We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning beach resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel to your Saves list
The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Hamlet 1, Dien Duong Village | Dien Ban District, Dien Duong, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Long Stay Offer
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dien Duong
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stunning beach resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Nam Hai is one of those resorts that literally take your breath away - from the moment you arrive at the reception entrance, you are greeted by a magnificent view of pools stretching to a vast beach and ocean in the distance. Then you are whisked away in a golf buggy, to your lovely Vietnamese-architectured villa.Our villa had a private plunge pool, which was quite large, at least 15 metres long, with a good depth (about 4 feet) and warm water. Every morning and evening, we just had to take our swim in this lovely pool !
Our villa was set slightly further away from the beach, on elevated ground, so it was a little bit of a walk to the dining and beach areas. However, the buggy service is quite efficient, and readily available.
The villa itself is very plush; with complimentary mini-bar and excellent coffee machine ! It's multi-level, so there are several small steps to take from the entrance, down to the bed level, then to the patio. In dim light, you need to be careful, because you can easily miss a step and fall !
Rather odd that the bathtub is placed in the main room of the villa, at the level above the bed, and the toilet and shower areas are set further back in a separate area.
There are 2 dining areas, just after the hotel entrance, separated by the 3 large pools. Both are very good indeed - but rather expensive. Nevertheless - the setting and ambience by the pools, and with the beach nearby, is very nice indeed.
The main pool is beautiful - and surprisingly, for adults only ! Young children were ushered by the pool attendants to their own pool area, on a higher level away from the beach - which was equally nice. The best part about the main pool is that it is infinity-style, and you can just gaze out beyond the edge to China beach and an ocean with pounding waves - Lovely !
For us, the beach was the best - a magnificent stretch of white sand and clear water. When we were there in August, the winds and waves were strong, but that added to great scenery and a lively atmosphere.
One thing I would suggest for a fellow traveller is to ask for a villa with a view of the sea and beach. Some of the villas are quite far back, so you can only see other villas !

Room Tip: Villas facing the sea are better - more breezy and better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    96
    41
    13
    8
See reviews for
244
593
23
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

First impressions are this hotel has the WOW factor , Check in was effecient and the staff took time to show us the resort and what was available for us to do in our short three day stay. When
we checked into the Beachfront Villa, everything was broken down for us on how to work everything in the room , from the coffee machine to the IPOD connected Stereo with the complimentary movies and the
humming resort music playing as we walked in. The design of the Villas face shorefront going backwards so as to give you privacy whilst still providing great sea views .
The resort itself is only 10 - 15 minutes from Hoi An and the resort has complimentary shuttles to get in and out , this was convinient for having other dining options and to go shopping .
We ate at both the beach bar and the resturant for dinner , food was immaculate and service was great and what you would expect from a five star resort. The Breakfast was the highlight as you were spolit for choice
of continental delicacies from the buffet whilst also being able to order cooked items A lacarte ... loved it !!
I Was Expecting the Vibe at the hotel to be slightly older and pretentious , but was pleasantly suprised by a more hip younger social feel around their amazing three level infinity pool .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I don't know why it took us so long to make it to the Nam Hai!
I guess it must be the change in management in our old favorite (the Datai, Langkawi) that gave us the push.
We knew that the hotel had been opened by the original managing staff at the datai and were sure the staff would be house trained to an exacting standard.
At the Nam Hai we found everything we longed for. The service is absolutely faultless. Swiss management means its a very well oiled mechanic. It also means that staff are valued, decently paid and benefit from on going professional development. About 85% of the staff has been with them from day one.
And that's what makes the difference. They treat all guests with the same courtesy.

The grounds are immaculate. The rooms are huge and very well appointed. We shared a villa with friends and they all come with on-call butler.

The beach, bar from the small patch immediately opposite the main pool, is largely unspoilt by loungers and umbrellas and stretches for miles. Your only company is the occasional fellow guest or fishermen.

The food is great but can be repetitive. That said, the breakfast is to die for and I would not mind their fresh smoothies, soup and noodles every morning for the rest of my life!

Strongly encourage everyone to go to Hoi An in the evenings. Lots of very nice restaurants at a fraction of the price and a lovely villagey athmosphere (not a Sleazy bar in sight which is a great change from Thailand). Take the kids, lots of local families around to play and virtually no traffic in the little lanes.
Shopping is OK (I expected better quality laquerware) and tailors are worth a try (bring you favorite outfit to be replicated in 24-48h).

the spa was a bit of a disappointment, the staff is barely trained so its more a rub than a proper massage. It's still an overall nice experience. They use high quality products and the individual bungalows are semi open to let the nature around you soothe you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend end of July for his birthday treat. There is not much I can add to other reviews here as it really is a gorgeous hotel set in a stunning location with fabulous service. We stayed in a beach front villa and if you dont mind spending the extra dosh for the beach front location and views then I would recommend it. I did find the lay out of the villa a little odd with the bath right next to the bed - there is not much privacy as everything is open plan - and as some other reviewers have commented the villa is very dark - at times even with all the lights on you can still struggle a bit to make things out !
The hotel itself is beautifully laid out with lovely tropical gardens and three separate pools so you are spoilt for choice each day on where you want to relax....pool one, two or three or the beach (which was beautiful , large and empty but terribly hot at the time of year we were there )
Service was outstanding - there was always someone on hand to provide a cool towel or drink and nothing seemed to much trouble ( I was pregnant and the staff went out of their way to make sure there was always a buggy available to transport me from one destination to another - talk about being spoilt !)
The only slightly negative comment I would have - and this is at a real push to find something - was we were slightly disappointed that there was not a greater variety of vietnamese options on the dining menu. There are only two restaurants and whilst one is Vietnamese (the beach bar) the options seemed very small and restrictive compared to the "main " dining room which was all Indian (seemed an odd choice for a Vietnamese hotel !) or Western. Having said that the quality of the food was fantastic wherever you ate so perhaps I am just being overly picky !

Near by Hoi An is a must to visit too - the hotel is about 20 mins away in a shuttle bus (not ideal but thats what you get if you want to be by the beach - a sacrifice well worth making in our view) Hoi An is a little touristy and can get very crowded in the evenings but it has retained its old world charm and has some fabulous little shops and amazing restaurants - definitely visit the Mango Rooms if you can for out of this world Vietnamese food at very decent prices in a pretty setting.

All in all a lovely hotel and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Get a beach front villa - worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

What would be a trip to Vietnam without Hoi An ! And what would be Hoi An without The Nam Hi! The personell maybe the most proffecional I ever had in a Hotel, from the reception, the manager, the cleaning ladies, the drivers, just everybody! The location magical, the way the resort is put together is fantastic with great restauramts great pools! The spa unbeatable! Plus a great shop with many great small and bigger thinks to buy! Don't miss this place if you already made it to Hoi An !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We arrived at the Nam Hai having endured a 22hour train jouney (delayed due to monsoon weather!) and instantly felt relaxed.

The warm and welcoming staff really made our stay memorable and they were great with our kids - especially De (Concierge) and the staff at the kids club - namely Hung and Tung. In general the attitude, service and genuine smiles are to be commended - this is what 5 star service really means.

I can't really fault the resort - every corner of it was spotless and well maintained. The pools are excellent with a family pool, an over 16's pool and a smaller lap pool - which again were spotless and well maintained.

The rooms (we had a one bed bungalow) were amazing as well - generous in space with two sitting areas - one of which had been converted to a bed for our two kids (5 and 3 years old). The kids bathrobes and toiletories were a nice touch.

The breakfast is excellent and served at the main restaurant (there are two). The beach restaurant was great for lunch serving excellent burgers, sandwiches and Vietnamese food. The kids menus were also very good.

All in all a great hotel for a relaxing and upmarket stay. We'd definitely come back sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Couldn't imagine a more perfect place for our honeymoon. Everything was outstanding! Even though the hotel was near 90% occupancy it felt peaceful, quiet and private. We arranged a day trip to Hue through the hotel - a fantastic day out to the former imperial capital through some spectacular countryside. The hotel car and guide were brilliant and cold towels and water were waiting for us every time we returned to the car... nice touch.

Room Tip: All 'rooms' are bungalows on the beach. Can't imagine there is a bad choice at this love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel

Address: Hamlet 1, Dien Duong Village | Dien Ban District, Dien Duong, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Dien Duong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dien Duong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along a seemingly infinite stretch of sand, amidst Vietnam’s richest cultural heritage, a strand of sophisticated, visually striking villas lines the dramatic beachfront. Inspired by 2,500 years of history, The Nam Hai’s architecture and interior design presents a dramatic play on wind and water inspired by ancient feng shui philosophy and the grandeur of the Tu Doc royal tombs of Hue. Explore the nearby UNESCO World Heritage Sites of Hoi An, My Son and Hue with its Buddhist pagodas, royal tombs and historic citadels. Return to our calm, tropical shore on Ha My Beach to relax around three expansive swimming pools, in the spa on a lotus pond, over gourmet Eastern and Western cuisine or in the privacy of one of our 100 private retreats, elegantly finished with Vietnamese lacquer and diaphanous silk, some of which are served by a most attentive butler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nam Hai Hotel Hoi An
Nam Hai Hoi An

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nam Hai Hoi An - a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.