We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel to your Saves list
The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Hamlet 1, Dien Duong Village | Dien Ban District, Dien Duong, Hoi An, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dien Duong
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Lets get the first point out of the way - this hotel is not cheap, and neither is the food nor the spa. Having said that, once paid, you will never look back. Everything was amazing. The private villa with its interesting modern and unique interior design, The feeling of space, the amazing spa villas with the serene view onto the small lake and the fantastic food at the restaurants - especially the pool side lunch and Vietnamese dinner and the breakfast. But in particular it is the service that makes this place so special. Having stayed in many top 5-star hotels, I have rarely, if ever, experienced such an effort on behalf of the staff and the management to make us feel welcomed and help us wherever possible - especially the concierge that helped us change our travel arrangements - I could not compliment them enough. We were sad to leave and would love to go back!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent stay and your feedback. We are thrilled to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at The Nam Hai and felt well looked after by our staff, especially the Concierge team. We will pass on your compliments to our team members, who will feel very proud having been able to provide you with an unforgettable holiday. Once again, thank you for your visit and we are looking forward to seeing you again. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    954
    99
    42
    15
    8
See reviews for
256
632
23
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

After a busy time in Luang Prabang, Siem Reap and Saigon, we came here for 6 nights r and r peppered with some sight seeing. This was the perfect place with a lot of staff to look after the guests and the service was outstanding. I had 2 massages in the spa and some of the best I have ever had even though quite pricey. The villa we had overlooked the long beach and very spacious with every amenity you could wish for. But not for the infirm as the bed's platform to one side meant gymnastics to get in and out! Lovely bathroom with indoor and outside shower. They had 3 pools and the adults only pool was huge and beautiful and close to the beach - the sea was too rough to swim in unfortunately. But it was great being pampered on the beach with cool towels, water and a bottle spraying rose water to cool down - perfect! The breakfasts were superb with a lot of choice and beautifully presented and the lunches were very good too. We ate in Hoi An most evenings as firstly there is a good choice of restaurants, and secondly the evening meals at Nam Hai were a bit disappointing and a bit too expensive for what you got. The shuttle bus from the hotel was very useful for sorties into town. The management were on hand most of the time to ensure the smooth running of the hotel. A suggestion is however, that should be an outside bar rather than just the rather dreary first floor bar above one of the restaurants - it would be lovely to have a drink outside to enjoy the warm evenings. The manager thought this a good idea. We had a wonderful stay and were very sad to leave.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for having taken the time to compose a detailed review of your recent stay at The Nam Hai. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the resort and were able to pamper yourself after exploring other destinations in South East Asia. We are taking your suggestions to heart, in particular the one about an al fresco bar and will pursue this idea and assess how we could make it reality. Once again, thank you very much for your long visit and we are looking forward to welcoming you back. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate ny
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights during a recent trip through Vietnam. It was such an ideal respite...beautiful room, fabulous service , great food. I cannot think of one negative thing to say...except...it is very hard to leave! Be aware that you need transportation to get into Hoi An. There is a shuttle from the hotel, but the timing may not be convenient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We are happy to read that you and your husband enjoyed your stay at The Nam Hai and had the chance to relax and unwind in-between sightseeing and exploring. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we are looking forward to seeing you again. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I am an architect, and this hotel is breathtaking.
The service and quality of food in both restaurants is excellent.
There are three pools, two of them child free, so great for lengths.
Typical GHM attention to detail.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at The Nam Hai. We were happy to read that not only the architecture of the resort but also the overall service and attention to detail left a lasting impression. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

After a long stretch working in sunless Beijing, my friend & I came here to relax and soak in the sun during the week of Chinese New Year (Feb 9-17, 2013). We simply wanted peace & quiet, and to take long walks along the beach. Nam Hai was perfect for this. Our room fronted the beach (it was worth springing for the extra cost). At night we had early cocktails in the lovely bar area above the main restaurant (btw they make fine Grey Goose Martinis, up, olive). Then a nice dinner at one of the two restaurants. Couldn't be easier or more relaxing. A lovely woman playing jazz standards on the baby grand. Wish we could have stayed longer! If we're back in Viet Nam, we'll be back to Nam Hai.

Room Tip: spring for the nicest room you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at The Nam Hai during the Lunar New Year. We are happy to read that you and your friend spent an enjoyable time at the resort, relaxing at The Bar whilst listening to our live entertainment in the evening. Thank you again for your visit and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The rooms were very spacious and unique. Very peaceful beach resort. Wonderful pool areas. Restaurants were wonderful and the service at the resort left nothing to the imagination or wanting. Will definitely return when we visit Southeast Asia again.

Room Tip: Rooms near the beach have a better ocean view, but all rooms have some view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you very much for having included The Nam Hai on your journey through South East Asia. We are delighted to read that our friendly staff was able to provide you with a comfortable and memorable holiday and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back on occasion of your next vacation. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guangzhou
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

What's great: rooms are modern and beautifully designed (we had beach villa with pool), grounds are lovely and extremely well maintained with great gym/pools/tennis, great group morning yoga/meditation (every hotel should have this!), all the staff is wonderful, good demographic with no screaming kids running around.

Not great: room rates are WAY overpriced, restaurants are also incredibly overpriced we ate in town for 1/10 the price and 2x better food, no music on the grounds (need some cool chill out music at least), spa was crazy priced and no access to local massage on the beach. For these reasons especially the price I am not sure we would return...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay at The Nam Hai and are pleased to read that you were able to enjoy a peaceful and relaxing holiday and felt our villas to be well maintained and our staff friendly and engaging.

We admit the prices in our restaurants and in our spa are higher compared to locally owned restaurants or spas for a number of reasons may it be the use of imported high quality ingredients/products, very high standards of hygiene, thoroughly trained English speaking staff, superior furnishings, to mention but a few examples.

Once again, thank you very much for your visit and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back on a future occasion. Walter Hess, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel

Address: Hamlet 1, Dien Duong Village | Dien Ban District, Dien Duong, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An > Dien Duong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dien Duong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along a seemingly infinite stretch of sand, amidst Vietnam’s richest cultural heritage, a strand of sophisticated, visually striking villas lines the dramatic beachfront. Inspired by 2,500 years of history, The Nam Hai’s architecture and interior design presents a dramatic play on wind and water inspired by ancient feng shui philosophy and the grandeur of the Tu Doc royal tombs of Hue. Explore the nearby UNESCO World Heritage Sites of Hoi An, My Son and Hue with its Buddhist pagodas, royal tombs and historic citadels. Return to our calm, tropical shore on Ha My Beach to relax around three expansive swimming pools, in the spa on a lotus pond, over gourmet Eastern and Western cuisine or in the privacy of one of our 100 private retreats, elegantly finished with Vietnamese lacquer and diaphanous silk, some of which are served by a most attentive butler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nam Hai Hotel Hoi An
Nam Hai Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.