept, yes they did flap around a lot when food was coming round but that is only natural, when the new centre is fully up and running it will be a great place to visit. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    79
    9
    6
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So much fun!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I purchased a six hour experience for my brother and I though Groupon. The school has recently moved to a new location but it was easy to find. Our guide was Lucy and she is a gem. Very knowledgeable and always happy to answer any questions. We held and flew many birds including owls, eagles, falcons, hawks and buzzards. Lunch was simply sandwiches and crisps but that was all you needed! Only downside was the loo; not nice. I'm looking to do the hunting experience next!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Up close and personal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a truly enchanting and informative day at the centre. We purchased a six hour flying experience through Groupon and got far more than we were anticipating. Although the centre was in the process of moving we were able to fly six different birds as part of a group of four and got up close and personal with a number of other birds including vultures, owls and pelicans. Wonderful! I can recommend flying a bald eagle to anyone! We were concerned beforehand because of some of the negative comments on this site about large groups and limited contact with the birds. If buying a cheap deal I think you need to check what you are getting! I also wonder whether people complaining on here about the welfare of the birds thought to ask the staff about the conditions. We did. The staff clearly care deeply about their charges and went to great lengths to explain why the birds are kept the way they are. All in all a truly wonderful day!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Buckby, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I've been here twice, once on a voucher day where we got to go inside some of the aviaries go round with one of the many falconers and flew a few birds, all good, I don't know what some people expect from a falconry centre when they say about the tea/coffee and cake, it's a falconry centre not a restaurant and for the price of the voucher very good value for money. The second visit was a day at the centre where we had two great flying displays with fantastic birds of prey and some great music and of course 'Marge' the Stork! and we did get to hold a couple of Owls and do a bit of flying. I know they are moving and this must be a mammoth task for them but didn't deter it from being a good day out. I look forward to visiting again once they have moved and settled in :o)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Falconry course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Did a 2 day Falconry Course over a weekend in October. Good instruction and knowledgeable tutors and good value for money.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birds of Prey Centre also viewed

 

Been to Birds of Prey Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birds of Prey Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.