We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Backyard Hotel

Save Saved
You added Backyard Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Backyard Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hermosa Beach | 4 km from Playa Jaco, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Playa Hermosa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Worst Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

I went to breakfast with a group of 5 people. We all ordered breakfast and ended up having to wait 1 hour for the first round of cold plates to arrive. The two fortunate that did get their breakfast ate it quickly. The rest had to wait 30 more minutes to get it, only after I complained firmly. The final 2 breakfasts came 20 minutes after we had all finished eating. Terrible staff, terrible service. Not recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
5
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Backyard hotel for two nights...that was enough! While the rooms we sort of clean, you were overwhelmed by the smell of bleach when you walked in which lasted the whole two days. The king bed was great but not the linens...they were frayed and thin and uncomfortable. The towels were no better. The curtains had black mold on them. What does that say! Pool OK but way too warm...our toilet was plugged..yep, they gave us the plunger to fix it!! Can't believe this place is owned by a doctor..I am pretty sure he and his family would not stay in one of the rooms..

Morah from Canada

Room Tip: Bottom floor near the pool was OK!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

There is much to enjoy about this property - it is right on the beach, reasonably priced, and has a relaxing pool to spend time in. It is not in any way, however, a fancy property - the rooms were not particularly clean or well-appointed and it lacked character.

The biggest issue, however, is that the bar next door holds a "ladies night" that happened during one of the nights that we were there. There was music blasting and drunk people screaming all over the property until 4am. No one had warned us that this would happen and we spent the entire night awake in our room frustrated that we were unable to sleep for an entire night of our "vacation." I would not recommend this place to anyone. It ruined our experience and I cannot believe they do not warn guests about this.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Backyard is a great place. Start off with the boutique hotel kept to the standards of any 4 star with service to match. The rooms are fully equipped and well below market price for comparable lodging but that's just the start. Next door you will find the Backyard Restaurant and Bar. The kitchen offer an eclectic mix of entrees and everything on the menu is very good. At night they add music, there is a surf contest every Saturday without fail and the wait staff is first class and friendly. Pricing in the restaurant is moderate with nice portions. Add to this beautiful sunsets and miles of surf beach makes this the perfect place to spend most any afternoon. We have stayed at the hotel on many occasions and have never been left down and we have and do eat at the restaurant regularly without disappointment.

A couple of perks include sports on TV for the big games, and if you are their in the season you might even see a pod of killer whales feeding off shore right in front of you one morning while enjoying your free breakfast and coffee. We have..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

a guy from the states owns this restaurant-bar and hotel. very nice place. we stayed here 6 nights, it was cool listening to reggae from our own patio-pool. This beach(Playa Hermosa) is a real surfer beach.......... We took one of the best pictures of us here at sunset. You wont be unhappy to stay here or eat here......... Very fond memories for us. PURA VIDA !!!

Room Tip: there is only a few rooms, take whats available !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Ended up here by chance. We saw Playa Hermosa from the zipline and had to come. We were hungry and hot. The service was exceptional. The food fresh and the portions were perfect. I had the arroz con camarones. "yellow rice with shrimp" yum. Top it off with an Imperial; local beer.
The surf was sooo cool. Pura Vida. Came back the next day for a surfing competition.

The staff was quick to warn us (again and again) about the strong current since we had 3 kids with us. Of course I had to see for myself. Really neat vibe. Thanks Backyard and Emilio. We had a great time watching the competition!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

My son wanted to try this restaurant. It was pretty good. We had good service and awesome view of the beach. Wish we could have seen the surfing competition. But that's on Saturdays. But we had a terrific time and good food. Check it out.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Backyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backyard Hotel

Address: Hermosa Beach | 4 km from Playa Jaco, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Backyard Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Backyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backyard Hotel Playa Hermosa
Backyard Hotel Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.