We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This not a very everyting included” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Terraza del Pacifico

Save Saved
You added Terraza del Pacifico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Terraza del Pacifico
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 km south of El Arroyo gas station onthe way to Quepos,, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Playa Hermosa
San Jose
1 review
“This not a very everyting included”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

1-They say check in time is at 2:00pm and they gave us the rooms until 5:00pm
2-Service is really bad, if you ask for a cocktail they give you one and then you ask again for the same kind of drink, and they do not have "more"???it happend two times with a different a alcohol
3-The snack are so so, and they just have one kind of food, if you do not like you have to other another thing and they will charge you around $20 plus tax
4-Two days after we left there was a extra charge to my credit card for around $80, so I called the hotel and they toll me that one person did not pay for the rooms?...How can be this possible???if the rooms was already paid?
I will not stay again

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    19
    23
    21
    21
See reviews for
32
26
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
costa mesa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

worst hotel service ever. a/c was broken ,no clean towel,no hot water.made bed without sheet. they chareged someone else`s restaurant bill to our credit.Hotel stuff never made solution.you get much better service from cheap costa rican cabinas.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

Lonely planet said this hotel was "upscale." Boy did they get it wrong. Most of the hotel has no view, the rooms are cramped, the bed is the most uncomfortable bed I've ever had in a hotel and to add insult to this the sheets are paper thin (no mattress cover either) as are the bath towels (we did not get hand towels or wash cloths). The property stinks of sewage, probably no surprise since soon after checking in our toilet refused to flush and no one was available to repair it until the following morning. This is a gruesome hotel that is way overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

the worst service that may exist in a hotel, the staff can not perform their work in bad shape attention.

please never go there

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vannaVanna
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

This hotel is completely run-down. Paint is chipping off the walls, the A/C sounds like a freight train, food is horrible, rooms are not clean and hotel is generally not maintained.

There are fewer than 10 chairs around the pool so if you are not the first one there you have to place your towel on the concrete around the pool. Of course the problem is that there aren't enough pool towels either. Staff is completely apathetic.

The ocean is only good for surfing. the waves are too dangerous for swimming.

Spend your money elsewhere.

  • Liked — Watching surfers
  • Disliked — EVerything else
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

June 27-29

We went to this motel (they call themselves a resort hotel but it's really more like the quality of a motel) with a large group and had a great time. The highlight of the stay was the weekly Saturday "night surf competition" right in front of the restaruant. This place is right off the high tide water line with a close-in view of the raging sea waves. Absolutely beautiful to see, but there is no way you can swim in this ocean. Lots of surfing though!

We had lots of kids in our group and this was fine as they had each other to play with and there are two pools there, both clean and chlorinated. Two medium sized pools that are good for younger kids. The pool bar only was open during the day on Sat. No lights in the pool, but you can swim there anyway.

We had meals included with our room, and the food was average, but well worth the cost. You get what you pay for! Easy for the kids, since we did not have to go anywhere to eat. Kids collected and played with hermet crabs, and had fun in the sand. Large McCaw parrots came to feast on the fruit from the trees. Lots of waves to watch and hear thunder, as well as lots of surfers on this "expert surf" beach.

Rooms were fine, with air conditioning, but really on the basic side. Drapes did not cover the tops of the windows, so if you like sleeping in that's difficult. They could really use a remodel, but then again for $140 a night with meals for a family what can you expect? Based on other reveiws, we rented the safe.

  • Liked — The closeness to the crashing waves and beach
  • Disliked — Room quality was basic and cheap
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANADA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

Terraza del Pacifico hotel it is really fantastic. Clean rooms, good security, and excellent food. I love Costa Rica, end in my opinion this is the best hotel in Jaco. It’s in from of the beach, especial for surfing. I was here per 5 nights and all is very good.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Terraza del Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terraza del Pacifico

Address: 3 km south of El Arroyo gas station onthe way to Quepos,, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Terraza del Pacifico 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Terraza del Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terraza Del Pacifico Hotel Playa Hermosa
Terraza Del Pacifico Playa Hermosa
Terraza Del Pacifico Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terraza del Pacifico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.