We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Mia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Hermosa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Mia
Save
You added Casa Mia to your Saves list
200 meters south of the soccer field, Playa Hermosa 61101, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

WE stayed in the big room. The house is right on the beach. The bed was comfortable and the room was nice and clean. There is a kitchen to share with amongst the guests. They have a dog but she was very well taken care of and doesn't approach guests if they don't want to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My buddy and I arrived at Playa Hermosa with no reservations. We randomly picked Casa Mia because it was in the close to the "big" bar on the beach, The Backyard Bar. Our random choice proved to be the right one. Carlos, the owner was super friendly and helpful in answering all the questions we had of the area and even gave us a great low season rate. The hotel was quiet and clean and even had a relaxing pool overlooking the beach. I believe the place was either recently constructed or renovated as it it was literally spotless. There is wi-fi there. Upon checking out, Carlos informed us that he was headed to Jaco and even offered us a ride to the bus station which saved us cab fare. The people here are great and we could not have asked for a better stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at Casa Mia. It is right on the beach in Playa Hermosa. The view from our room was fantastic. We surfed and could see the waves from our room window.It is a family environment with clean well maintained rooms. Everyone was very friendly. Nancy, the owner, was very gracious and helpful.The early morning and late evening walks on the beach were wonderful. Can't say enough about Casa Mia...and the price is right.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

This was exactly what I was looking for.....a small, quiet, peaceful, relaxing hotel right on the beach. My room was very clean and comfortable and I was told it was all recently renovated by the new owners, Carlos and Nicole. I went for a sunrise and sunset walk along the beach each day which was so amazing. The scarlet macaws are overhead in the almond trees and I'm happy to sit with a good book or my computer and do nothing else but listen to the sound of the ocean. There's an onsite massage therapist who also offers yoga classes and freshly made green smoothies...What more could you ask for? Casa Mia would be a great place for a destination wedding or family reunion because they said you can reserve the entire hotel that has a nice kitchen under the rancho.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mia

Address: 200 meters south of the soccer field, Playa Hermosa 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Spanish Colonial inspired beachfront villa on the world renowned surfing beach of Playa Hermosa. We offer peaceful accommodations just steps away from the water. Casa Mia is your newly remodeled and redecorated home away from home. We invite you to come and stay with us in a very relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Mia Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Mia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.