We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Jaco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Terraza del Pacifico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Terraza del Pacifico to your Saves list
Terraza del Pacifico
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 km south of El Arroyo gas station onthe way to Quepos,, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Jaco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

If you go to Jaco - actually Playa Hermosa - and you pretend to surf in playa hermosa, definitely this is the place to stay! Simply in front of the beach, waves in your garden!
The room is comfortable, 2 queen beds for 2 persons, nice bathroom with a tub, and a pretty decent breakfast in front at the ocean! Fresh fruits, nice coffee, galo pinto, eggs, bananas...
A nice pool, nice drinks at the bar...
But remember: you are in COSTA RICA, not in Manhattan! You are in Jaco, a small city NOT the capital...don't be so picky! Try to get in the mood of the place...Pura Vida!
If you want luxury and comfort, go to the Big Resorts in CR: Diria, Nativa, Buddha...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pablitoautran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel has some sort of all inclusive pack that will hook you, this was the highlight of the hotel!

The rooms are deteriorated, they have very old furniture, the bed pillows and sheets needs to be renewed, it felt like the rooms were isolated in terms of improvement from the early 2000's and never got improved.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Javier F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa Hermosa hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Well we got there at 1 am, so the front desk was a security guy, we signed some papers and that was all, the room was aweful, it was a standar superior so I dont want to know how is the standar...we could not sleep cause the room had rats!!! yes rats ...and they maked a horrible noise at night, also very dirty, there were rat's poop on the corners of the room, so it was a nightmare we last there only two nights and it was that worst hotel for $150, I woud not even pay 20 bucks for it. it was extremly awefull, I dont recomed at all this hotel, DONT STAY THERE!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monicabm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

we booked a standard room which was $120 per night. when we got to the room it was like a cabin... what I would pay for a $40 room. on our way to the room, the hall was like if you were going through the back of the hotel, when normally clients wouldn’t have to go. the room: was old, beds were not comfortable and small, room smell terrible, bathroom had a very ugly appearance and A/C didn’t work.
we called the receptionist and they changed our room to a better one. the new one was very good. at least it was what i would expect from a $120 room. a big bed, bathroom clean, nice view, a/c worked, etc.
at the end.. if you want to go to this hotel, don’t book the standard room. and take into consideration, that the other rooms are + $240.

As a good thing, customer service was very good.

Room Tip: don’t book the standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank In J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

My grown daughters and I had the most relaxing time.
To hear the surf, crashing waves, night and day.
The hotel is right on the water.
Our room was so close to the beach.
The swimming pool was perfect.
Food and drinks plentiful and good.
The employees very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tara1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

When we first saw our hotel room, we were absolutely shocked. What a HUGE disappointment! We had booked our room through a travel agency called Surf Express in Cocoa Beach, Florida. Apparently this company only arranges trips that include the Terraza del Pacifico because we had asked our travel agent upfront if he was able and willing to help us find a more suitable hotel that would meet our needs, and unfortunately, he claimed to have no other connections and was unable to help. Anyway, if you enjoy paying a couple thousand dollars for a vacation and don't mind staying in a motel 6, then this is a good place for you. However, if you enjoy going on a vacation and desire to sleep in a bed that is nicer than your own at home, then you need to stay elsewhere! The actual hotel room itself consisted of two beds with mattresses from the 1970s. The springs in the mattress actually punctured our skin occassionally as we slept! One of the beds did not have a sheet on it and neither of the beds had a mattress pad. The door to the balcony did not lock, so we put a suitcase in front of it to keep it closed. After taking a shower, the floor was covered with ants! The safe inside the room did not function properly. The furniture was old, stained, and tacky-looking. The pool was dirty. The restaurant food was ok, but a larger selection would have been nice. AND THE LIST GOES ON! Now, there were a few positive things about the Terraza: the front desk clerk, Michael, was friendly and spoke English quite well (most of the other staff members did not, but they tried their best); the hotel is literally on the beach and the ocean view is beautiful; the hotel is right next door to a zipline/canopy tour, which was fun. However, overall, if you're going to Costa Rica and your vacation does not involve surfing, you will not be satisfied staying at this hotel! Basically, if you were to see this hotel, you WOULD NOT stay there!!!
FYI: An air-conditioned taxi ride to the San Jose Airport costs $85. Don't let someone (like a travel agent) overcharge you.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CK27Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

I recently visited Terraza del Pacfico on a site inspection for my travel company. I had been to the hotel several times in the past, and like some of the other reviews, the hotel was run down and needed some attention.

To my surprise and after meeting with Magaly Mora, the new GM at the hotel, she along with her staff have transformed and renovated the hotel with new improvements to the rooms, pool area and restaurant that overlooks the ocean. With a new chef, the cuisine is outstanding and the restaurant atmosphere is clean and inviting.

The entire hotel has been recently painted and the grounds are filled with tropical flowers, new patio furniture and friendly staff ready to serve you.

Many of the rooms now have new beds and flat screen TVs, and from what I gathered, they are working on changing the beds in all the rooms. There is still no chairs on the porches, as that would be a nice addition, and I have recommended it to management.

Overall, this hotel is great value for its location and quality of service. The hotel has gone through a major transformation with improvements and upgrades that are worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TicoGuideTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.2 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
1.8 mi away
Hotel Fuego del Sol
Hotel Fuego del Sol
#5 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
3.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
1.7 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#3 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#7 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.8 mi away
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
6.1 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terraza del Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terraza del Pacifico

Address: 3 km south of El Arroyo gas station onthe way to Quepos,, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Terraza del Pacifico 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Terraza del Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terraza Del Pacifico Hotel Playa Hermosa
Terraza Del Pacifico Playa Hermosa
Terraza Del Pacifico Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing