We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Terraza del Pacifico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terraza del Pacifico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Terraza del Pacifico to your Saves list
Terraza del Pacifico
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 km south of El Arroyo gas station onthe way to Quepos,, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Bartlett, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Loved the Terraza del Pacifico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2007

We stayed at the Terraza del Pacifico as part of a "Caravan Tour" to Costa Rica. We had read terrible reviews about this hotel, but found them to be untrue. Our room had an incredible view (our room was ocean front), with a huge veranda overlooking the beach, pool and snack bar. Our room was well maintained in every way, clean and newly
renovated, complete with folded animal towels on the bed. We could see how much work they had done and it is evident that they are in the process of renovating the entire hotel. We had a great time in a lovely room and think that it is worth giving them a chance. The location on the beach would be hard ti beat. M & J Williams

  • Liked — Location- Beach Front
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    22
    28
    22
    28
See reviews for
37
31
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

We also stayed here as part of our Caravan Tour. Prior to our tour I had read several negative reviews about this property so I had set my expectations fairly low. Then, while on the tour, our tour director warned us not to get too spoiled by the hotels we stayed at because our last hotel was more basic. He warned us about A/C possibly not working (but to request a room switch if that happened), problems with hot water etc. So of course I set my expectations even lower.

Upon our arrival we were greeted with frozen drinks with rum added on request. At this hotel, we had the all-inclusive option. The only food I had from the snack bar was the guacamole and nachos and those were fine. The drinks were also good and made stronger on request. Our rooms faced the main courtyard and pool with a glimpse of ocean in the distance. The restaurant is open-air and overlooks the ocean. The ocean is not swimmable here due to dangerous rip tides, but the setting is beautiful - especially at sunset. You can go for long beach walks too. There is a family of scarlet macaws in residence in one of their trees and seeing all nine of them soar into the air at once was one of the highlights of my trip.

Our room was perfectly adequate - everything worked, the room was freshly painted and it was clean.

Compared to the food in our prior, supposedly luxury hotel, I thought it was better. There was a lot of variety and the food was less Americanized - which I preferred. After dinner, we would sit and watch the waves from the terrace - the hotel throws a spotlight on the ocean for a while at night.

The staff was congenial and accomodating for the most part. We felt they were making quite an effort to improve their services.

Although it wasn't the nicest hotel we stayed at, I enjoyed my stay here very much and found the service better than at some the other hotels. The previous reviewer claimed that the other Caravan hotel is better but I highly doubt they had as nice an ocean experience.

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — Pool could have been cleaner
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

We also stayed at this hotel as part of a Caravan Tour. Unlike the last reviewer, we were in the rooms on the beach side (which we were told is the older section). Our Caravan Tour was OUTSTANDING and every other property we stayed at during the tour was very nice. This was the only property that had significant problems.

The plus side is that the pool area, restaurant area and beach are very, very nice! The food was average to pretty good with extremely nice and helpful restaurant staff.

Now for the problems.... If all you want is a place with clean sheets and a relatively clean shower that's in a beautiful location, then you might be ok with this. But - aside from the fact that the sheets did seem pretty clean, the rest of the room was filthy!! The floor looked like it had not been mopped in years, and only the main walking area had been swept, as there was a buildup of filth, dust and dirt along the sides of the room.

The bed was pretty hard, but ok - the pillows were really weird with lots of lumps and clumps of material in them. The infrastructure of the hotel is basically falling apart. Another person in our tour group had a hole in her outside wall that the hotel management had tried to plug with styrofoam (not very effectively I might add). One day she walked in and found an iguana wandering around her room, and she also had two crabs get into her room (these crabs are about 4 inches so they're not real small). Another person found a tarantula in her bathroom. I think that the housekeeping staff leave the doors open while they're "cleaning" - although I think they mostly just make the bed and don't really clean a thing. I found a "lovely" 3 - 4" cockroach in my room after the housekeeping staff had been in there. I spilled some water on the vanity area next to the sink and wiped it off with a kleenex and noticed that the kleenex was completely brown from all the embedded dirt, which someone might not completely notice because the color of the vanity is a dark green.

Basically the place is pretty much just falling apart and needs to be torn down or "gutted" and completely rebuilt! If you like to camp and don't mind living in a dirty environment along with having holes in the walls and a housekeeping staff that allow all sorts of creatures into your room, you'd be fine with this hotel. Most of us on the tour just laughed about this one, because all our other hotels were just fine. We just focused on the fact that the setting is really nice with the pool area and beach. Plus, Jaco just doesn't seem like a real upscale or clean kind of town. I think it's a rundown "party town" for surfers that has really great beaches

As an aside - if you do stay at this hotel (or in the area), you should definitely sign up for the "Zip line" activity that they offer for $60. It was an outstanding experience with really nice and helpful staff!!

  • Liked — nice pool area, restaurant area and location right on the beach
  • Disliked — Filthy, falling apart
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

This hotel was the last stop on our Costa Rica tour run by Caravan. Of the 4 hotels we stayed in , this was by far the worst. Perhaps our expectations were higher based upon the previous three hotels we stayed at on this trip; nevertheless, the quality of this property was more reminiscent of a "Daytona Beach Spring Break" hotel that one would stay at when they were 18-years-old and single. this is not the kind of property one would take their family to.

The rooms are in two separate areas: nearer to the beach and across a hotel road closer to the main road. We were put in the latter rooms, with a lovely view of a litter-strewn parking lot. The rooms were clean, but there was an annoying faint odor of backed up sewage coming from the shower drain, a claim that several other travelers noted as well. The room didn't even have a knob on the entry door! The way the door remained closed was by throwing the security bolt.

The outdoor eating area was actually very nice, the food was plentiful and for the most part average-to-good. The exception was the "snack bar" food offered poolside which was very sub par in quality (e.g., overcooked hamburgers that were literally construction paper-thin.)

The pools were clean and my kids enjoyed them. Unfortunately, it was hard not feeling like you were staying at a dilapidated property.

BIAS DISCLOSURE: Our tour consisted of two separate tour buses staying at two different properties at each stop. Apparently, the alternate property in Jaco was gorgeous and represented a substantial step up in quality as compared to Terraza. Some of the dissatisfaction about this property his its foundation in this fact.

Verdict; Thumbs down!

  • Liked — location on beautiful beach
  • Disliked — everything else!
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mt. laurel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2007

We stayed at the Terrazo with our Caravan tour. It was by far the worst hotel we had stayed in. It's on the beach, but that's where the niceties end. The room was rundown, and we were in the newly renovated section. We did not have any hot water for showers for our 2 day stay. We didn't receive our requested wakeup call our first morning, and almost missed our tour to Manuel Antonio. The reception had a "couldn't care less" attitude about that mix up. Our toilet broke our last night at the hotel and since reception closes at 10pm, we were on our own with our unfunctioning toilet. The food was adequate at best. Their saving grace was that the hotel is located on a nice beach. I wouldn't stay here again, and wouldn't recommend it.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2006

Absolutely horrible. First of all they book your credit card in advance then do not let you cancel after you arrive and see this horror show. No hot water...no toilets that will flush for two days (and I was sick...probably from their food). Garbage laying around. Customer service was joke, argued with you. Avoid at all costs

  • Stayed November 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2006

I stayed at the Terraza with a few friends over New Years Eve. The overall atmosphere is good, the beach is only steps away from your room. Great breakfast in the mornings and the overall dining experience was pretty good.

The rooms were nothing to write home about. Very Basic..tile floors, lumpy beds and not great bathrooms but after looking at a few properties down in Jaco this one seemed to be better than the rest. It definitley could have been cleaner in the rooms, the maid service wasnt great but when you are this close to the beach, you dont want to spend too much time in your room anyways.

I'd stay around here, In Playa hermosa over Jaco, the beaches are much nicer and it just feels safer. Downtown Jaco is only a 5 minute drive so you are still close to nightlife and restaurants.

  • Liked — Proximity to the beach
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terraza del Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terraza del Pacifico

Address: 3 km south of El Arroyo gas station onthe way to Quepos,, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Terraza del Pacifico 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Terraza del Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terraza Del Pacifico Hotel Playa Hermosa
Terraza Del Pacifico Playa Hermosa
Terraza Del Pacifico Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terraza del Pacifico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.