We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every thing we were hopeing for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Inn Hermosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Surf Inn Hermosa to your Saves list
Surf Inn Hermosa
200 meters south of Escuela Pochotal, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Rockledge, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Every thing we were hopeing for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We have been going to Costa Rica for the last 5 years and the time spent here was absolutely the best. Imagine waking up to a misty sunrise casting great light on the waves in your backyard. Flocks of Scarlet Macaws flying overhead daily their loud squacks herilding their presence. Great landscqaping,inhanced 24 hour security a clean swimming pool are just some of the amenities at this Inn. Christina and Mike will make you feel welcome and offer advice as to the best of several side trips in the area. If you plan a trip in this neck of the woods this Inn is a must!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, clean spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
17
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Loved it the first time, so we stopped back for a night before heading out to the Nicoya peninsula.

The location is key. Playa Hermosa is a mellow little strip - removed from all the noise and chaos of Jaco, but with it's own quiet scene. There's still a bar (The Backyard), restaurants, yoga classes and great cheap massages, so I never felt the need to go to Jaco. But it's just a short cab ride away if you want to check it out.

You can watch great surfing right off the decks of the 2 BR condos because he best waves are right out there in front of you. As beginners, we opted not to surf here, but we still found it a great place to settle for a night. Scarlet macaws make their rounds right over the hotel and seem to love the trees right on the property. Several restaurants just a few steps away, as well as a small market. Vista Hermosa, 2 doors down and right on on beach, was one of our favorite places to eat, although you don't need to go any farther than Surf Inn's own roof cafe for breakfast.

The pool is small, but well shaded and very refreshing. And the lawn out front is GREAT! My daughters both have sensory issues and that grass made it possible for all of us to enjoy some lounging time outside with the waves just beyond us. Plenty of chaises and it was nice to have that alternative to sand for a change.

The rooms are comfortable and well air-conditioned. The 2 BR condos have 2 large, clean bathrooms and a great living space with really comfy couches (one of my kids preferred to sleep on one). Towels were a bit crunchy from being dried in the sun, but I appreciate the eco-friendliness of it.

Christina, who runs the place, is really great. We had mentioned when we made our reservation that we might be interested in setting up surf lessons for our son (10). She e-mailed us the night before our trip to let us know that the swells might be a little much for him and recommended instead that we enjoy a surf competition that was taking place close by. It's this kind of thoughtfulness that really makes the difference on these trips.

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms are both 2 BR condos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed at the largest suite. Beautiful view of ocean, beach, and coconut trees. Less than 100 yards to black sand beach. Knew we were going to be treated right as soon as we entered door. Nice and comfortable sofas and chairs in living area with quick to cool air conditioner. Washer and Dryer in the suite and granite countertops in kitchen. Modern stainless steel refrigerator kept our beer and soda ice cold.

Felt very safe. Had night security. Ready to take my family with young children there. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Pool is a modern dipping pool that wraps around the architecture of the building. Not for lap swimming or keeping kids super busy, but great for a quick cool off after laying out in the sun.

Beds super comfortable (and large) with well appointed sheets, pillows and comforter. I mention this because nearly all of the other hotels in Costa Rica I stayed at had small uncomfortable beds.
Make sure you go two doors down for breakfast. Another awesome place. Have a smoothie and watch for iguanas and macaws.

I found the Surf Inn Hermosa through my agent at www.crsurf.com

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkasie, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed at the Surf Inn last week and were very happy with the accommodations. The apartment had great finishes and was well equipped!
The staff is super nice and helpful.
They have over night security in the parking lot, so never a worry about your car!
You can't beach the "steps" to the beach!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I've been to Playa hermosa 3 three times and have stayed at Surf Inn two times. Each time, it has been amazing!! Christina and Michael are super helpful and soooo friendly. She set up transportation to/from the airport. The one time I didn't stay at Surf Inn, Christina was still eager to help me out and give advice on adventures/places to go in Costa Rica. The rooms are very clean! Surf Inn is literally footsteps from the beach and has restaurants surrounding it (including their own cafe!) I love playa hermosa and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!! BOOK YOUR TRIP NOW!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanny2001
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed here two nights and hated to leave. Right on the beach, small pool, lawn chairs out front. We had the two bed room apartment on the second floor facing the beach, great view of the surfers from our balcony. Each room has a queen and a single bunk above it, one room has an ensuite. Kitchen, laundry machines a real bonus for us, broken drier though. Restaurant no longer has a view as owner has built herself an apartment using the area that overlooked the ocean, roof top restaurant still makes great coffee, and smoothies and will cook you up some food. Did not eat there though, as view was better in other places. Located on a very quiet stretch of beach with very little development. Within 5 minutes you are walking along the beach with no hotels in sight. 6-8 or so low rise hotels in the at one end of the beach. A few small, but good, close by beach front restaurants to choose from. Quieter area, 5 minutes from chaotic Jaco, which is gearing up to be the next Acapulco. Surfers paradise, but not for beginners. Go take lessons in Jaco for safe waters. No one swims in ocean here. Very helpful owner. Parking is guarded.

Room Tip: Try to get the second story apartment over looking the beach. Although the apartment below this one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Before I even left for Costa Rica I was already happy with the service provided by Surf Inn. The owner, Christina, responded quickly and efficiently to all my thousands of questions via email before I even left for my trip. She gave great recommendations and set up all our accommodations, transportation, and tours in advance. With Christina's great organizing, the trip went by seamlessly. First of all, the room was amazing. 2 BR/2 Bath with full washer/dryer, AC, kitchen, and ocean view balcony. Second, the transportation was perfectly timed with the most cordial driver. Third, the Manuel Antonio tour and surf lessons set up by Christina were with very knowledgeable and friendly locals who truly made our Costa Rican experience perfect. This place set our standards high for the remainder of our time in the country. I highly recommend staying at Surf Inn to all my friends who want a relaxing and fun beach trip. My only regret is that we did not stay at Surf Inn Hermosa longer!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Inn Hermosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Inn Hermosa

Address: 200 meters south of Escuela Pochotal, Playa Hermosa 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PURA VIDA Costa Rican getaway, ideally situated in the heart of Playa Hermosa. Surf Inn is located oceanfront at one of Playa Hermosa's most consistent surf spots. These rentals consist of: two 2 bed/2 bath ocean front condos and four furnished studio apartments which are just steps from the beach. Each room features a queen size bed with individual bunk in custom designed bed frames. The front lawn is a popular spot to sit and watch the mesmerizing surfing going on out front. On-site owners & great staff assure attention to detail during your stay. Playa Hermosa's Restaurants and Bars are all within walking distance. Jaco Beach is a 5 minute Taxi Ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Surf Inn Hermosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Inn Hermosa Hotel Playa Hermosa
Surf Inn Hermosa Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Inn Hermosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.