We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would book again in a heartbeat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marea Brava

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marea Brava to your Saves list
Marea Brava
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Hermosa Beachfront, 2 Blocks off Main Road | Playa Hermosa -Jaco, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Fort Worth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would book again in a heartbeat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Needed to relocate after air conditioner failed at previous hotel. Alex showed us two rooms, both within our (modest) budget. Pros: Great location on a quiet cul de sac away from the busy main road. Safe parking, attentive staff, 24-hour security, clean cozy rooms (we could have chosen a HUGE 3-bedroom suite but we were sticking to a leaner budget), short walk to the Jungle Surf Cafe and others, great surf location. Cons: Budget linens, funky shower flowed hot on LOW setting only, and then not for very long, no safe in room, not sure we got any maid service. Bottom Line: For the price, this place was clean, cool and comfortable, RIGHT on the beach, deserted (when we were there) and beautifully landscaped. This is now our GO TO destination on the Puntarenas Coast. Skip Jaco. Stay here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    25
    19
    10
    13
See reviews for
27
28
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

The pool is not safe, we saw prostitutes in the Condos with Mexican clients, the Bar is too laugh, not for families, DO NOT TAKE your children’s there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010 via mobile

Stayed there over Christmas, great location but the service is awfull and the rates are too expensive compared to what the hotel offers, also the hotel stuff is unexperienced and unfriendly.
During my stay there I heard that they just got a new managment.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

We have been going to Costa Rica for years and this is my family's favorite spot. Its just minutes from Jaco and a quiet place to come home to.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

We were 2 families with babies. We rented out a standard room for 2 nights (I was told 100$+tax if we paid cash, which is much lower than the official price, but ended up paying 90$ tax incl. when my friend, a Tico, paid the bill).
The standard rooms are practical when you are 2 couples, as they have 2 separate bedrooms (really really small) and a small kitchenette (microwave, sink, mini-fridge). But the rooms are really dark and there are a lot of small ants (but that's pretty normal when you're close to the nature).
We had problems with the hot water, they were really fast in trying to repair it but the following day, we were told it was not possible to repair it. The lady at the reception, instead of transferring us into another standard room, decided to upgrade us to a condo.
The condo rooms are really great, 2 big bedrooms, a huge living room and a huge kitchen, and with ocean view.
The garden is also really beautiful and the 2 swimming pools are great.
It's just a shame there is no restaurant or bar there (apparently there is a bar at the swimming pool, but it was not opened).

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asdfghjkl95
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

Wow. Where do I start. The day we arrived, the room we reserved was not ready. So we had to stay in a smaller room the first night. We were never able to get the difference refunded. We we got our penthouse room the next day. The lock had to be repaired FOUR times. There was no working DVD player, we never could get one. The bar was closed the entire week stay. We had jewelry and cash stolen the last night there. The A/C barely worked. We had the staff do our laundry.. now all our white clothes are a light blue. By the time we left we where almost laughing at how bad the place was. We thought we must be on candid camera. Also the internet service never worked.

Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

So, we walked around town a bit and ended up here without a reservation. There are a lot of new hotels in Playa Hermosa (some even put up within the last couple months), so price competition is definitely entering the area. That said, we stayed at Marea Brava for a price significantly below their book price... Not sure you can do this unless you're willing to risk not having a reservation and getting stuck somewhere else.

Anyway, it was an absolutely beautiful hotel, but our perspective might be a bit skewed by the amazing price we payed. Either way you look at it, though, the rroms are nice and the POOL IS FANTASTIC. Seriously, the best pool in the Americas. Which is important since Playa Hermosa is too violent for all but the most intense surfers to dare. The pool is 12 feet deep and huge... Oh, and they have another pool with a bar. Anyway, it's a nice place, probably the best in Playa Hermosa.

Stay here if you're looking for some luxury and don't mind a beach you can't swim at.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marea Brava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marea Brava

Address: Playa Hermosa Beachfront, 2 Blocks off Main Road | Playa Hermosa -Jaco, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marea Brava 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marea Brava hotel and condos are located in Playa Hermosa (translation: "beautiful beach"). We have two pools, 24hr security, a bar, ATV tours, secured parking, wireless internet, beautiful gardens, beachfront location, air conditioning, maid service, and laundry service. We can arrange any number of exciting local tours and excursions right from our concierge desk. There are (2) one bedroom hotel rooms and (5) two bedroom hotels rooms. The beachfront penthouse condo is uniquely decorated & located on the top floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Marea Brava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marea Brava Playa Hermosa
Marea Brava Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marea Brava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.