We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Myanmar's answer to Lourdes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kyaikto (Golden Rock)

Kyaikto (Golden Rock)
Kin Pun, Myanmar
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Kin Pun
Type: Religious Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Outdoors
Attraction details
Lydney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Myanmar's answer to Lourdes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

For no other reason than to experience what Buddhist devotion is all about in Myanmar spend a night there and be part of the throng. The trip up and back is a great roller-coaster of a truck-ride too.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    111
    37
    16
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“beautiful scnerary and good trekking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Yatae Taung, Kyauk Htet Gyi pagoda, Mok Soe Taung pagoda and Kyikan Pazat pagoda are also interesting places in Golden Rock Pagoda. There is one small waterfall which is really diffcult to reach from golden rock unless u know the way to go and your leg really must be strong if u want to go to waterfall. If you really love trekking, want to see pilgrim, it is place you must go.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
530 reviews 530 reviews
254 attraction reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
362 helpful votes 362 helpful votes
“Take lots of money with you!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

You will need a porter for your luggage, and maybe 4 porters to carry you up/down. They will want to stop for soft drinks all around. Cost will be about $100 for everything. Be forewarned!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Unfortunately when we visited the rock was covered for renovation, but that aside it was surrounded by a "theme park" of other not very attractive buildings which for us spoilt the experience. Also we seemed to be the only westerners to get up for the sun rise experience......actually the rock is the wrong side of the mountain to be affected by the sunrise so apart from the early worshippers there is not too much to see. The visit had to be done, but dont expect an ancient religious site because I think that disappeared many years ago. Now it is very Disneyesque. Dont be embarrassed to take the sedan chair it looked a fun way to travel, and the hill is very very steep, and seems very very long. I walked but later wish I had not! Dont let me put you off, I am glad I went - but I would not go again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Golden Rock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Golden Rock is very beautiful, absolutely breathtaking. Lovely atmosphere and amazing rock. The Golden Rock is clinging to another rock, held secure by a sacred hair of the Buddha.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyaikto (Golden Rock) also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Kyaikto (Golden Rock)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyaikto (Golden Rock), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.