We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel to your Saves list
The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Hamlet 1, Dien Duong Village | Dien Ban District, Dien Duong, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance in Style
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dien Duong
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at The Nam Hai from the 8th - 14th April ( 6 nights ) in a one bedroom pool villa for our first year anniversary. The weather we experienced during our stay was not the best, but it certainly did not hinder our enjoyment staying at the resort or exploring Hoi An

We were greeted by a Nam Hai representative at the airport and were escorted to our private vehicle to transfer us to the resort. The drive was a relaxing 30 min and once we arrived were introduced to our butler and swiftly swept away to our villa for smooth check in

Villa
- beautifully maintained villas that are already a few years old
- we stayed in villa no. 2100 and it is literally a few metres away from the beach with a beautiful view. We could hear the sound of the waves while relaxing on our pool lounges and during the night while you're sleeping. Sometimes, it seemed just perfect and surreal
- we really loved the lush dark wood decor they used throughout and to us, it had a very luxurious feel. I can truly say villa 2100 looks exactly like the pictures shows on The Nam Hai website
- the villa compound itself was quite large and we thought the separate building for living/dining a bit of wasted space for just 2 people as we never really used that area
- some people have commented about the different 'levels' in the villas, but this was not a problem for us. During the night if we needed to use the toilet subtle sensor lights would automatically illuminate on the floor so you can easily see where the step is
- laundry was an included service every day during our stay and it was convenient as we had gone through several wears of clothing before arriving. A simple pleasure of being able to pack freshly laundered clothes for our trip back home

Service
- all the staff at The Nam Hai are friendly, but we felt a bit of 'warmth' missing. Sometimes, it felt automated
- we experienced only a few staff who were more confident in their english, but even then it was difficult to converse as their pronunciations of words were difficult to understand. It lead to a few awkward moments where we kind of just nodded and smiled
- we don't expect perfect english, but we felt their level was below par to other resorts we've stayed in around the world with the same price point. For example, we asked staff at the beach restaurant how a certain dish was cooked and they really had difficulty finding words to describe how it was prepared
- the resort runs on a very relaxed time, particularly the staff at the beach restaurant where we had experiences of food coming out slow ... but, really we didn't care! Soak in the magnificent view and relax
- the resort provides complimentary shuttle services to Hoi An several times a day which is great as it encourages you to venture out of the resort
- we were kindly provided with a late check out, which provided us extra relaxation time as our flight was not scheduled until the early evening. This was very much appreciated

Food
- we're fans of asian cuisine and my husband and I both agree that The Nam Hai has the best food we've eaten at any resort we've stayed. I have no idea why some people have reviewed that they did not enjoy the food or think it was at a high level
- delicious, fresh and a lot of the time organic as they have a large herb garden with full time staff that attend to it. We also thought the pricing was fair for a resort like this as the quality was very high
- if you find that you're craving for something not on the menu, don't hesitate to ask as they try their best to cook it for you. My husband loves stir fry morning glory ( water/river spinach ) and it wasn't on the menu for lunch, so he asked if they could cook it for him and it was absolutely not a problem
- we had their seafood buffet on a Saturday night and the grilled seafood they offered ( lobster, crab, calamari, prawns and different types of fish ) was so fresh and tasty. The best grilled lobster we've had in a very long time
- they tend to offer the same exact breakfast buffet offerings everyday and we were little surprised they don't try to rotate the variety like Banyan Tree does, but still very good quality with traditional Vietnamese breakfast options

Spa
- great, but not the best we've had
- my husband communicated on their preference sheet that he preferred to have firm pressure, but his therapist seemed to perhaps not understand when my husband requested firmer pressure on the massage table ( again, low level of english here apparent )
- we are surprised that they do not provide comment cards after their treatments. How do they gauge the level of satisfaction and the skill of their therapists regularly? I personally would have liked to fill out a comment card to express my suggestions immediately

Guests
- we found many of the guests to consist mostly of Brits, Americans and Australians and only a small number of Asians
- families with young children and young adults were abundant. We found all children were all well behaved and were kept in check by their considerate parents and nannies. The Nam Hai has a rule of families with young children to use a separate pool to ensure all guests stay comfortable

Overall, we had a wonderful stay at The Nam Hai and highly recommend you to experience this resort at least once in your life! Just do it!

Room Tip: If your budget allows, get a pool villa and request a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for having selected The Nam Hai to celebrate your first wedding anniversary and for providing us with comprehensive and detailed feedback about your stay.

We will pass on your kind comments to our employees who will relish hearing you spent a wonderful holiday. In terms of training, we will continue to assist our staff with improving their English skills, may it be listening comprehension, pronunciation or building vocabulary, something that will assist them in communicating in their own words with confidence.

As for timing of food at The Beach Restaurant, we will review this with the relevant Department Heads to ensure the pace is relaxed yet precise. We will also gage on how we can build more variety into our breakfast buffet, especially for guests who are staying for an extended period of time. We appreciate your suggestion of implementing a comment card system in the spa, allowing guests to provide feedback after each treatment. We will assess how we could implement this.

Once again, thank you very much for your warm comments and for spending your anniversary with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again next year for your 2nd anniversary. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    99
    42
    15
    8
See reviews for
257
646
25
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Woodside, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Nam Hai offers beautifully appointed, perfectly maintained private "cottages" for guests, complete with private patios and numerous places to relax, read, dream and unwind. The Vietnamese staff are uniformly lovely but not "programmed" like robots. Very naturally gracious. The pools, the beach, the gardens, the spa and gym: all stunning and aesthetically appealing. Again: it's a perfect environment.

Breakfast buffet includes classic Vietnamese, European, Japanese and American selections. There are several restaurant options, and we tried each of them. Despite the impeccable service, beautiful surroundings and very good food, we suggest that guests go into Hoi An for a true Vietnamese cuisine at "normal" prices. The Nam Hai food is very expensive for what it is. You are paying for the service and surroundings.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room that is within walking distance to the main facilities: dining rooms, poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
It was lovely to read that you perceived our staff as natural and gracious and felt they made your holiday at The Nam Hai relaxing and enjoyable. We are very proud of our team and their efforts to look well after each and every guest and will pass on your compliments to the staff. Once again, thank you very much for your visit and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I visited Vietnam in 1998 when fast food was noodles wrapped in palm leaves to take it away. This hotel was unimaginable then but we were told of all the hotel chains lining up to move on to the deserted beaches. So it has happened. The room was more of a whole house. On entering from the beach there is a porch, then a sitting area inside then a couple of steps up to an enormous bed with a sunken bath behind it and more sitting area. plus a desk. Then an open plan area leading to the "front" door, a dressing area, a shower separate loo and finally a door to an outside shower which is completely private. My only complaint it that the drinks were overly expensive even for such an exotic hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for selecting The Nam Hai as your chosen haven to discover more of the Central Coast of Vietnam. Indeed, the country has changed tremendously since 1998 and we were pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your second time in Vietnam and we hope it will not be the last time you visit. Once more, thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to seeing you again. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

A lovely luxurious base for a genuinely wonderful town. We came to Vietnam on our honeymoon and this really is a romantic place with an amazing heritage town and some lovely restaurants. There is lots to see and do and the hotel will help with trips to anywhere you want to go... Service is top notch and the rooms are lovely - the perfect romantic getaway...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you very much for having chosen The Nam Hai as your resort of choice for your honeymoon. We were happy to read that you not only enjoyed the destination as such but also felt pampered at our resort for your special getaway. Thank you again for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back for one of your anniversaries in the future. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My girlfriend and our friends stayed here - what an incredible experience. The rooms were fantastic, the service impeccable and the pool area was the perfect place to unwind and escape the heat. I hope that one day we will come back here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We appreciate your recent visit at The Nam Hai and were pleased to learn that you and your girlfriend had a fabulous holiday and felt well looked after by our team. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I liked the attention to details and the various amenities in the room. The facilities were top class and the staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating. The staff were fantastic. fantastic bed with view to the beach.. I'd definitely come back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments about your recent stay at The Nam Hai. We were delighted to learn that it was our staff that made your holiday special and memorable and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Wonderful resort hotel with quiet and relaxing atmotphere. Beautiful villa design. Swimming pool is large and clean. Beautiful room decor. Great choice for breakfast. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Suitable for honeymoon couples. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to provide us with feedback about your stay. We were happy to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at The Nam Hai and had the chance to relax and indulge. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the foreseeable future. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel

Address: Hamlet 1, Dien Duong Village | Dien Ban District, Dien Duong, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An > Dien Duong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dien Duong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along a seemingly infinite stretch of sand, amidst Vietnam’s richest cultural heritage, a strand of sophisticated, visually striking villas lines the dramatic beachfront. Inspired by 2,500 years of history, The Nam Hai’s architecture and interior design presents a dramatic play on wind and water inspired by ancient feng shui philosophy and the grandeur of the Tu Doc royal tombs of Hue. Explore the nearby UNESCO World Heritage Sites of Hoi An, My Son and Hue with its Buddhist pagodas, royal tombs and historic citadels. Return to our calm, tropical shore on Ha My Beach to relax around three expansive swimming pools, in the spa on a lotus pond, over gourmet Eastern and Western cuisine or in the privacy of one of our 100 private retreats, elegantly finished with Vietnamese lacquer and diaphanous silk, some of which are served by a most attentive butler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nam Hai Hotel Hoi An
Nam Hai Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.