We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't recommend a wowcher deal!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Birds of Prey Centre

Birds of Prey Centre
Herrings Green Farm | Cotton End Road, Wilstead, Bedford MK45 3DT, England
01767 627527
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Wilstead
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
Attraction details
Suffolk,
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wouldn't recommend a wowcher deal!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Lovely centre with passionate staff but the wowcher deal we got was not as advertised. A massive group of 20 with little flying time. We actually complained and they did sort us out some one to one flying. By far the best part. A big thank you to Jack. We then returned to our now smaller group of 10 but spent an hour waiting to hold 2 eagles. Then it was off to watch the flying display which was fantastic but I wasn't happy as I feel it was time we could have been experiencing what we expected. The final part was spent having tea and cheap cake but we didn't bother as had had enough at this point. We would have stayed longer to look round the centre but there was nowhere to have lunch. I would come back but would pay full price for a experience and get a proper one and not a cheapen version.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    71
    8
    6
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dissapointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

My fiancée booked a deal for us through wowcher and to say the least we were very dissapointed we booked the little and large experience we ended up in a group of 20 people all stood around waiting to fly a kestrel which you got 2 flights with we didn't fly the kestrel we decided to go to reception to ask if they are always such large groups and basically got told by the lady what do you expect when you pay such a low price it says on the website that you start with small owls then move up to the eagles and there's also a walk with a hawk that didn't happen although we did get taken of by ourselves to fly a Harris hawk kestrel and great grey owl which my fiancée enjoyed as it was the first bird of prey she had flew we then got taken to handle eagles in groups of 10 but still stood around for nearly an hour just to hold an eagle for 10 mins it seems that if you book an experience through wowcher then you get a cut down experience because you haven't paid full price which you don't get informed of at time of booking or that you will be in a large group I used to work for a bird of prey rescue centre as a falconer and we always offered the same full experience no matter how much the customer had paid I think it's really bad of wowcher not to put it on there website and also bad of the centre for thinking its perfectly ok to offer a cut down experience as it seemed they really weren't interested we were looking forward to a fantastic day and we were really let down by the centre and wowcher and wouldn't recommend it to anyone your better off to pay the full price and get what your expecting not a cheaper deal and to spend most of the time watching the flying display which I would thoroughly recommend going to watch it was fantastic just a shame the rest of the day didn't prove to be as good

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knebworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Extremely recommended. Excellent day out with the wife and kids. Displays were at 12 and 3. Both different, so get there before 12 and stay til after the 3 show. Lovely area to walk around too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Owls and eagles experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Went with a friend on an Amazon local voucher ,total £39, easily the best voucher use so far.set in an idyllic English countryside setting ,adjacent to the Shuttlewoth air collection ,so plenty to do for all ages.About a dozen in our group from 7 to 65,and all catered for .Within ten minutes of starting an owl will fly across the field onto your arm : you are then hooked ! Led by an enthusiastic ,knowledgable ,helpful and informative falconer ( thank you Graham ) we all got turns with both a variety of owls and eagles ,moving around the site ,from field to wood ,so we were not out in the baking sun all the time.Oodles of photo opportunities.This took about two hours ,time flew .We then assembled with other groups at the parade paddock where we were treated to a well co ordinated Aireal display ,everything from goshawks ,owls ,sea eagles ,storks and pelicans ,some of which fly within inches from you What a great day out for everyone ,meriting 5 well deserved stars.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Fantastic place thank you, fascinating and intriguing ...... Also made friends there..... Wsh I took more pictures, but will be back

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birds of Prey Centre also viewed

 

Been to Birds of Prey Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birds of Prey Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.