We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach, Pacific waters and Macaws” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Terraza del Pacifico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Terraza del Pacifico to your Saves list
Terraza del Pacifico
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 km south of El Arroyo gas station onthe way to Quepos,, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great beach, Pacific waters and Macaws”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The beach views and the beach are fantastic! Our rooms were clean with and OK-working AC and good showers. The property itself is very dated and not in a charming way. It can definitely use some updates since the beach area around is was beautiful. Black sand, great waves to swim (but not directly near the hotel - you will need to go a bit away to catch some great waves in the warmest Pacific water I have ever experienced!

We saw Scarlett Macaws and they were such a pleasure to see in the mornings.

We were here as part of an OAT tour group and the buffet and staff were good and friendly.

Room Tip: The even numbered rooms on the top floor provide good views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerrazaPacifico, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Terraza del Pacifico, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank for visit us. We try to do the best for our visitors.

Hotel Terraza del Pacifico have lucky because the position: around the mountain and closer to the beach. One of the best beach for surfing.

We hope you come back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    21
    27
    22
    28
See reviews for
36
31
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This place was disgusting. They were rude right at the get go. There were ants in the room, bugs on the comforters and lizards in the room. The safe didn't work , they said they would send someone right up and no one ever came. The shower was broken, they again said they would send someone up and no one ever came. Lastly, the pool with the swim up bar had a disgusting film on it. Don't stay here!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here on an OAT tour for 2 nights. If your tour is bringing your here - protest it before you leave for your trip!! It presents nicely from the outside - landscaping - pool - beautiful view of the ocean surf. So check in - and take a closer look! Rooms are very shabby. Bathrooms are atrocious! Plug in bathroom was broken and sunk into the wall. You had to string the electric cord from the hairdryer across the room to use the dryer. The whole bathroom flooded with every shower since the shower door would not close. Floor was all broken apart. Lighting was horrible in both rooms.....the bedspread on the bed was DISGUSTING! I do not mean just old - I mean FILTHY!! So gross! There were NO blankets to be had anywhere. The restaurant was fairly good - there was no entertainment at all. You could not swim at this beach since it was too rough and dangerous....a definite tease to be there but not be able to get in the water.
NOW - for the WORST PART! I was robbed along with 5 others on my tour by the FRONT DESK STAFF....who robbed a substantial amount of money from our wallets and waist packs that were placed for safekeeping in the hotel safe. We would have been better off placing our money in a sock in our room! We are still waiting for reimbursement. OAT says they will make good on it and tried to make us feel better by saying that guy would be fired.
Big deal! They need to STOP using this hotel. I will also address with with OAT.
I also got clusters of bites on my legs and feet while sleeping in the bed. Not sure if it was fleas or what but they are still itchy days later.

Too bad this had to happen on the last night of a wonderful 2 week adventure - it was a real bummer. This place is a dump - stay away!!

Room Tip: I cannot believe there are any good rooms in this place!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, FL
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This had to be one of the worst hotels I have stayed in for a long time. Everything was old and outdated. The air conditioning was very sporadic. Paint was chipping from the exterior of the building. The door leading out to the pool area had a bedroom door lock which could be opened from the outside with a pin (but there was a slid lock on the door). The front door had no security chain. The chain was missing in several (if not all) of the rooms. There was no safe in the room and a few people in the group left money and other personal belongs at the front desk for safekeeping. Some had some money missing when they picked up their valuables. The small pool in the upper areas had paint peeling on the sitting areas in the pool and many tiles missing. The main pool was also not in very good shape. The area was for the most part landscaped well and there were excellent views of the black sand beach on the Pacific. The beach could not be used for swimming but could be used for surfing.
Rooms had been repainted some years ago, but poorly done with paint smeared all over the tiles and word work in the bathroom. Shower head in the bathroom was too low so I had to stoop down when I showered. You had to be shorter than 5'9 or 5.10 in order to stand upright in the shower.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any good rooms in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of a tour. The bedroom was adequate, and there was a small patio looking out over the ocean. But the bathroom floor was broken up and uneven. The water was hard to control - hot then cold then hot - as we showered. Lighting is dim in all rooms, so it's hard to pack and unpack. The path from the rooms to the beach is under an overhang and the concrete is uneven, making it difficult during the rain. The view of the ocean is spectacular, the food is okay, and it's amazing to watch the surfers, but I would stay someplace else next time and come here for drinks and to watch the surfers.

Room Tip: I read in other reviews that some rooms have been remodeled. That would help a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

If you are used to Western-style hotels then chances are the Terraza is not what you are looking for. The Terraza spent most of it's early years serving as a surf destination and for the most part has stayed true to that utility. The hotel is right on a nice little stretch of Hermosa that is home to one of the better beach breaks in the area. Having stayed here 3 times, the hotel has never let me down. The rooms are clean and well taken care of, the staff is nice, the food is pretty good and generally the hotel is reasonable. The beach itself is also nice, with black sand out front and rocky lava to the north. All of this makes the Terraza Del Pacifico a great place to stop and stay for a couple nights if you are beach-hopping across Costa Rica.

Room Tip: This is not really a couples hotel. The bar can stay active into the evening hours. If noise bothers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with a tour group and I thought this hotel was very nice. It was right on a beautiful beach and had to swimming pools. The food was exallent and so was the service. But even thought the rooms were nice the beds seemed to be falling apart. But I still think this hotel is worth staying at.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terraza del Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terraza del Pacifico

Address: 3 km south of El Arroyo gas station onthe way to Quepos,, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Terraza del Pacifico 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Terraza del Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terraza Del Pacifico Hotel Playa Hermosa
Terraza Del Pacifico Playa Hermosa
Terraza Del Pacifico Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terraza del Pacifico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.