We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marea Brava

Save Saved
You added Marea Brava to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marea Brava
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Hermosa Beachfront, 2 Blocks off Main Road, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Total tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I recently got back from Costa Rica. We went there on a surfing vacation and stayed at Marea Brava. It could not have been a better decision. We were steps away from a deserted beach and five minutes away from the busy town of Jaco. The pool at Marea Brava was our favorite! It was surrounded by impeccably manicured vegetation. The staff actually cut down fresh coconuts each day and cut them open so we could have a refreshing drink after surfing. The staff was as friendly as could be along with the owner Jamie, who brought us into town and recommended places to eat. If you are planning a trip to Jaco, Marea Brava is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    19
    13
    6
    11
See reviews for
17
23
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I rarely write reviews (good or bad) but feel compelled to add my thoughts on Marea Brava. This is a great place. It has beautiful grounds, excellent rooms, two great pools (one large one small), fantastic location on a very soulful beach (great surf right out front) and a great staff. Everyone is nice from Lilly at the front desk to the grounds keepers and the night watchman. Marea Brava is about 5 kilos from Jaco - which is a fun town with great restaurants but its busy. Hermosa is mellow. I've stayed at 4 hotels in Hermosa and liked them all. But this one is my favorite! Thank you Jamie and Lilly for always delivering!

Room Tip: I prefer space so I usually stay in one of the oceanfront condos. Each has a balcony (or porch on gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I loved it.. We were booked for 5 nights at the dump next door to Marea Brava.. After the first night at the dump, I kept looking next door at the property of the Marea Brava, and kept wishing I was there.. We walked over to the office and ask for rates and availability..We were greeted by Lily , she was so nice and accommodating to us.. She could tell how unhappy I was with our current hotel next door.. She gave us the most incredible walk in deal, that was actually better than what we were paying next door..we cancelled the dump , packed our stuff and headed over to Paradise.. The room was great , huge balcony with pool and ocean view...The grounds of the property are beautiful and lush..I have nothing bad to say about this place, I would love to come back with friends and family and stay in 3 bedroom penthouse with full kitchen..you can BBQ , swim , surf , read a book under the trees...We would come back anytime...Thank you Lily...Tracy Hernandez

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had an amazing experience at Marea Brava- upon checking in, the owner immediately upgraded us to a penthouse. It was BEAUTIFUL! Ocean front, huge balcony with a swing, bar, and double lounger. It was so spacious- 3 bedrooms, a huge living area with a nice sectional, a dining room, and FULL kitchen! The bed was fabulous- a rare find in Costa! We got the best night's sleep with that comfortable bed and the waves crashing on the beach.
Another typical problem in Costa was not an issue at all at Marea Brava- their showers were hot and the water pressure was superb. I saw NO bugs- also amazing for Costa Rica!
They have several pools, we enjoyed the sunnier one, trying to get as tan as possible before we returned. The pool shaded by trees had WiFi access.
Our room/penthouse was beautiful- see my photos I uploaded of the gorgeous mural painted in the master bedroom!
Marea Brava was the perfect beach getaway for us- we loved everything about it, and we will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: We loved B5- the sunset view was spectacular, the master bedroom has a gorgeous mural and the bed is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pass
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

There are some hotels that give up on any maintenance since they are in such a nice location and they will always be able to count on customers... this is one of them. The place has not seen any refurbishing for a long time. The main pool was extremely dirty, full of locals getting drunk and being really loud. The internet was very slow, only around the reception. There is no breakfast available, and the air-conditioning does not work. They charged an extraordinary amount of money for basically no service. I will never go back...

Room Tip: Just don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed last week for 2 nights and had a great experience. The room was in great shape and there was no problems. The only slight complaint was the lady that worked the front desk...she needs a lesson in dealing with customers. The owner Jamey was great !

Room Tip: Stay in the condos
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I was initially excited about my stay at Marea Brava, from reading the website it seemed as if it combined the best of both worlds. It was off the beaten path and still remained accessible and had plenty of activities near and around it. A plus for an adventure traveler like myself. However, after reading reviews on Tripadvisor, I became a little soured on the idea of staying here. It was too late though as the contract doesn't allow you to cancel without a cancellation fee no matter how far in advance you give notice. Also, the booking system is terrible in my opinion. You are forced to download a form and then fax in your information without clear confirmation on the rate and availability of the room chosen. First strike for me.

After arriving, one of the first things I noticed was that trash was piled up in an area and looked like it had been there for several days. I don't know if this is because trash pick up is sporadic in this area or what but it didn't set a good tone for this place and honestly I hadn't noticed anything like that in any other hotel that I stayed at. Second strike for me.

Once, we entered we were told that we could upgrade our room to one of the penthouses for a just a little bit more than fee for the regular bedroom. Sounded like a win to me. However, the attendant only wanted cash and though it made sense on some level. I couldn't shake the feeling of something being wrong here as I read many reviews of previous visitors having difficulty with being over charged. We took the deal and were showed to the room. It was spacious and outfitted pretty nicely. Leather couches, HDTV, kitchen area and a view of the beach directly from the balcony as you walked out onto it. Note to others, this is a pretty nice set up if you go with a group (couples, friends, etc.) and have brought food, games, and things to do as there isn't much available in entertainment nearby. If not you may find it boring as I did. We woke up to a room without lights, running water and that was the last strike as we decided to leave even if there was a cancellation fee involved.

Luckily, the attendant there wasn't that bad in letting us leave without a problem. He didn't charge us a cancellation fee and even let us stay a little past check out time to take a shower and get our things ready after the water and lights came back on.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marea Brava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marea Brava

Also Known As:
Marea Brava Playa Hermosa
Marea Brava Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa
Address: Playa Hermosa Beachfront, 2 Blocks off Main Road, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marea Brava 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marea Brava hotel and condos are located in Playa Hermosa (translation: "beautiful beach"). We have two pools, 24hr security, a bar, ATV tours, secured parking, wireless internet, beautiful gardens, beachfront location, air conditioning, maid service, and laundry service. We can arrange any number of exciting local tours and excursions right from our concierge desk. There are (2) one bedroom hotel rooms and (5) two bedroom hotels rooms. The beachfront penthouse condo is uniquely decorated & located on the top floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Marea Brava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marea Brava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.