We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beach in the island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shoal Bay

Shoal Bay
Shoal Bay Village, Anguilla
Improve this listing
Visit Shoal Bay like an insider
Top Rated
$145*
and up
Anguilla Day Trip from St Maarten: Catamaran Sail...
Activities: Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular beach with white sand and turquoise water that has its secluded areas as well.
Melbourne, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best beach in the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We explored the island back and fourth several times during our 1 week stay. This is by far the best beach in the whole island with the turquoise color and snorkeling from the shore

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    62
    21
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Beach ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Don't hesitate. Take the ferry to Anguilla (20 mins from Marigot) at a cost of about $86 per couple round trip including ferry fees and departure taxes on both St. Martin and Anguilla. Get a cab (about $50 rt) to Shoal Bay - about a 20 minute ride, and you'll step onto a beach that cannot be rivaled by many. Water clearer than I ever imagined, and I've seen some very clear water. Sand as soft as can be and not shells. Just walk (or run) right into the water without worrying about stepping on anything. Beautiful crescent shaped bay about 1 mile long, perfect for strolling. There's a couple bars/restaurants there and the beers are only $3. Decent food menu as well. Not crowded (we were there on a Thursday). Two chaise lounges and umbrella were only $10 for the day. Go, you will not be disappointed, plus if you're not already on Anguilla for your vacation, you get another stamp in your passport! ENJOY!!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“We Found Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I have been to most Caribbean islands, ranging from Curacao to Grand Cayman and I have yet to find such a beautiful beach as Shoal Bay East in Anguilla. The powder sand, water colour, light breeze, very light waves, and, most importantly, the lack of crowds makes this for me the best beach in the Caribbean, if not the world.

I just cannot say enough about the beauty and tranquility of this beach. It left me with a feeling of awe at the natural beauty of this beach - I literally felt like I was in heaven during my stay there.

If you are a snorkeler, there is a reef within swimming distance that has many schools of fish.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We spent the day at Shoal
Bay, a day trip via charter boat from SXM. I will definitely be back!! The sand, the water, the tranquility, the snorkeling and the fabulous lunch at the beach restaurant... WOW! So peaceful and relaxing... Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“We were in AWE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We visited this tiny island on one of our stops during our honeymoon cruise. The white sands and the clear blue sea were a stark contrast to anything that we had ever seen before - and that left us in complete and utter awe. I don't think I've ever been to such a beautiful area that didn't seem to be completely taken over by my fellow man. Absolutely GORGEOUS.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoal Bay also viewed

Long Bay Village, Anguilla
Sandy Ground, Anguilla
 
Anguilla, Caribbean
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Shoal Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoal Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.