We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Jaco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Terraza del Pacifico

Save Saved
You added Terraza del Pacifico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Terraza del Pacifico
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 km south of El Arroyo gas station onthe way to Quepos,, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Playa Hermosa
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Jaco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

If you go to Jaco - actually Playa Hermosa - and you pretend to surf in playa hermosa, definitely this is the place to stay! Simply in front of the beach, waves in your garden!
The room is comfortable, 2 queen beds for 2 persons, nice bathroom with a tub, and a pretty decent breakfast in front at the ocean! Fresh fruits, nice coffee, galo pinto, eggs, bananas...
A nice pool, nice drinks at the bar...
But remember: you are in COSTA RICA, not in Manhattan! You are in Jaco, a small city NOT the capital...don't be so picky! Try to get in the mood of the place...Pura Vida!
If you want luxury and comfort, go to the Big Resorts in CR: Diria, Nativa, Buddha...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    19
    24
    21
    24
See reviews for
33
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel has some sort of all inclusive pack that will hook you, this was the highlight of the hotel!

The rooms are deteriorated, they have very old furniture, the bed pillows and sheets needs to be renewed, it felt like the rooms were isolated in terms of improvement from the early 2000's and never got improved.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Well we got there at 1 am, so the front desk was a security guy, we signed some papers and that was all, the room was aweful, it was a standar superior so I dont want to know how is the standar...we could not sleep cause the room had rats!!! yes rats ...and they maked a horrible noise at night, also very dirty, there were rat's poop on the corners of the room, so it was a nightmare we last there only two nights and it was that worst hotel for $150, I woud not even pay 20 bucks for it. it was extremly awefull, I dont recomed at all this hotel, DONT STAY THERE!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

we booked a standard room which was $120 per night. when we got to the room it was like a cabin... what I would pay for a $40 room. on our way to the room, the hall was like if you were going through the back of the hotel, when normally clients wouldn’t have to go. the room: was old, beds were not comfortable and small, room smell terrible, bathroom had a very ugly appearance and A/C didn’t work.
we called the receptionist and they changed our room to a better one. the new one was very good. at least it was what i would expect from a $120 room. a big bed, bathroom clean, nice view, a/c worked, etc.
at the end.. if you want to go to this hotel, don’t book the standard room. and take into consideration, that the other rooms are + $240.

As a good thing, customer service was very good.

Room Tip: don’t book the standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

My grown daughters and I had the most relaxing time.
To hear the surf, crashing waves, night and day.
The hotel is right on the water.
Our room was so close to the beach.
The swimming pool was perfect.
Food and drinks plentiful and good.
The employees very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

When we first saw our hotel room, we were absolutely shocked. What a HUGE disappointment! We had booked our room through a travel agency called Surf Express in Cocoa Beach, Florida. Apparently this company only arranges trips that include the Terraza del Pacifico because we had asked our travel agent upfront if he was able and willing to help us find a more suitable hotel that would meet our needs, and unfortunately, he claimed to have no other connections and was unable to help. Anyway, if you enjoy paying a couple thousand dollars for a vacation and don't mind staying in a motel 6, then this is a good place for you. However, if you enjoy going on a vacation and desire to sleep in a bed that is nicer than your own at home, then you need to stay elsewhere! The actual hotel room itself consisted of two beds with mattresses from the 1970s. The springs in the mattress actually punctured our skin occassionally as we slept! One of the beds did not have a sheet on it and neither of the beds had a mattress pad. The door to the balcony did not lock, so we put a suitcase in front of it to keep it closed. After taking a shower, the floor was covered with ants! The safe inside the room did not function properly. The furniture was old, stained, and tacky-looking. The pool was dirty. The restaurant food was ok, but a larger selection would have been nice. AND THE LIST GOES ON! Now, there were a few positive things about the Terraza: the front desk clerk, Michael, was friendly and spoke English quite well (most of the other staff members did not, but they tried their best); the hotel is literally on the beach and the ocean view is beautiful; the hotel is right next door to a zipline/canopy tour, which was fun. However, overall, if you're going to Costa Rica and your vacation does not involve surfing, you will not be satisfied staying at this hotel! Basically, if you were to see this hotel, you WOULD NOT stay there!!!
FYI: An air-conditioned taxi ride to the San Jose Airport costs $85. Don't let someone (like a travel agent) overcharge you.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

I recently visited Terraza del Pacfico on a site inspection for my travel company. I had been to the hotel several times in the past, and like some of the other reviews, the hotel was run down and needed some attention.

To my surprise and after meeting with Magaly Mora, the new GM at the hotel, she along with her staff have transformed and renovated the hotel with new improvements to the rooms, pool area and restaurant that overlooks the ocean. With a new chef, the cuisine is outstanding and the restaurant atmosphere is clean and inviting.

The entire hotel has been recently painted and the grounds are filled with tropical flowers, new patio furniture and friendly staff ready to serve you.

Many of the rooms now have new beds and flat screen TVs, and from what I gathered, they are working on changing the beds in all the rooms. There is still no chairs on the porches, as that would be a nice addition, and I have recommended it to management.

Overall, this hotel is great value for its location and quality of service. The hotel has gone through a major transformation with improvements and upgrades that are worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terraza del Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terraza del Pacifico

Address: 3 km south of El Arroyo gas station onthe way to Quepos,, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Terraza del Pacifico 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Terraza del Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terraza Del Pacifico Hotel Playa Hermosa
Terraza Del Pacifico Playa Hermosa
Terraza Del Pacifico Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terraza del Pacifico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.