We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words can't describe this hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aegialos

Aegialos
Fira Beach, Exo Gialos, Fira 84700, Greece
2286025816
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Exo Gialos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Quincy, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Words can't describe this hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We met Antonis and his cousin George watching the sunset in Mykonos. We told them we were travleing to Santorini. Antonis said that he owned a restaurant and we should come for dinner. We chatted with other travelers we just met and agreed to meet at Aegialos 3 nights later for dinner. OMG - the combination of food, wine, and people made this a night to remember.

Aegialos is off the beaten path but the cab drivers know where it is. The hotel concierge said it was one of the best restaurants on Santorini and he was right.

Three pairs of travelers (from Boston, Chicago, and Atlanta) met at 8pm on Sunday evening on Fira Beach. Antonis greeted us warmly and we settled into the iconic "boat" settee covered with a canopy: Very romantic on a secluded beach. The food and the wine never stopped. we started with fava beans (think hummus) and other vegtable and cheese dips that were so tasty. We had roasted eggplant and squash from his grandmother's garden. Words don't do justice to the grilled squid stuffed with cheese that I ate. Others had a variety of fresh fish that were equally as delectable.

We all agreed after several hours of food and drink that it was one of the best meals we ever had. And here's the kicker: It was one of the least expensive meals we had on the entire trip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    66
    10
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch to remember.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We ate at this restaurant on October 6th.I got lost trying to find it but my sense of direction has never been good.Eventually I stopped someone for directions who turned out to be the guy that supplies this restaurant with fish.
It was worth the effort,a Sunday afternoon lunch we won`t forget,the setting is great....you are right on the beach,even though there was a bit of a wind blowing it was still warm and enjoyable.
As was said on previous posts you are not rushed to order,we ordered king prawns with bread and salad and soaked up the view till our food came.Lovely presentation and delicious.I was not drinking as I had a hire car but I wish we could have spent some more time here to chill out and relax,good food and my wife enjoyed her wine.Sunday lunch to remember.
Still there will be a next time when we visit again and I will take a taxi.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Fira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had an amazing meal at Aegialos! The location is off the beaten path and so romantic. It's right on the beach and the moon is beautiful off the water. The waiter was very knowlegable and didn't rush us to order. We had the Mussels Saganaki as an appitizer, they were simply prepared and delicious. For our entrees we had a fresh pasta and the Sea Bream which was simply prepared and served whole - both were absolutely phenomenal. For dessert, you have to get the Chocolate Lava - OMG so good! Definitely eat here if you find yourself in Fira!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The moment the taxi dropped us off at Aegialos, I was struck by the beautiful ambience and setting. Perched right on an isolated beach, this restaurant is sensational. The mood struck is just right - and the food is exquisite. Antonio recommended the fava and it was great. We also particularly enjoyed the stuffed squid and Aegialos salad. But this restaurant is much more than its delicious food - it's a dining experience - and a memory we'll cherish from our time in Santorini.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

So we decided to walk to this restaurant from our hotel. It's a bit if a hike but absolutely worth it when you get there. It's a beautiful little restaurant on the beach. Our meals were amazing! The octopus is a must do. The family that run the restaurant were lovely and even dropped us home.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aegialos also viewed

 

Been to Aegialos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aegialos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.