We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect surf apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marea Brava

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marea Brava to your Saves list
Marea Brava
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Hermosa Beachfront, 2 Blocks off Main Road | Playa Hermosa -Jaco, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect surf apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

A friend and I spent 10 days staying in one of the apartments overlooking the beach - getting up at 5am to take advantage of the early morning off shore winds we just had to roll out of bed and onto the beach.
Good wifi reception round the pool (free) the apartment was spacious and kept clean outstanding value - hope to go back again next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    25
    19
    10
    13
See reviews for
27
28
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taos, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Both the owner & staff were wonderful, we stayed in two different type of rooms,, one a two bedroom more for budget minded & the other a 3 bedroom condo style with full kitchen.. balcony off the back overlooking the ocean.. Great place for the whole family to stay or just a couple surfers looking to catch some really great waves.. the grounds are beautiful & the pools are kept perfect.. You can walk to some great places to eat.. just up on the main road are a great pizza place & a bakery called Blue grass café,, that has real homemade American Apple pie & cinnamon rolls like grandma made.. hard things to find in Costa Rica.. Will be going back for sure!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I love to stay at privately owned hotels, especially when an American owner lives on property and supervises the day to day operations. No language barriers. We had a great stay at this beautiful property. It is located between a beautiful black sand beach and a mangrove area. The rooms were clean and neat. The staff was very friendly. And the beds were comfortable. We were on the road and took a chance on this place. So the first day we were able to stay in a beachfront "surfer" two bedroom suite right on the beach. The second day we were upgraded to a magnificent suite with a 3rd story penthouse view of the Pacific. Both suites were a very good value. The pools were kept very clean. The grounds were beautiful. While we are not surfers it was sure fun to watch those surfing pros who surfed in front of Marea Brava. They told us that Hermosa Beach is one of the top surfing destinations in the world. The best thing was how close the hotel was to the major tourist city of Jaco, yet without all the noise of that busy city. We found lots of fun things to do nearby including zip lines, canopy tours, casinos, shopping, and a really cool nearby bakery called the Bluegrass Cafe and Bakery...really great homemade cinnamon rolls, house blend gourmet coffee and apple pie. This was a really great vacation!

Room Tip: If you want a great surfing location...ask for room 5 on the side of the hotel where the reception d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Marea Brava is a great hotel with a beautiful pool area right on the beach. It is located on the northern end of Playa Hermosa which made it nice and tranquil and more private but still close enough to walk to restaurants which we really liked. There are great waves for surfing right out front and the beach is beautiful. Overall we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I recently got back from Costa Rica. We went there on a surfing vacation and stayed at Marea Brava. It could not have been a better decision. We were steps away from a deserted beach and five minutes away from the busy town of Jaco. The pool at Marea Brava was our favorite! It was surrounded by impeccably manicured vegetation. The staff actually cut down fresh coconuts each day and cut them open so we could have a refreshing drink after surfing. The staff was as friendly as could be along with the owner Jamie, who brought us into town and recommended places to eat. If you are planning a trip to Jaco, Marea Brava is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I rarely write reviews (good or bad) but feel compelled to add my thoughts on Marea Brava. This is a great place. It has beautiful grounds, excellent rooms, two great pools (one large one small), fantastic location on a very soulful beach (great surf right out front) and a great staff. Everyone is nice from Lilly at the front desk to the grounds keepers and the night watchman. Marea Brava is about 5 kilos from Jaco - which is a fun town with great restaurants but its busy. Hermosa is mellow. I've stayed at 4 hotels in Hermosa and liked them all. But this one is my favorite! Thank you Jamie and Lilly for always delivering!

Room Tip: I prefer space so I usually stay in one of the oceanfront condos. Each has a balcony (or porch on gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I loved it.. We were booked for 5 nights at the dump next door to Marea Brava.. After the first night at the dump, I kept looking next door at the property of the Marea Brava, and kept wishing I was there.. We walked over to the office and ask for rates and availability..We were greeted by Lily , she was so nice and accommodating to us.. She could tell how unhappy I was with our current hotel next door.. She gave us the most incredible walk in deal, that was actually better than what we were paying next door..we cancelled the dump , packed our stuff and headed over to Paradise.. The room was great , huge balcony with pool and ocean view...The grounds of the property are beautiful and lush..I have nothing bad to say about this place, I would love to come back with friends and family and stay in 3 bedroom penthouse with full kitchen..you can BBQ , swim , surf , read a book under the trees...We would come back anytime...Thank you Lily...Tracy Hernandez

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marea Brava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marea Brava

Address: Playa Hermosa Beachfront, 2 Blocks off Main Road | Playa Hermosa -Jaco, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marea Brava 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marea Brava hotel and condos are located in Playa Hermosa (translation: "beautiful beach"). We have two pools, 24hr security, a bar, ATV tours, secured parking, wireless internet, beautiful gardens, beachfront location, air conditioning, maid service, and laundry service. We can arrange any number of exciting local tours and excursions right from our concierge desk. There are (2) one bedroom hotel rooms and (5) two bedroom hotels rooms. The beachfront penthouse condo is uniquely decorated & located on the top floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Marea Brava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marea Brava Playa Hermosa
Marea Brava Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marea Brava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.