We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant and educational day out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birds of Prey Centre

Birds of Prey Centre
Herrings Green Farm | Cotton End Road, Wilstead, Bedford MK45 3DT, England
01767 627527
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Wilstead
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
Attraction details
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A brilliant and educational day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

It's hard to add to what previous reviewers have said here. It's the perfect experience for me with interesting wild animals, dedicated and knowledgeable and friendly staff, and the chance to get really close to the birds (and I do mean really close!). I learnt a lot about the birds and their care, and a little more about myself at the same time. My wife gave me the half day 'Eagle Experience' as a birthday present and I've rarely had a better one. We arrived 3 hours early so that we could see all the birds in their enclosures and on their day-perches. As others have mentioned, the facilities are basic but OK, but we had the luck to be there on a 'Flying Day' at Old Warden airfield next door, where we had lunch in the restaurant (a five minute stroll from the Bird Centre). So we saw some of the flying machines they have in the collection too. They're a lot noisier and more awkward than the birds, needless to say. After lunch our 'Experience' started at 2pm and lasted until gone 5pm. Lots of handling and then the pleasure of seeing birds flying from a perch to land on your own gloved hand. You could feel the weight and power of these beauties and admire their plumage really close up - an experience you'd never get in the wild or in a zoo!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    70
    8
    6
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Excellent day out, dedicated staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a grerat day at the Birds of Prey centre. It is amazing to see these beautiful animals close-up and to have such enormous creatures land on your arm and eat from your (heavily-gloved) hand. The keepers are clearly dedicated, they love the birds, and have incerdible knowledge which they are happy to share.

The 'practicals'- parking for the centre is just passed the hangers for the Shuttleworth Collection and there is no charge for parking. You can pay your entry at the Shuttleworth Collection entrance. Do phone ahead if you have any questions at all as the staff are all very helpful as well as knowledgeable. Entry is £12, but is included in many of the 'experiences' purchased on the internet- ask if in doubt.

You do need to be practical, these birds are carniverous so there is raw meat being fed to them and it is not neccessarily a pretty sight for those not experienced in country matters; and the location is rural and the toilet facilities basic, but they are there.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Magical experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Visited the Bird of Prey centre for an afternoons 'Owl Experience'. Fantastic stuff.
Loads of different species to see in the centre before our 'experience' allowed us to handle and fly various owls. Our group consisted of 12 people, so we weren't hanging round for ages waiting a turn- I wouldn't really have wanted the group to be any bigger. I think we all had the same soppy grin as the owls swooped silently to the glove! (Bring a camera!)
There was also a flying display and presentation featuring other hawks, eagles, condor etc.

The staff were all friendly, helpful and obviously knew and really cared for their birds.

I fell in love a hundred times over this afternoon and now kinda really want an owl..... sigh...

You can get some cracking deals on voucher sites for the various experience days, which I'd really recommend. A wonderful and unusual day out.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rip off.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Charged £9 x2 to park on the airfield. Then walked up to the Bird of prey centre and told we had to pay another £12 x2 to enter.
Sooooo not worth that much.
Should be ashamed advertising it as £12 each to enter.
Toilet facilities are a complete shambles too.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent 'experience'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had visited this attraction a couple of years ago and enjoyed it very much so my wife bought me an 'Owls & Eagles Experience' day for my last birthday and booked for us to attend yesterday. As well as the flying display open to all ticket holders, we enjoyed an afternoon of knowledgeable presentations delivered by a young man (John) who was obviously devoted to his subject and able to communicate his enthusiasm with clarity and humour. We got to hold the raptors and to experience them flying onto our arms which is quite something when a female bald eagle lands on you - they are heavy!! I can thoroughly recommend this both as a general family day out and as a half day experience which obviously costs significantly more because of the extra personalised attention.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birds of Prey Centre also viewed

 
Luton, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Birds of Prey Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birds of Prey Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.