We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bathurst Arms

Bathurst Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Cerney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bathurst Arms
Save
You added Bathurst Arms to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   North Cerney, Cirencester GL7 7BZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 North Cerney B&B and Inns
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

For the prices at this place, you'd expect the glasses and plates and cutlery to be clean, at least. The staff get really naggy when you [politely] point it out to them, too. We found them sullen, rude and unhelpful. As there are plenty of other places to go in the area, we won't be going here any time soon.

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    17
    4
    8
    3
See reviews for
3
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipstones, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

How does the song go? "What a difference a day makes"? Well , what a difference a bill makes. Stayed here in Room 7 on the dinner bed and breakfast deal on 27th and 28th May. The room was clean, comfortable and had tea/coffee making facilities and bottled water and the lack of TV was not a problem as we had come to enjoy the peace and quiet of the area.

Having read the menus on line, we were looking forward to the food which in the event was good quality but very unimaginative (eg. gammon and pineapple with chips, chicken pie with new potatoes) - hardly the height of gastronomy.

The owner James was pleasant and welcoming but no wine menus were forthcoming and I asked for a large glass of red wine - James said that he would proffer something "interesting" which turned out to be acceptable but unremarkable.

We discovered immediately that our loo only flushed itermittently and we reported this the following day. We were told that this was a known problem and they would have a look at it but were given a quick course on how to make it work - take the cistern lid off and hold down the float until the overflow was filled. This, we were assured worked everytime and it did. Have to say, it's the first time I've ever had to undertake plumbing in a hotel room but we didn't make a fuss and just did it.

Breakfast was excellent but the choice of food on the second night was again limited and some items rehashed from the night before eg. spring vegetable broth. We chose a goat's cheese starter which was good but quite 'sloppy' and I asked the waitress for bread as none had been offered. We received two and a half thin slices from a French stick and thought no more about it.

The following morning, I was horrified to see on the bill that the "interesting"wine was £7.20 per glass and the house wine £6.20 per glass, but put this down to my own fault for not insisting on a wine menu. However, the final straw was seeing that we had been charged 50p for the 'extra' bread. I mentioned to the staff member that I was very surprised that we had been charged for this, particularly given our non-working loo. The reply was that 'the chefs go mad if we don't put everything through. I thought it strange that the chefs dictated the charging policy and asked if the owner James was around. I was told that he wasn't on duty that morning and that he had 'gone upstairs'. I waited for the girl to go upstairs and get James but this was clearly not going to happen - at which point I decided never to darken their doors again and post a review on this forum. Have they ever heard of customer service? Suffice it to say that a reasonaby favourable impression was quickly and irrevocably reduced to ashes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We dined out at the Bathurst Arms 2 weeks ago on a Saturday night. We live in Cirencester and this was our favourite pub. I can honestly say it was a total disappointment from start to finish. Upon arrival, we had a drink in the bar and then went through to the restaurant to look at menus. The restaurant was virtually empty (a first) and the staff seemed very young and uninterested - not the young, bright efficient crew we are used to. We ordered and when our food arrived it was very average - not what you'd expect when you are paying London prices. We didn't complain - we can only assume that the pub has changed hands perhaps or that there has been recent high staff turnover. In short, I wouldn't return here - it was a fantastic pub, great food and fantastic atmosphere. Sadly this was not the case when we were last there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay for a short break, we stayed in room 3 which is above the bar but we were not disturbed by noise at all. The staff are all friendly, professional and efficient, the ambiance is friendly and informal whilst providing every thing you need with great service. The food was amazing, fantastic cooking of fresh ingredients. The whole place is spotlessly clean and well worth a visit. highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Bathurst Arms stands back from the road beyond the River Churn, which is on its way to Cirencester. There is a garden for fine weather. It is a seventeenth century coaching inn and looks inviting. Just after midday on a Friday in March, it was exactly that.

Entering, there was the fragrant warmth of a log fire and the convivial sound of lively conversation. We were given a friendly greeting at the bar and offered a table, if we wanted one. There was an enticing range of local beers, some cider and an interesting selection of wine. The Monday to Friday lunch and early evening menu (£12 for two courses and £15 for three) is good value and offers a short but rewarding choice of food prepared on the premises. We certainly enjoyed our three course meal and found it most rewarding. The service is good and we felt that the staff were enthusiastic about everything the Bathurst Arms does.

Across the road is a church, which is worth a visit for those interested in ecclesiastical architecture: twelfth century with additions. It was a useful transition between the warmth of log fires, good ale and comforting food before entering the so-called real world.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a good stay at this charming and attractive pub just a few miles north of Cirencester. Our room [Room 3] was over the bar, was clean and adequate. There is no TV and radio reception is poor. Despite its location we had no noise from the bar, although the pub was not very busy during our stay.

This pub is in the 2103 Good Beer Guide - and the local beers available were in very good condition. The wine list looks good too - but we did not go for the wines. Food is a little pricy, but was good value, as the quality was good and the menu imaginative. The breakfast was very good too - but there was no vegetarian sausages available [we did go out of season].

We found the staff pleasant and helpful. We too enjoyed our stay here, and hope to return.

The car park is large and easy to get into. The pub is just off the main road through North Cerney and well located for Cirencester. The bus service goes just outside the door too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I can recommend the bed in room 1 , i slept like a log - although i thought pricey as there is no telly in the room and not much to do to occupy yourself in the village.The room was clean and tidy with no complaints there.The wine room downstairs is very appealing and some of the bottles of wine cost more than my first car. The service is faultless and food very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bathurst Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bathurst Arms

Address: North Cerney, Cirencester GL7 7BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester > North Cerney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Cerney
Hotel Class:4 star — Bathurst Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque village of North Cerney right on the edge of the River Churn, the Bathurst Arms offers the intimacy of a traditional Inn, combined with the high standards of food, wine and accommodation, expected by today's discerning traveller. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bathurst Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.