We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Hermosa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Inn Hermosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Surf Inn Hermosa to your Saves list
Surf Inn Hermosa
200 meters south of Escuela Pochotal, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Hermosa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel offers many things. Comfort, safety and ocean front relaxation.
I have stayed here many times and I highly recommend this to anyone that want s to stay in Playa Hermosa.
For the price you get safe and clean rooms. WIFI, Cable and AC are nice when you are relaxing inside.
There are several restaurants in walking distance if you choose to dine out.
The kitchens in the rooms give you the option to cook and store some good food and snacks.
There is a local grocery in walking distance for your basic needs.
The pool is nice to take a dip after a swim/surf in the ocean.
The grass lawn gives you the freedom to relax in one of the lawn chairs and watch the surf and the best sunsets.
The staff is very friendly and will cater to your needs.
Their is a yoga studio on the 3rd floor for retreats and classes. Best ocean view
Overall, if you love staying ocean front, Surf Inn Hermosa is the best!!

Room Tip: The studios are great but the one ocean front 2 bedroom is great for larger groups. You have your o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfinnhermosa, Manager at Surf Inn Hermosa, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thanks for your review! We look forward to having you come visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
17
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The Surf Inn was fabulous and we couldn't have asked for better accommodations and hospitality. Christina is the best and very helpful with anything you need. This place is definitely a hidden treasure, its right on the beach with several good restaurant's within walking distance. We highly recommend this place and will definitely be back.
PURA VIDA

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, choose the 2 bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfinnhermosa, Manager at Surf Inn Hermosa, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you Weaver Family for the awesome review. We really appreciate your time and your stay with us; and we hope to see you on your next trip thru Costa Rica. PURA VIDA! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed here at Surf Inn Hermosa and have become enamored once again with this "hidden gem". For those that want an off the beaten path experience, yet like the accessibility of modern conveniences, look no further! Also, new Costa Rican travelers will appreciate staying here!

The Lowdown:

Beach: Playa Hermosa is a surfers paradise, black sand, awesome waves for the moderate surfer (def not beginner like me, but Christina the owner and her partner Michael can arrange surf lessons and even do a cost effective surf/yoga/fitness package, just ask!), and off the beaten path experience (not on major maps), but there s wi-fi, and hotels from all levels (surf/backpack rooms, to marble bathrooms like Surf Inn). The water is very warm, and has wave sizes and strengths for all tastes and swimming skill.

Inn: Surf Inn is run by an awesome owner, Christina, who works with you on planning your vacation, and is a wonderful guide to new Costa Rican travelers. She is a wonderful guide both to the local
Activities and will even make reservations and suggestions for you. She also guides you to what Costa Rica is about, that " Pura Vida" lifestyle and helps you navigate your way to this "easy going" chill way of life. The rooms are very comfortable, some are studios with kitchenettes, some have 2 beds overlooking the water, the Inn is right on the beach, and she or Marisol (the helper), are around for questions ect. It's not a hotel, so no dialing zero for the front desk or anything, but the small staff is very helpful. Just ask! There is no food here, unless you are doing the surf/yoga packages, but the restaurant next door, Vista Hermosa, is amazing! Fresh and delicious food, we are at least 1 or 2 meals there which were reasonably priced.

Food: lots of food options, Los Olas has good breakfast and it's cool to watch the surfers while you re having your Costa Rican coffee, lunch and dinners we usually did Vista Hermosa or Backyard Bar 3 hotels over.

Surf inn Hermosa is small, but intimate, and they treat you like friends/family there. It's not a party scene, so if that's what you want, look towards Backyard Bar or Jaco. But if you want a relaxed, and chill surfer vibe that's still "comfortable" (no electric showers here lol normal American standard rooms and bathrooms), the you will be very happy here, as we were. oh bring cash though! ATM s are a $10 taxi ride to Jaco. If you need nightlife, Jaco s close enough, some places there that are good to check out are Los Amigos and Taco Bar, for Costarican food, Rustica. If you re not sure, just ask Christina! She hasn't steered us wrong after 2 visits ;).

note: if you have a day or so to spare, go check out Manuel Antonio! Pay the extra for the tour down the reserve, it's worth it to see sloths and bats and other cool animals! ;) Pura Vida!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfinnhermosa, Manager at Surf Inn Hermosa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate it and hope to see you on your return trip to Costa Rica. Pura Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

i love this place its my 2nd time staying there and will always stay there when i go back. christina the owner is the best she so nice . the hotel rooms are sweet very nice great bed and hot water good shower. christina can make your trip even better she takes pictures of you when you go surfing she took great ones of me . the surf is the best right out front. best place to go with friends or your family...thanks christina for making my trip the best

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfinnhermosa, Manager at Surf Inn Hermosa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate it. Hope to see you on your way back thru Costa Rica. Pura Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A relaxing stay that only hit the tip of the iceberg. I can't wait to head back for yoga, surf lessons, and nearby restaurant visits. Very relaxing stay with a totally accommodating and relaxed host. Very good value for the money and well organized yoga or surf packages. It was supposed to be the rainy season but was more summery according to the locals. Even a few afternoon/early evening rains helped us slow down and relax.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfinnhermosa, Manager at Surf Inn Hermosa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your feedback. Pura Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Surf inn Hermosa was the location of my 3 week yoga retreat. The location is far enough from town to feel the benefits of serenity. But close enough to go to shop, eat or party.
The rooftop airy yoga studio is awesome which connects to a open air kitchen that is serene and great place to watch the sunsets and macaws. There pool is great to hang out and cool off. The beachfront is delightful. Perfect for watching the Surfers do their thing and morning meditation. I stayed in the 1 bedroom studio downstairs with a roommate. It does not get a lot of natural light, but honestly I was only in the room to sleep. Which it did serve the purpose. The owners Christina and Michael and their staff were warm,sincere and helpful. They went out of the way, to make our stay comfortable even when was ill. The location is near one local store,bars, and restaurants (especially Bowies) which became my favorite. I enjoyed the recommendations of the Vanilla Bean farm excursion ( with their variety of herbs, vanilla bean , vast orchid varieties and tasty treats) a must.see. The Manuel Antonio Rainforest is spectacular. In nearby town Jaco , I profusely recommend to shop,at Monkey pooh. When I return with my family my preference will be the 2 bedroom beachfront room. It is definitely spectacular accommodations. I so enjoyed Costa Rica and will be back to explore . Thanks you, Surf Inn Hermosa for providing a good memory and the promise of many more to come.

Room Tip: The studios , are good for two people max it has great accommodations to stay for 3 weeks comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfinnhermosa, Manager at Surf Inn Hermosa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for writing your review on Trip Advisor. We really enjoyed hosting the yoga retreat and look forward to many more. Hope to see you next time you come thru Costa Rica. Pura Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I am surprised not much is discussed about this lovely place in TA forums. When my friend pulled over here for 2-night stay I was very worried as the place looks weird, cheesy, and hippy from the outside. Once I walked into the Ocean view room I understood why my friend who visited Costa Rica over a dozen times choose this place. It's very spacious - modern and neat inside with good size kitchen and counter top. But the best part is the location and the places near it.

It's mesmerizing to just sit on the beach and watch the surfers. The Yoga place, massage place, and couple of restaurants all add to the vibe around this beach. The place has a pool which we never used nor did we see anyone use it.

We did day trip from here to Manuel Antonio and it was not bad at all. We were back in the evening to watch the surfers. It was hard leaving this place after only two days. We will visiting it again soon!!

Room Tip: Don't miss the early breakfast in one the restaurants next door. My best breakfast ever and so c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfinnhermosa, Manager at Surf Inn Hermosa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your review - we really appreciate you taking the time to write about us. Hope to see you again. Pura Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Inn Hermosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Inn Hermosa

Address: 200 meters south of Escuela Pochotal, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PURA VIDA Costa Rican getaway, ideally situated in the heart of Playa Hermosa. Surf Inn is located oceanfront at one of Playa Hermosa's most consistent surf spots. These rentals consist of: two 2 bed/2 bath ocean front condos and four furnished studio apartments which are just steps from the beach. Each room features a queen size bed with individual bunk in custom designed bed frames. The front lawn is a popular spot to sit and watch the mesmerizing surfing going on out front. On-site owners & great staff assure attention to detail during your stay. Playa Hermosa's Restaurants and Bars are all within walking distance. Jaco Beach is a 5 minute Taxi Ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Surf Inn Hermosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Inn Hermosa Hotel Playa Hermosa
Surf Inn Hermosa Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Inn Hermosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.