We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eye opening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birds of Prey Centre

Birds of Prey Centre
Herrings Green Farm | Cotton End Road, Wilstead, Bedford MK45 3DT, England
01767 627527
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Wilstead
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
Attraction details
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Eye opening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

It was amazing, something I had never expected to do. Did 1/2day owls and eagles on a glorious day. I don't think you ever really get the just of these things will you hold them, variations, weight, size, and of course cuteness when it came to the great grey owl babes, awesome. Always been a little afraid of birds, the fluttering thing but they were graceful, purposeful and awe inspiring. And yes wait for it got to feed a pelican"...........now that's one you can't do everyday. Good chance for amazing photos as well, the knowledge is wonderful and not old people either these are young people who feel the ds and game station is just too inhibiting. The love the birds have for their owners and vice a versa is wonderful. Got talking to one of the Falconers and the passion.......... It's a lovely place in a gorgeous setting. Wel worth evey penny

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    70
    8
    6
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have just been on a half day owl experience booked through wowcher. It was an amazing day and we thoroughly enjoyed it, learning lots. We got to have 3 different types of owl fly to us and then got to hold even more owls before watching a fantastic flying display.

Yes, we were in a group but this was fine. It was nice chatting to other people and the guides were very good at telling us all about the birds while we were waiting for our turn to handle them. They always made sure everyone got a chance to have a go at all different parts of the experience.

The day ended with a cup of tea and cake. It was in a log cabin and the cake was packed but this was fine- it's not the place for tea rooms, they are more interested in the birds!

All in all it was a great day and excellent value for £15 each.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a great day out at the birds of prey centre. Got there in time for the 11am meet and greet, which was very interesting. The lady giving the talk (and in fairness every single staff member we came across) seemed to be very knowledgeable, and they were always smiling. The shows are both different, and both very good so I would recommend staying for the later show at 3pm. Wide variety of birds at the centre to top things off, so all in all a great day out and would highly recommend.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Visited today with friends. The visit was to help my 4 year old son to overcome his fear of owls. His new class at school is called Owls and Shuttleworth are due to visit the children in September with the owls and I therefore needed my son to overcome his fear.

The centre is well run and there's lots to see. A good day out!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I went for the half day Birds of Prey experience. It was absolutely fantastic. Emma, our Falconer was brilliant, very knowledgeable and friendly. To be able to see and hold an eagle, falcon, kestrel and three types of owls was an incredible experience. To top the afternoon we were able to pet two pelicans and a baby grey owl. Cannot recommend the centre highly enough.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birds of Prey Centre also viewed

 
Luton, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Birds of Prey Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birds of Prey Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.