We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Backyard Hotel

Save Saved
You added Backyard Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Backyard Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hermosa Beach | 4 km from Playa Jaco, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Playa Hermosa
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Travel Dates: August 6th - 14th

This hotel was beautiful. It's also a hotspot every Wednesday Night (Ladies night = free drinks) and has a local surf competition right on their beach every Saturday. It's definitely an awesome place to be. The rooms are spacious. We had all three of us in one room (one king and one queen sized bed), tv, a/c, hot water, coffee machine, clean towels, a safe, and we were just busy the pool (room #103).

It also has a nice bar, pool table, swimming pool, and best is you could just sit in the "restaurant/bar area" and watch the surfers all day long!

It is the last hotel on the Playa Hermosa stretch of hotels and inns but it's definitely worth it. We didn't have a car but the bus stop is not that far of a walk from the hotel anyways, it's just outside the soccer field/school and takes you to Jaco. If there are four of you, you could always just split for a cab @ $4usd which is almost the equivalent to taking the bus for 500 colones (~$1usd).

If you're looking for a comfortable place to stay - this is it. There are lots of hotels and inns on this stretch of the area (Playa Hermosa) but after all the hostels we've stayed at, we really enjoyed every last bit of this hotel. It was our week to finally relax and do some surfing!

Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
5
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

Every aspect of this place is awesome. I went with 3 buddies out of college. We rented a car but because we had our boards with us we also hailed a taxi van to take us. We follwed our cab to the backyard. We got this huge suite in the front of the hotel. It was great. The here is a blast and the food is surprisingly great. Best burritos i've ever had. The surf there in august was very heavy and big. If you aren't an experienced surfer i'd recommend jaco before trying to tackle the waves out front. We went into town every night for the nightlife but none compare to the bar at the hotel. We found many of the tourist bars/discos were full of hookers. We met up with some locals who took us to a couple locals places and it was much better. Next time I go I'm just gonna hang at the backyard bar. This place is not an all inclusive resort, its an awesome hotel, so if you're looking for a resort, i wouldn't recommend this place. Can't wait to sip some more of that sweet imperial.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

A Great Hotel in a great Location! The staff was as friendly as could be and very helpful. The pool was perfect. We loved the little Iguana that lived by the pool. Attached to the hotel is cool bar/restaurant with a great ladies night! We ate seafood there which was nice a fresh. The surfing in front of the hotel was some of the best we encounter in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

Good lopcation if your a surfer or into the bar scene. Fun young crowd.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

The backyard was really like a home away from home. Located in Playa Hermosa, right outside of Jaco, it is the place to stay to enjoy the serenity of the beach and the vibrancy of Jaco. The Hotel is adjacent to the Backyard Restaurant and Bar, but don't worry it is fairly low key. During the day it provides a beautiful view of the beach and a tantalizing swim in the pool. Stroll on up to the restaurant to spy the lull in the waves that brings plenty a surfer in for a beer. As of our trip, the Ladies' Night was wednesday and this was the only busy night at the bar but this was a positive more than a negative because nightlife is less than five minutes away in Jaco if that is what you're interested in. The rooms were roomy, air conditioned, clean, and punctually prepared. The maid service left beautiful hibiscus flowers on the bed which made the room smell heavenly. We were so pleased with our experience with the facilities and the service at the Backyard and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

Back again. This was our fourth visit to Costa Rica & the Backyard Hotel & Restaurant/Bar. I had heard the Halloween Party at the Backyard Hotel was the best in Costa Rica and well worth the trip. It was awesome! I can’t remember the last Halloween party I went to but what a better reason to head down to Costa Rica. We rented the top floor oceanfront suite with two rooms and a huge wrap around balcony and a beautiful view. We pulled in on 3:00pm Wednesday the 29th October and got bite and had few drinks and then Jason & I hit the Hermosa Beach for a quick swim in what is really not a swimming beach. The currents and waves really make it more of test to see you can make in and out alive. We had a ball. Kelly and Heather both relaxed and watched to see if either one of them was going to get lucky and hit the jackpot (Life Insurance). Wednesday night is ladies night at The Backyard which is known for a 100 miles around as party central. The party starts around 9:00 ends around 2:00. And then there’s Jaco which is 24/7. Jason, Kelly and Heather had never been to Costa Rica before but were ready for a little adventure. Ladies night at the Backyard was the perfect for getting everyone up to speed for the Halloween party on Friday. The Backyard also has live music through out the week. As usual the staff at the Backyard was exceptional and the owner knows how to throw a party. It was great! We also went whitewater rafting, zip lining and took surfing lessons from Shilka (The Best Surf Instructor / Real Estate Broker in Costa Rica). Marilyn at the Backyard Hotel can help you set up any excursion you could possible want. My wife Heather was amazed at how clean and nice the hotel was. We are planning another trip in the beginning of 2009. The Backyard Hotel is convenient to any activity that you could possibly want to do and has a great atmosphere.

  • Liked — The Staff was Great.
  • Disliked — Leaving.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

We booked through Cental America web site and our price was $140/night for 2, which was cheaper than the posted rates. Fruit and toast for breakfast was very good with the ocean a few feet away. Very clean and responsive staff. The next door restaurant celebrated their 15th year in business with a band and huge party until all hours. If you want to sleep, stay somewhere else.
My daughter surfs, and that was why were there in Costa Rica.
Backyard is a good spot for walking out of your room into the ocean to surf. Nice pool.
We made the mistake of eating seafood at the Jungle Surf Cafe, a few dooors down from the Backyard, and my daughter became violently ill. I contacted the front desk for help and EMS arrived in 10 minutes. They gave her an IV and shots and said that she was having an allergic reaction. She has traveled the world for years and never gotten sick. Luckily, the next morning she was fine and we are thankful for the swift, efficient medical care.

  • Liked — Location on the beach.
  • Disliked — I worried about security even though it is a gated property. Access is open through the restaurant.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Backyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backyard Hotel

Address: Hermosa Beach | 4 km from Playa Jaco, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Backyard Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Backyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backyard Hotel Playa Hermosa
Backyard Hotel Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.