We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing and a brilliant location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Byron Bay Farmstay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Byron Bay Farmstay to your Saves list
Byron Bay Farmstay
3.5 of 5 Ranch   |   436 Bangalow Road, Hayters Hill, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very relaxing and a brilliant location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We recently stayed at the Farmstay between Christmas and New Year, and really enjoyed it. It is a beautiful farm and is incredibly peaceful. The location is brilliant, it is under 10 minutes drive in either direction to either Byron Bay or Bangalow. It was lovely to return to such a relaxed location from the craziness of Byron Bay over the holiday period! The owners are lovely and very friendly, and even provided a large box of toys for our 8 month old daughter to play with - very thoughtful. They are also very prompt if anything needs to be attended to (replacing gas bottles, etc.). We stayed in a one bedroom cottage and it was a great size for our little family, the kitchen was very well appointed and we were able to cook full meals and also make homemade baby food for our baby. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was very stylish and had been newly renovated to a high standard. Would definitely recommend the Farmstay to others, and look forward to returning someday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBFarmstay, Manager at Byron Bay Farmstay, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks for your very kind review of our Farmstay. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We'd love to have you back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Surrounded by beautiful hills and a lake, the place is cooling and winding. The cottage is clean and nice with a wonderful balcony for the nice open view of the surrounding. Location of this farmstay is conveniently near Byron Bay town and Bangalow village with only 5 to 10 min drive each way.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBFarmstay, Manager at Byron Bay Farmstay, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Hello there! Thank you so much for reviewing your Farmstay experience - it was lovely to have your family stay on the farm. It's a real pleasure to enable International visitors to experience some of the more unique aspects of Byron Bay & the Northern Rivers region. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

As a former resident of Byron Bay I would have to say that the Byron Bay Farmstay provides everything that Byron Bay has to offer. Firstly the cottages are very comfortable, providing everything that one needs. Surrounded by the beautiful rolling hills that Byron Bay is well known for. You are immediately surrounded by farm and native habitat, as well as a real living dam. The views are breath taking. All of this and only a short drive to any of the beaches, particularly Tallows Beach and Broken Head. Also only short drive to the popular Suffolk Park Pub (family friendly), shops and town. The Farmstay is incredibly peaceful, private and relaxed. Our four year old loved exploring the farm, including fetching the freshly laid chook eggs and herbs for breakfast. You actually don't have to leave as there is so much on offer at the farm, kyaking, fishing, mountain bike riding, walks, or just sitting and taking in the serenity. Perfect for couples or families. We will be returning as it was so nice to get ou tof town and enjoy all of Byron!. The managers Ange and Ivan are very friendly and cannot do enough for you to make sure that your stay is what you want it to be.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBFarmstay, Manager at Byron Bay Farmstay, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
What a total pleasure to have a "Byron Local" choose Byron Bay Farmstay - thank you! You are welcome anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

It has become an annual birthday tradition to go to Byron and enjoy the bliss of the Farmstay.
We have stayed in every one of the 1-bedroom cabins and they are all comfortable with everything you could possibly need. The ground coffee and Byron Bay Cookies are a nice touch, as is the chilled rainwater in the fridge. Angie & Ivan are the best hosts you can imagine. It is so lovely and quiet with only native wildlife and the cows cruising by the verandah. The washing machine in the laundry is helpful when you have children and stayfor longer. My almost 4 year old was now ready to go out on the lake and played pirates but was also to observe the animals and play on the verandah. As soon as you get there, you RELAX and you always leave HAPPIER than when you arrive. The fact that you want to actually live there is proof that it is indeed the perfect place to stay. The bottle of sparkly for my birthday was an appreciated, thoughtful gift. Thank you!

Room Tip: Book early, it's hard to get in during the holidays, as they have ony 6 cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLDH36D
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed for a couple of nights earlier this month.

This really was a great place to stay. Its also very rare for somewhere this good to be so sensibly priced.

The huts have all you need to self cater without running into difficulties, and if you do run into problems the guys will only be too please to helped.

We had a great time rowing around the lake and spent a lovely few hours sitting on the bench on the hill over the road with a bottle of wine.

My only regret is that we didn't have a couple of extra days so that we could use the BBQ, fish the lake, collect the eggs and do a few other things we would have liked to have done.

The accomodation would be great for anyone, someone travelling along looking for a bit of peace and quiet, a couple on a romantic break or a family with kids of any age.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We booked the 2 bedroom cottage and stayed 2 nights at this beautiful farm last November. We were so taken by the beauty and tranquility of the place that we felt instantly calm and refreshed the moment we set foot on the farm. There was just so much space! The cottage we had was so lovely and spotless, and the beds so comfortable. Although the place was fully booked, we hardly saw anyone and felt that we had the whole farm to ourselves. We had a barbeque breakfast by the lake and it felt so perfect we did not mind the houseflies a bit. The kids enjoyed feeding and patting the goats, and canoeing on the lake. We spent the nights watching DVDs and playing boardgames which we borrowed from Angela, the owner of the farm. Angela was friendly and helpful and had some great suggestions on places to visit, including the hill opposite the farm where you'll get a bird's eye view of Byron Bay. We absolutely enjoyed our stay here and would love to visit it again soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were looking for last minute accommodations for Byron Bay for a Saturday night and were finding everything already booked or requiring a 2-night minimum. We were lucky to discover this Farmstay on Tripadvisor and it was a total gem! It was an easy drive, only 5-10 minutes from the center of Byron Bay. This was definitely a different experience from our regular choices for accommodations but it was fun for us to have a goat and free roaming cows greet you on the driveway toward the self-contained cottages. Ours had 2 bedrooms so it could have slept 4. The cottage was basic but spacious and clean. The view out back over the lake was beautiful. There were fun activities on the land that we didn't have time to partake in but those will perhaps be for another time! Before we left, Angela suggested a short hike up a local hill with panoramic views of Byron Bay and the Hinterland that were gorgeous! She was a welcoming host with excellent suggestions for restaurants and activities. We had a relaxing stay here and would come again in the future!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBFarmstay, Manager at Byron Bay Farmstay, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Many thanks for taking time to write a review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, appreciated some of the unique aspects of the Farmstay and found our local's tips handy. We'd love to have you stay with us again! Cheers, Ivan & Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Byron Bay Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Bay Farmstay

Address: 436 Bangalow Road, Hayters Hill, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay > Hayters Hill
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hayters Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Byron Bay Farmstay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-contained cottages in a stunning location overlooking Byron Bay & hinterland. Nestled in rainforest & with spectacular views, these fully equipped 1 & 2 bedroom cottages provide the perfect getaway for couples and families. Enjoy superb ocean, hinterland and mountain vistas as you explore this stunning property. Wander through unique, heritage-listed rainforest - home to diverse and abundant wildlife. Swim, fish and paddle on the lake, or simply take in the tranquility of the surroundings from your private verandah. Greet the cows as they calmly amble past your cottage. Just 5 minutes drive from the heart of Byron Bay & its beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Byron Bay Farmstay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byron Bay Farmstay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.