We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID, AVOID, AVOID!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park to your Saves list
BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park
170 Whitewood Road, Howard Springs, Northern Territory 0835, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“AVOID, AVOID, AVOID!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Over the past 20 years I have travelled around Australia and overseas. I have stayed in backpacker hostels and caravan parks, hotels and motels. Never have I stayed anywhere so unclean and poorly maintained with unprofessional and unhelpful staff. I would strongly recommend you don't stay at this place. I booked our family in for 3 nights and we stayed 1. We stayed in villa number 6. The security screen door did not close, the lock was broken and the fly screen had been cut where the lock was. The glass sliding door lock was also damaged. The villa was dirty and mouldy. When the air conditioner was turned on - the place was filled with musty warm air. The bathroom was mouldy and the grout in the tiles was falling out. There was no toilet paper. The sheets on the double bed were stained and had "bits" in them. (Unsure what it was). When I made up the kid beds which were bunks - under the matresses were small dead cockroaches and cockroach faeces. I was not game to use any utensils or plates and cups as the whole place felt so unclean. We left first thing in the morning and after letting the girl at the office know of our experience she just shrugged and said she would let the manager know. The manager refused to give any money back or offer any kind of apology. Not happy.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    24
    13
    16
See reviews for
27
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

WARNING! AVOID!

It looks good when you see all the palms and you get flirted with by the "big boss" at the park but as soon as you're in, have paid for your week, and have one small request to make and it's all to hell with everything. I've never been so rudely and unfriendly approached in my life as camper. I was asked to get the hell out of their office after politely asking them to move us to another tent spot. We had cars passing cpl of feet from our tent at speeds up to 40kph but this was apparently not a reason to change spot, when I asked why it wasn't a reason the wife of the "big boss" just slammed a book at the counter and yelled at me and ran out slamming the door behind her. When I went to ask the "big boss" how he could accept this type of behaviour he came at me and I really thought he was going to hit me in the face. People from the camp spots around gathered wondering what was going on and the "big boss" just left the scene and people were shocked by this. I would NEVER EVER go back to this caravan park where you get threatened, treated like an idiot and where they just have no respect for your wishes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Howard Springs hotels

Ashburton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Typical of a well run Big Four, clean and tidy with polite staff, handy to Darwin and Lichfield Park.
The cabins are reasonable value for the area and well maintained. Security did not seem any issue. We stayed here for a week in june 2012 and found it to be totally satisfactory. Gets busy so plan ahead.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is our third visit here, two with a Britz, and we had a villa holiday.
This Big 4 does the job, I really like the new amenities..........but give me the peaceful perfection of Batchelor Big4 anyday.........only in the amenities a short period. This park is too busy, and lacks the "human touch" that we experienced when we reached and enjoyed Batchelor Big4.

Room Tip: Ask for a spot closer to the new toilet/showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had a four day break during winter and Darwin was the warmest place in the country at the time added to that the V8 supercars were also in town. We picked Howard Springs HP as it didn't appear far from the venue, handy for our drive to Litchfield NP and we thought it may be quieter.
We stayed in one of the older ATCO style cabins along the boundary of the park and it was fine. It had exactly what we thought it would. A small kitchen to prepare brekky, a shower/toilet area at the end and most importantly a QS (very comfortable) bed to cater to our height. The cost was $125 p/n and we found the staff very helpful. Having said that we only slept there and had no real problems with anything. The place was busy with travellers with their home-away-from-homes but the grounds were pleasantly laid out and the pools clean and refreshing. Finding a sqash court there was a bonus that I will take advantage of next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Upon booking to stay on a powered ensuite site, as a trip advisor member I checked the reviews and thought "we need to cancel" because of the bad reviews. But due to dry season high tourist season we couldnt get anywhere else. As big 4 members we thought give it a go.
Upon arrival receptionist was friendly and chatty, gave us information on the markets etc. we set up on our site, checked the bathroom it was quite new looking and most importantly clean and large, towl racks located on outside also was quite a nice touch to dry. 2x pools were beautiful and well kept. The cleaners service the ensuites (i jave never seen this before) so thats a positive. I think some other reviews were based on peoples personal issues rather than what the park has to offer.
In reception you can buy cigarettes as well as alcohol, they refil gas bottles also. There are quite a few permanant residents and we heard an argument close by one night. But that was no fault of the park- it was quickly attneded to by managers and sorted out. We have stayed at over 20 parks around Aus on this trip and this is top 5. I checked the amenities block and it was same decore as our ensuite, clean and up to date. This park is about 20 minutes from darwin CBD. Easy drive. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have just stayed for 11 nights in the Big 4 at Howard Springs. We have been travelling for 6 months now with our two small children aged 3 and 5 and would rate our stay at Howard Springs as average. The park was extremely busy which was understandable given it is peak tourist season in the NT. Our caravan site had no shade at all and as we have a small camper with no air conditioning, it was very unpleasant to come back to the caravan park in the afternoon after a busy day sightseeing. Thankfully there was a pool which is were we spent most of our afternoons.

Our biggest complaint would be the unisex bathroom system. There were only 12 individual unisex bathrooms in the block closest to us. In 6 months of travelling, we have never had to wait for a shower but had to wait almost every day here. The showers were particularly busy in the morning which meant the toilets could not be accessed as they are in the individual bathrooms. Although the bathrooms were new, it was a poor system to cope with the number of people staying in the park. I would be unlikely to recommend this park to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park

Address: 170 Whitewood Road, Howard Springs, Northern Territory 0835, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Howard Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Howard Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being 23km from Darwin, our award-winning park is ideally located to Darwin's many attractions and is a gateway to Kakadu and Litchfield National Parks. We offer an extensive range of accommodation options including shady, grassed sites for caravans and camping to self-contained cabins and villas, surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens with 3 pools/spas, water park, jumping pillow, kids playground, camp kitchen and kiosk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BIG4 Howard Springs Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.